We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms that do not do the building justice” 3 of 5 stars
Review of St. Pancras Renaissance London Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added St. Pancras Renaissance London Hotel to your Saves list
St. Pancras Renaissance London Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Euston Road | St Pancras Chambers, St Pancras Station, London NW1 2AR, England (Camden / Primrose Hill)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Up To 25,000 Points
Ranked #197 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Rooms that do not do the building justice”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

The building is one of the most iconic stunning buildings of its era- The bar and communal areas are beautiful- but the rooms are completely at odds with the rooms- which taken in isolation are just okay and have been afforded none of the care or attention or restoration that has been given to the rest of the building. Really surprised to find no "features" at all and for such a decadent building to host such basic stripped back rooms. The bar in itself is an experience, but the hotel is let own by the rooms (ours overlooked kings cross directly- people walking past the station shops could look directly up into our room if the curtains were open. Maybe there are better rooms available but we were a little disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,613 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    828
    486
    191
    71
    37
See reviews for
273
705
80
301
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (492)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Weybridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed here in July. The hotel itself is amazing. The refurbishments are first class and had a real gothic/dramatic feel. The bar is very buzzy and you could not fault how helpful staff are.

Our room was beautiful. The bed comfortable and the bathroom was a great size.

BUT - as this is a listed building the windows are single glazed and unfortunately you here all the street noise and sirens from outside. It's London so it is all night long and for the prices charged not a great experience. I doubt we would stay here again, which is a shame as the hotel has an impressive feel about it.

Room Tip: Consider a room platform side - not great views but i'm sure would be quieter than a room facing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Myself and my partner travelled to London for the weekend, for our last night we decided to treat ourselves to a 5* hotel. We asked for an early check in but received an email saying check in was 16.00, we decided to store out luggage there for the day while we explored London.
We arrived back around 17.00 to find a lovely 5* service of our luggage already in our room........the wrong room. Tiny square window looking out on a brick wall!! I called reception to say we had boked a room with a bath so we were moved, this room was equally awful with a bath. I had stated that I had booked a premium room, they needed proof of this and after an hour of trying to connect to the internet from the rude staff member, I finally found the proof. So at 19.30 we were shown to a better room with a lovely window, bath, and king bed as booked and paid for week in advance!!!! What a waste of our short time in London!!
After receiving no sincere apology I started I wanted a late check out, 14.30 was the best they could do! And I also questioned about a complimentary breakfast. This was given the go ahead by the night manager, this was given begrudgingly 'as requested' due to 'miscommunication'.
Overall service was bad, at dinner I asked for tap water twice and received none at all. At breakfast my partner ordered brioche and toast and received a full English instead!! At the end of the trip we just took what we were given and put it down to a lesson well learned!! The two night prior to this we stayed at an Ibis hotel, amazing service with extremely friendly staff!

Room Tip: Do not stay here unless you are booking a quite as the other rooms are average and in a new part of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

St Pancras hotel is more than a hotel - it is an experience. A magnificent building dating from the height of the railway era it has been very sensitively restored. It is not cheap but you wouldn't expect it to be. As soon as you arrive you are met by very courteous and efficient staff, your car is parked, your luggage taken to your room, the concierge is available to advise on local restaurants and attractions. We were in a Barlow room, modern and very well furnished with a very comfortable bed and a good sized bathroom. The room wasn't exceptional but was very acceptable. We had a post theatre meal in the Booking Office which offers a restricted menu after 10:00pm. The food was very good and the atmosphere wonderful.
Our opinion overall is that this hotel is ideal indulgence for a special celebration. All the staff - and there were lots of them - were very courteous and helpful. The building is magnificent and it is worth wandering around to look at the various rooms - and of course THE staircase.
We paid £50 to have our car parked overnight at the hotel. It was parked on the ramp outside the hotel and while not cheap we felt it was well worth the convenience.
Two negatives:
Of the TV channels listed in the room several are not available
WiFi appeared to be chargeable which in a hotel of this quality is surprising

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stayed in for 2N in Sept. Iconic monument in St-Pancras nearby Eurostar terminal station. Loved the architecture with awesome double stairways. Congratulations for the complete and superb overhaul. Rooms are real great with comfy bedding. Will stay again without any doubt.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gareth B, General Manager at St. Pancras Renaissance London Hotel, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Thank you for much for this wonderful feedback. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and do hope to welcome you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atherstone, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Wow what a building, stunning, breathtaking Etc, Etc, Etc. Sadly for me, as a rail enthusiast thats where it ends and this sorry review starts, and I hope Mr. Manager your taking note. We arrived on Friday afternoon and were directed to our Barlow room, number 324. very modern, like a Premier Inn room and the view.... what view, a brick wall, only of interest to brick layers or mortar technicians. Why oh why was there no reference anywere in this fine building or its rooms of the proud railway heritage that this country was rightly proud of when railway companys spent money like it was going out of fashion in order to entice customers onto its trains. Sleep quality on the first night was I have to admit first class. So Saturday started with breakfast, ok so the general choice was of a very good standard but they did not, repeat did not cater for the "home guest" and I choose my words very carefully there. I had what can only be described as a luke warm breakfast with scrambled eggs as cold as a barristers stare, having stayed in at least 4, 4 star hotels where were the fried eggs, hash browns or that english staple in the countrys greatest raetaurants black pudding. We went out for the day on Saturday only to return at 16=00 hours to find the room not even made up, shocking. Charged £8=44 for a small glass of house white in the bar......shocking. Then I could not believe my eyes on the Sunday morning at breakfast, and please dont forget we are talking 5 star here, a drunken young lady sitting at the next table fast asleep not what I expect from a hotel like this. The restaurant manager having sensed my facial expressions swiftly woke her up, asked her to pay her bill and leave, along with her wooly hat and ruck sack, she would have done better at the Y.H.A. hotel over the road. Opted for the cold option breakfast, with superb cheeses from Devon, salmon and smoked cod... very nice and a degree warmer than Saturday mornings offering. The only fab thing for me personally was the smell of fresh orchids in reception, but would have preferred the smell of a hot, full english in the restaurant. This is my view and not that of my lady wife whos birthday weekend it was. Very dissapointed.

Room Tip: Not 324, stay at a 4 star hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I've stayed in several 5 star hotels in London but this one may top them all. It is surely the most beautiful. If you enjoy architecture, at the very least visit the hotel - it is a Victorian masterpiece!
Rooms are spacious, hotel staff was extremely friendly, helpful and available. The convenience of being attached to a major train station is also a plus. Lots of restaurants, shops, and obviously trains. The neighborhood around the hotel is also quite nice. I know it's expensive but at least you get what you should, a true 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gareth B, General Manager at St. Pancras Renaissance London Hotel, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Thank you for much for this wonderful feedback. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and do hope to welcome you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to St. Pancras Renaissance London Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Pancras Renaissance London Hotel

Address: Euston Road | St Pancras Chambers, St Pancras Station, London NW1 2AR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Camden / Primrose Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Spa Hotel in London
#119 Business Hotel in London
#141 Luxury Hotel in London
#164 Family Hotel in London
#174 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — St. Pancras Renaissance London Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 244
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Marriott, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your St. Pancras Renaissance London Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Pancras Renaissance London Hotel England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Pancras Renaissance London Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.