We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not that great” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Brick Lane

Brick Lane
Brick Lane, E1, London, England (Spitalfields)
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Brick Lane like an insider
Top Rated
$78*
and up
2012 London Olympics: Bike Tour of Olympic Park...
Ranked #146 of 2,327 things to do in London
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Dining, Shopping, Nightlife
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This historic street dates back approximately 450 years, and is now a popular place for great Indian food and Sunday markets.
Leeds, W Yorkshire
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Not that great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Having had Brick Lane Market recommended as a place to visit I have to admit to being very disappointed. We visited Spitalfields Market first and found that a really nice, well organised place. Brick Lane is at the opposite end of the spectrum - stalls full of rubbish that you can get anywhere. The food looked interesting though, although we didn't eat here. Weirdest thing was a large yellow sign asking people to use the public conveniences - preferable to using the street maybe? Not as good as Spitalfields but far better than Petticoat Lane, worth a visit once but I wouldn't return.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

815 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    363
    310
    89
    32
    21
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Top Contributor
1,117 reviews 1,117 reviews
786 attraction reviews
Reviews in 165 cities Reviews in 165 cities
1,871 helpful votes 1,871 helpful votes
“Foodie Brick Lane”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We went to Brick Lane to look for something to eat and also to check the area out with our kids who heard so much about it. Although the place is celebrated with its array of restaurants and places to eat. It buzzing in the evening but we always get the feeling this area flatters to deceive. There are beter Indian restaurants elsewhere in London.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

The curry shops all around are good, you realy must try as many as you can. Brick lane is pretty average on the weekdays and during the daytime 5p+ it starts to get more interesting as the signs light up. At night there are some good places to check out such a such as Cafe1001 or all star lanes if you would like to bowl and have drinks. Be sure to check out the Brick Lane Music festival in Autumn.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basildon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“People Watching at it's best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

we have been here a couple of times now, and as keen photographers absolutely love it! The food, where do I start, you can find I think everything under the sun from the street vendors to the undercover market, wow, just so many nationalities and types of food, and that is without all the restaurants and cafes! There is lots of street art, and eclectic shops, stalls and people just selling their wares on a blanket. In the summer people were everywhere, sitting on the kerbs eating, drinking, chatting, selling, buying, laughing, it was wonderful, very busy as you can imagine. Loved the stalls undercover with all the different handmade & craft designed clothing & jewellery and allsorts!!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“sunday market”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

an earthy market with a mix of the rough and the cultured. Personal favorites was a visit to Blackmans the famous shoe shop, and the 24 hour bagel shop for a salt beef bagel. Lots of vintage shops have sprung up. Some were good, some were overpriced tat. All were interesting.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brick Lane also viewed

 

Been to Brick Lane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brick Lane, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.