We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor soundproofing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of St. Pancras Renaissance London Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added St. Pancras Renaissance London Hotel to your Saves list
St. Pancras Renaissance London Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Euston Road | St Pancras Chambers, St Pancras Station, London NW1 2AR, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #231 of 1,052 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Ilkley, West Yorkshire, England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Poor soundproofing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

My husband and I treated ourselves to a night before getting on Eurostar next morning. We'd wanted to stay at the hotel ever since it reopened and the location and architecture are fantastic. No expense seems to have been spared on the refurbishment. BUT although our room in the Barlow wing was gorgeous, with views over the station, lovely bed linen and so on, our sleep was disturbed by a heavy footed guest in the room overhead. Our room ceiling was low and the soundproofing poor so it wasn't a noise you could blank out. Every now and then there would also be loud cracking and creaking from the floor above, so loud it made us jump. We stay in hotels frequently so have plenty of other experiences to judge by. Also, although I now know ours was a cheaper room, £300+ is a lot of money to pay to have a disturbed night. What a shame.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,010 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,047
    584
    235
    94
    50
See reviews for
322
895
91
380
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (599)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mountain View, California
Level Contributor
75 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel with a rich heritage. The St. Pancras was threatened with demolition when the Marriott group stepped in and restored and updated the building. What is there now is a gorgeous, historical treat of a hotel.
We were greeted quickly when we arrived in the lobby and were soon on our way to our room. As it turned out, there was a tour starting in about 5 minutes of the hotel that was led by a blue badge guide. This was free of charge and the concierge put my name quickly on the list so I was able to enjoy it with about 10 other people. We were taken all around the hotel, even to parts that were limited to viewing. There are only about 40 rooms of the old part of the hotel that are available to rent, so we were lucky that we could see them, even if we were unable to stay in one. We were taken also into the Royal Suite (impressive) and into another one, named for the architect, that was being renovated where we could see the gilded ceiling and the fabulous wall paper. The tour is only on certain days and times, so make sure and ask about it when booking so you can see this if you're interested in architecture.
As for our room, we were placed in the modern wing of the hotel. It was big, comfortable, with wonderful bedding, excellent amenities. As platinum Marriott rewards guests, we received entry into the Chambers, which is their private club area, and it was lovely. We had tea there in the afternoon and breakfast in the morning. There was no porridge on the buffet but when we asked about getting some, a very nice man brought us some from another restaurant.
They took very good care of us and it was very convenient for the Eurostar the next day. They allowed a late check out too so we didn't have to wait too long in the station.
We highly recommend this hotel and we would love to go back the next time we are in London.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
istanbul
Level Contributor
66 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

Please check the photos of the building from the internet. It's an amazing building both from the outside and inside. Lobby and the breakfast hall (booking office) are just perfect. Restoration of the building must be a perfect example to all architects in the world. Rooms are large and feature everything you may expect in a five star hotel. The only thing i didnt like here is the selection of tv channels. I recommend to the management to check the variety of the channels and try to remember why you have a kurdistan tv. Its so strange. Everything else was great.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Great location, right in the station. Stayed over Xmas time and would stay in again. Bar was nice, although very busy and drinks took a while to get. Breakfast was delicious, had everything you could want.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

This is one of the best hotels I have had the pleasure of staying in it was prefect.

I rang the hotel to ask some questions about which room would best suited to our needs and I spoke to a very helpful member of staff and his recommendations was spot on.

On arrival a staff member immediately saw I had a case with me and carried it to reception desk while I waited to check in another staff member approached us and asked if we were checking in and he then took our cases gave me a receipt for them and whisked them away. Checking in was easy everything explained regarding key cards etc very efficiently.

On entering our room the first word was WOW ! and this was the case for the rest of our stay. Our bags followed our arrival in the room a few minutes after, the room was spacious, very clean and nicely decorated, extremely comfy pillows and beds, provided a great nights sleep, the bathroom clean bright lots of lovely fluffy towels all very nice.

Check out was again easy but tinged with sadness as we wished we could stay longer!

Beautiful hotel extremely comfortable great location with friendly efficient staff can't wait to return!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

I stayed here for one night in September whilst visiting friends in London.
The Hotel is 5* with the rooms having superb facilites.
All area's of the Hotel are kept immaculately clean.
The building itself has a lot of History to it which I found very interesting.
The Hotel is ideally located for anyone wishing to travel out of Kings Cross Station, especially the Eurostar.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Staying at this hotel on business for a week. The regular hotel that I usually stay in is under construction. My assistant says that some of the executives like to stay at this one. So I thought I give it a try.
Arrived at the hotel after a ten hour flight. Exhausted. Ask the reception staff if we can check in earlier, so that we can take a hot shower and get some sleep.
She informed us that the room that we booked is a queen bed. And if we want a king bed room, we had to supplement another $35 a day. And if we need Internet access is $15 a day. We were so tired, and needed Internet to get work done, we signed off on the extra costs. She called house keeping to get our room ready. And told us she will call us on our cell when the room is ready.
We went to a nearby restaurant for a lunch. Mine you, we had soup, salad, pasta, coffee, so it takes a good 45 mins to an hour.
We get back to the reception desk, our room is not ready. We sat at the lobby, for another 15 mins, decided to get some snacks and water at the store. We took a stroll in the shopping mall for another 30 mins. When we get back to the reception desk, the staff would not even acknowledge our presence. No eye contact. No hand signal that says, I will take care of you, just a minute. They proceed to service other customers and gave them keys to their rooms.
I ask another staff for the manager, now that this whole room waiting turned into a 2 hour adventure. Not until than, they noticed that we were noticeably upset and dissatisfied. Found a room in 10 mins. We venture to the elevators to get to our room, the keys failed to work in the elevator, we weren't able to get to our room floor. We venture back to the front desk for assistance.
As a seasoned executive in the service industry, and globe trotting traveller, the front reception staff failed miserably to deliver the first impression of a high end hotel.
The reception staff need training. Eye contact with customers. Set and manage expectations with your customers. Frankly, we would have gone on to do other things, if we knew that house keeping took 2 hours.
Last but not least, understand your customers needs. We mentioned that we were tired multiple times. Staff didn't seem to care. No amount of service recovery would retain your customers, if staff are there just to punch in the info into the computer, execute payments and hand people keys.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to St. Pancras Renaissance London Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Pancras Renaissance London Hotel

Address: Euston Road | St Pancras Chambers, St Pancras Station, London NW1 2AR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#36 Spa Hotel in London
#149 Business Hotel in London
#170 Luxury Hotel in London
#181 Romantic Hotel in London
#198 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — St. Pancras Renaissance London Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It was with great excitement that St Pancras Renaissance Hotel re-opened its doors on 5th May 2011, after an extensive six-year restoration. Widely recognised as one of London's greatest Victorian landmarks the 245-room hotel now boasts not only one of the most majestic staircases in Britain, but two bars & restaurants, a spa, a gentleman's grooming salon as well as some of the largest and most beautiful suites in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Marriott and Jetsetter so you can book your St. Pancras Renaissance London Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Pancras Renaissance London Hotel England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Pancras Renaissance London Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.