We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A massive private collection” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wallace Collection

Wallace Collection
Hertford House | Manchester Square, London W1U 3BN, England (Marylebone)
44 20 7563 9500
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 1,078 attractions in London
Type: Art Museums, Historic Sites
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: No
Owner description: Both a national museum and a prestigious private collection of art bequeathed by Lady Wallace in 1897, this attraction features one of the world's best collections of French 18th-century pictures, porcelain and furniture, plus a fantastic array of 17th-century paintings.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“A massive private collection”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We really enjoyed our visit to the Wallace Collection. It is a varied assortment of collected art. The cafe is a MUST do. Would be great for a corporate event.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,682 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,287
    335
    42
    14
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Loudonville
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Worthwhile Jewel in the London Array of Museums”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We spent several hours touring this positively wonderful museum tucked away on a charming little square near Oxford Street shopping as well as not far from The British Museum. The exhibitions of 18th and 19th century paintings, sculptures and others artworks (furniture, porcelain) were truly representative of some of the great masters collected by the Marquesses of Hertford and Sir Richard Wallace. The restaurant in the downstairs courtyard looked like a great luncheon spot. We plan to return the next time we travel to London.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We really enjoyed our visit here, especially seeing the "Laughing Cavalier" painting. Everything was displayed and maintained wonderfully. We were surprised there was no entrance charge although you can make a contribution to the upkeep. The prices in the shop were a bit steep and were they slightly less so I would have made several purchases, however this did not seem to deter people.Location excellent just being a short walk from Oxford St. I think they should advertise more and get more revenue from the cafe and shop to help maintain the artworks.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“I Met Danni Minogue Here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

I visit here to sketch and get inspiration for my designs. I have also met a few celebrities here whilst sketching. Danni Minogue was one a few years back.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“A super art museum, free of charge!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Great collection of traditional paintings. I think the discreet location tucked away behind Oxford Street means it gets a lot less visitors than it deserves. That is good, because if more people knew about it, it would certainly be packed. The restaurant inside (which I didn't try) looks fantastic.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wallace Collection also viewed

 

Been to Wallace Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wallace Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Wallace Collection to your Saves list