We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jeffs Kitchen” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brixton Arts & Crafts Market

Brixton Arts & Crafts Market
Electric Avenue, London SW9 8JX‎, England
44-776-971-1165
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$64*
and up
London Food Walking Tour: Brixton and Borough...
Ranked #32 of 470 Shopping in London
Type: Flea/ Street Markets, Shopping
Activities: Shopping
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This open-market is home to one of the largest collections of Caribbean foodstuffs in Europe.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Jeffs Kitchen”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

Superb Caribbean food, when I go I get something for now, and something unheated for dinner. The festivals are great, it gets five stars for this place. To and see the rest of he market, use it, be part of it. Don't be an observer, be part of it. The sourdough pizza joints infecting the place are pointless. Same crap You can get anywhere, and of course lots of middle aged middle class............. There is Moroccan, Caribbean, African and many other foods and cultures to try, why bother with some English bloke cooking Italian, in Brixton. Oh, and Yes, I am white, and English.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    9
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Every Type of Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Every food type and all pretty much everything I've tried has been delicious.

Worth a visit if you have never been here before!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“nice day out in Brixton”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Brixton has restaurants and stalls from all around the globe we went at the week end ,farmers market ,gift shopping and a lovely lunch at French and Grace

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
328 reviews 328 reviews
107 attraction reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
2,364 helpful votes 2,364 helpful votes
“The most amazing selection of burger cafes in and around the market.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Driven by Jay Rayner's great piece in the Observer about a heat ago we have always tried to eat in and around the market whenever we have down here. We cannot agree more how much improvement there has been in the quality and tastiness of the burgers now being prepared and cooked for us by people who know just how. We travel a lot in the UK but the best ones still seem to be here.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Market is ok, Food village is brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

We went there on a Saturday and started with the market, they are mostly stalls and it is kind of messy. Fun stuff but not sure if worth going for. Then we went for lunch at Brixton Village which is right next to the market. There are several really nice small restaurants all under this blueish ceiling. Food was fantastic at a good price and the ambient was just brilliant.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brixton Arts & Crafts Market also viewed

 

Been to Brixton Arts & Crafts Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brixton Arts & Crafts Market, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.