We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent way to get great photos.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thames Riverboats

Thames Riverboats
Westminster Pier, London SW1A 2JH, England (Westminster / Belgravia)
+44 (0) 20 7930 2062
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #218 of 1,022 Activities in London
Attraction details
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“excellent way to get great photos.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

we had great weather, sunshine and warm so the river trip to Westminster was our first choice to go see Big Ben and taking the chance to take photos of the usual attractions without lots of people standing in the way. Well worth the money, use your Oyster card and get 30% discount.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    184
    118
    23
    8
    11
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
40 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“London Thames River Services boat trip - great 2 hour trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We had visitors for the weekend who wanted to do a boat trip. After much research I decided on Thames River Services which did a 2 hour trip that covered a very large part of the river.
It was 2 hours. We got on at Greenwich, then boat past O2/Millenium Dome and other parts of East end and Canary Whart, through the Thames barrier and back again all the way up to Westminster. You can also do this in reverse. Or you can do a shorter trip without the O2/Thames Barrier part.
It said no commentary and you can download details to follow yourself. But out driver did commentary which was very useful and amusing. They passed round a bucket for contributions at the end and it was worth it.
The value is good - book on-line to get good discounts or show your oyster card to book on the day to also get discounts. Get on/get off is at Westminster pier or Greenwich pier. There are refreshments and toilets on the boat.
Altogether an excellent trip which I would recommend.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sussex
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Riverboats on the Thames”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Excellent way to get in and out of London - parking at the O2 was so cheap for the day £11 for 9hrs! And then in and out and around London using the River Boats! A great way to start any London attraction! and they have Costa Coffee on board! Well done - clean - on time and timetables easily read! Brilliant!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
44 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“You must take a river cruise!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Absolutely the best way to see London...on the Thames. This was quite enjoyable and there was lots to see. The guides were informative and I highly reccommend!!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlboro, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Better than expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We got on the boat tour at Westminster Pier and rode down to Greenwich. I didn't realize but the boat included a captain who claims he is not a tour guide, but who is knowledgeable about the city and shares information. This was such a pleasant surprise and really made the boat cruise worth it!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thames Riverboats also viewed

 

Been to Thames Riverboats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thames Riverboats, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.