We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Indian if you can beat the Queues.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dishoom Covent Garden

Dishoom Covent Garden
12 Upper St. Martin's Lane, London WC2H 9FB, England (Covent Garden)
020 7420 9320
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Dishoom Covent Garden is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #447 of 18,011 Restaurants in London
Price range: $23 - $39
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Covent Garden
Dunde
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great Indian if you can beat the Queues.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Really enjoyed the food at this restaurant superbly fresh and good quality although portions are on the small side and ample my tip would be too add an extra couple of side dishes to prolong the dining experience.Service was brisk and the sweet menu also worth trying especially the pineapple crumble.Tip to aviod the queues call before 7 or after 9.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,356 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    658
    494
    111
    57
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Decent food but small-ish portions.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

I ate here on the back of the good news on a Friday before the theatre. I was pleased we booked a table as there was quite a queue into the front door. The food was really delicious - we had chicken, fish, coleslaw and thoroughly enjoyed everything but the portions were quite small. We ended up having to eat again after the show. And as my husband wittily pointed out it was cafe style food and service at restaurant prices. Would definitely eat here again though - would just make sure I ordered a starter and a few sides.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“the best place to have Indian food in London!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

This was also my 1st time to try Indian food. An Indian friend of mine took me there, and it was really worth it!!
When we got there the place was so full we had to wait 20 mins next to the bar until we got our seats, and the staff and the bar tenders were really nice to us and offered us some drinks.
Once we got seated everything was freat: the staff, the service, the food and the drinks were at high quality. For a main plate I had a lamb byrini which I really loved!!
The prices are reasonable, and the restaurant is located at Covent garden which makes it easy to find.
To sum it up: fantastic experience, very very recomended!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
276 reviews 276 reviews
200 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 100 cities Reviews in 100 cities
154 helpful votes 154 helpful votes
“Everything has already been said”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

...and yes: queuing is never pleasant (especially when it rains!) but the staff does everything they can to make t a little more bearable. Food is very good and so is the ambiance. Best of all is the service/ everyone had a smile and looked really engaged: a pleasure to be there and a rate experience. Will definitely go back. (I was there on a Friday night and the queu was gone by 8:30 - so that's when I will go next time!)

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
245 reviews 245 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 103 cities Reviews in 103 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Great from start to finish - including the queue”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Dishoom doesnt take bookings after 5pm so arrived at 715 for 730 meeting with friend a Punjabi who lives Washington DC so we always eat Indian when he is in town. Huge queue - which turned out to be well managed - think this is a rush hour as queue was gone in about half an hour. Meanwhile we were treated to chai, kept informed about queue length and entertained with card tricks ! Also asked if we knew about Shoreditch branch.
Then the food - black dahl ( oh so yummy), minted spiced lamb chops, Malai chicken, okra ( so, so delicious), veg samosas,naan, 2 cold beers ( still drooling),rice. Bill £60 for 2.
Handy hints - be prepared to queue at peak times and be wowed when you start to eat.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dishoom Covent Garden also viewed

 

Been to Dishoom Covent Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dishoom Covent Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.