We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cold and draughty” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Marlborough Arms

Marlborough Arms
36 Torrington Place | Bloomsbury, London WC1E 7LY, England (Bloomsbury / Holborn)
02035 824 794
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5,586 of 17,938 Restaurants in London
Cuisines: British
Neighborhood: Bloomsbury / Holborn
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Bloomsbury / Holborn
manchester
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Cold and draughty”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

Visited this pub on a damp and dreary Wednesday afternoon. We had a few hours to kill before our train and wanted a cosy pub to have a meal and a bottle of wine. We sat in a corner near the dining room,there was a strong draught blowing out of the fire...which wasn't on. We moved into the main part of the pub,hoping it would be warmer, it wasn't. There is 1 radiator at the top of the stairs leading down to the ladies toilets.It was absolutely freezing.I had 2 jackets on and didn't feel warm enough to take 1 off. We had ordered our food as soon as we went in, so couldn't leave until we'd eaten. Needless to say as soon as we'd finished we were off! Have never been in such a cold pub before, and won't be going back.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    18
    10
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
208 reviews 208 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Good cheap alcohol if you have the discount card”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

I haven't tried the food here but we come here on a regular basis after work because its within close proximity to UCL. It always has free tables and seats, even on a friday night in the summer. They offer discounted drinks if you have one of those cards... (can't remember what it's called)...

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good place to eat when your hungry!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

This pub was right around the corner from our hotel. It is owned by Taylor/Walker which seems to own a lot of pubs so the food is pretty streamlined. However, it was tasty. I had their fish and chips, and chicken tikka masala. Both were good and where a pretty good deal compared to other eating joints. The staff there were really great and super nice.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Poor service, worse food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

I ate here a couple of times and also went to the Rising Sun, just around the corner, for similar food. The staff in the Rising Sun are much friendlier and the food was much better (same dishes). They're almost exactly the same price, and I won't be returning to the Marlborough Arms.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Just round the corner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

The Marlborough Arms is just round the corner from where we always stay on Gower St.Pub grub at reasonable prices. Tables outside if the weather is nice.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marlborough Arms also viewed

 

Been to Marlborough Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marlborough Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.