We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, included a comedy show!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thames Riverboats

Thames Riverboats
Westminster Pier, London SW1A 2JH, England (Westminster)
+44 (0) 20 7930 2062
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great value, included a comedy show!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

We took a 1 hour plus trip on " Circular Tours" a boat around the Pool of London.
The unofficial guide was hilarious , and really added to the sense of fun.
Thoroughly recommended.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    194
    119
    25
    8
    13
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northumberland National Park, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“well worth a trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

We had a good trip on teh river, the comemtator was enthuastic and gave a good history to all the buildings along the thames. Only widh it had gone as far as the Thames flood barrier

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Avoid the Circular Cruise”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

Very short cruise,
Stupid commentaries from the guide.
Basically navigates between Ste. Catherine pier (Londion tower bridge) and stops before the Westminster bridge. So you never get to see the House of Parliament from the water.
There must be better cruises than this one
Avoid the Circular Cruise.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“We wondered if they were joking..”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We thought a 3 1/2 hour cruise up the Thames to Hampton Court might be a relaxing way to spend a morning in London - until we saw the boat. It was a cramped, beat-up old piece of junk with unattached plastic chairs arranged on it entirely-open deck. On a rather dreary, misty morning, the boat offered absolutely no refuge from the weather, unlike the other, newer boats with which it was docked. We returned to the ticket window where the pleasant woman working inside promptly refunded our money. She had obviously been required to do this many times before.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Thames River Boats - Having a ticket does not guarantee passage.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

My wife are I booked a return trip with Thames River Boats from Westminster Pier to Kew on Sunday 5th May 2013. The upriver trip to Kew was fine. We returned to the Kew pier 40 minutes before the scheduled departure time. We were at the head of the queue at the point where the boat dropped us off. The boat arrived from Hampton Court about 15 minutes late mooring at the opposite end of the pier from where we were standing letting people from the rear of the queue board first. This would have only been a very minor annoyance, if it was not for the fact that after around half the queue had boarded the boat was full, with no more people being allowed to board. The people running the Thames River Boats could not have been more unhelpful, the excuse being “it was not their fault they were busy” ! Surely they know how many tickets they have sold ? ! After some time complaining ourselves along with the other passengers received a partial refund from the Kew Pier ticket office. This refund however went little way to cover the £40 taxi fare back to the centre of London.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thames Riverboats also viewed

 

Been to Thames Riverboats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thames Riverboats, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.