We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good day out” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tower of London

Tower of London
Tower Hill, London EC3N 4AB, England (City of London)
+44 870 756 6060
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Tower of London like an insider
Special Offer
$59*
and up
Royal Palaces Pass: Kensington Palace, Hampton...
Ranked #9 of 2,327 things to do in London
Activities: Group tours/walking tour, Ice skating
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: One of London's most famous landmarks, the historic Tower houses the Crown Jewels, the prison cell of Sir Walter Raleigh, known as the Bloody Tower, and the Chapel of St. John and the Royal Armories.
Kent
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good day out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Weather was against us but did not stop us enjoying ourselves, crown jewels was amazing as was the gold punch bowl ladel etc details around the Tower were great people dressed up giving talks,Beefeaters,was like a walk back in history.Moving walkways very good idea so no one spent too long looking a crown jewels and everyone had a chance to look.
Cost we feel was reasonable, quite a few steps to climb. Close to many restaurants.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17,547 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11,473
    4,629
    1,117
    207
    121
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Loved seeing what we've heard about for so long. An amazing place, so well preserved. Could do without the school tours - bored kids who couldn't care less.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piqua, Ohio
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Cant miss this important part of history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

A little pricey but dont miss this when you go to London. The Beefeater tour is very cool as well. The place looks and has survived the test of time. Its quite literally like waking back through time.Plus all your British host are really the most polite and friendly people I have ever met in my travels. The only rude people I encountered on this trip were tourists. Cheers

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

I didnt expect my visit to be so entertaining. I thought i would spend an hour inside and leave, I was there 4 hours. The free yeomen or beefeater tour is just as funny as it is informative, do not leave without doing that tour. lining up for the crown jewels was the only negative. Everything else was great. so much history behind this place.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Interesting!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

When arriving at the tower of london make sure that you go with a Beef eater around the tower as they give a personal insight into the life of the people who lived & died here
They know lots of gory details to keep children and adults entertained and talk about personal expeierences inside the tower - lots to see and do , does get extremely busy but so do all tourist attractions.

The tower has a sense of calm about it ,even though there is alot of history and death in the tower its a beautiful structure and am proud to say I have been there and walked around taking in the sights and historical signifance of it all.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tower of London also viewed

 

Been to Tower of London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tower of London, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.