We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fleet River Rooms

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in London
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fleet River Rooms
Save
You added Fleet River Rooms to your Saves list
71 Lincoln's Inn Fields, London WC2A 3JH, England (Holborn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 524 London B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
herts uk
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Amazing value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

Stay here one night in December. Checked in early 1pm. No filling out forms of contact details or leaving credit card for extra's . Was taken straight to our room with a jug of fresh milk for teas and coffee which where free. Rooms are massive well equipment with nice bedding and white towels.
Breakfast is amazing with a great choice.
Location is perfect for anyone staying in London for either a night out at the theatre or touring the sites.
With visit again even if it's just for eating in the bakery

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    15
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
35
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

I've stayed here twice (3 nights in May 2012 and a week in March 2013) and I'm headed back in March 2014 for 4 nights. This has become my go-to place for opera & theatre trips to London. The location can't be beat: it's around the corner from the Holborn tube station, easy walking distance to the British Museum, Bloomsbury, Soho and the West End theatres. There's a Sainsbury's across the street, a Metro bank on the corner, Barclay's ATMs nearby (for Bank of America customers looking for no-fee withdrawals), and scores of dining options in the neighborhood. It's a lively area during the day and feels safe at night (I've walked back to my room alone after evening theatre or opera performances and have never felt unsafe). Since it's a bit off the main thoroughfare, it's also quiet at night for sleeping. You don't find rooms this large and this nice at this price anywhere else in Central London. The breakfasts at the bakery downstairs are delish and Lucy and her staff are absolutely the best! It's also a huge plus to have a washer/dryer for doing laundry and a kitchen for making tea or eating in. The room is always spotlessly clean, the bed is comfortable and the shower is lovely with plenty of hot water. I could easily spend a month here! It's really a studio apt rather than your typical B&B room. Reserve well in advance -- word is out now about Fleet River Bakery & Rooms and the rooms get booked months ahead!
(If you stay here, don't miss the wonderful, quirky Sir John Soane's Museum just down the street!)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Stayed in June with a friend for eleven days, and can only add to all the positive reviews: the flat is modern, clean, and has a useful kitchen (though we did not cook at home all that often). The bakery cafe offers a gorgeous breakfast, with excellent coffee, and we found the bakery staff to be very welcoming. Location superb, especially if you like to walk to various museums, etc.
We are planning our next trip as I write this.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We regularly fly British Airways to Europe and like to spend several nights in London on the way to or from our destination. On previous visits we have stayed near Westminster Bridge and liked that location. This time I suggested we try something different, and based on reviews we chose Fleet River Rooms. The excellent reviews are spot on, and I won't repeat them. My husband is still raving about how great it was-- the room, the breakfast, the staff, and the location. I join in his enthusiasm. Before departing we booked a longer stay for next spring.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

I stayed here with my partner for a couple of nights at the end of August. This place is just around the corner from Holborn tube station and is only about a 10 minute walk to Covent Garden. There is a Sainsbury's supermarket across from the tube station and there's a lovely little park a couple of minutes from the B&B. We arrived on a Sunday and as the bakery was closed, the caretaker greeted us. He was really friendly and showed us to our room which was very spacious and clean. He told us as the bakery would also be closed the following day (bank holiday), he would pop round later to bring supplies for our breakfast. The room itself was spacious and clean and had everything you would need - full kitchen, washing machine, ironing board. The bathroom was tiny but modern and clean. When we arrived back later that day, we found half a large loaf of soda bread, eggs, butter, milk, granola, fruit, yoghurt, orange juice and tea and coffee - enough for two days, so we used some of it for supper. There was only a room with single beds available at the time I booked, but that was fine and the beds were perfectly comfortable. Unfortunately there was some sort of works going on in the street below on both mornings we stayed, so we were woken quite early but as this is such a quiet little street, I imagine it's not usually that noisy. We had a choice of breakfast in the bakery on Tuesday morning, which was delicious and we found the staff to be really friendly. They let us leave our luggage in the hallway after checking out so we were free to wander around and collect it later. Until last year I lived in London and the thought of paying to stay there wasn't a pleasant one but after my stay here, I'd be happy to return here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Fleet River is so perfect I don't want anyone else to know about it. However it's already been discovered so is booked up a lot of the time. The Bakery is 5 minutes walk from Holborn tube station and bus stops, 10 minutes walk from Covent Garden and 15 to the British Museum or theatreland. The building, on a quiet corner by Lincoln's Inn Fields, has a lovely cafe on the ground and lower floors and four bedrooms above which you access from a separate entrance. The cafe staff let you in, supply keys and tell you the basics. Our room, no 4, was up two flights of stairs. It's a good size, has comfortable twin beds with duvets, a sofa bed, a kitchen and shower and toilet. The kitchen is well equipped with crockery, cutlery, fridge, microwave, cooker and hob. There is a. a hair dryer, TV and wifi access and the liquid soap smells lovely, the towels are soft, the shower strong and the water hot. After a comfortable night's sleep you go down to an included breakfast at the cafe. You choose from their excellent menu, so anything from granola to a full English, eggs benedict etc. Plus juices, coffees or teas, toast and Danish. There's a supermarket round the corner in Holborn if you want to eat in, and a washing machine, iron and ironing board if you're travelling. Booking is all done on line. I really can't fault the Fleet River and it's really great value at £115 per night. Hopefully the owners will open lots more places along the same lines.

Room Tip: Its a quiet location in a pedestrian street, so any room should be fine as there is secondary glazin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Location is the key here. A one minute walk to the tube and two stops from Oxford Circus everything is right at your fingertips from Fleet River Rooms. Walk to the Tate Modern then on to the Borough market ... Or to Soho, Oxford Street and on to Hyde Park. The Bakery has a scrumptious breakfast and great coffee for you in the morning, there's a fruit stand at the end of the lane and Sainsbury's across the road. There is everything in the room ... Even a washer / drier and a rack plus iron and ironing board. Excellent accommodation!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fleet River Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fleet River Rooms

Address: 71 Lincoln's Inn Fields, London WC2A 3JH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Holborn
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 524 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled above the bakery, our newly refurbished studio apartments have polished wood floors, high ceilings and handsome décor.Each room is furbished with a double bed, sofa, Freeview TV, free WiFi, wardrobe, an en-suite shower room, kitchen area and washing machine.The kitchens are equipped with all you would need to serve up a light supper. Enjoy a bottle of wine from the Fleet Bottle Shop and relax after a hard day's sightseeing.A perfect place to stay for a business trip, to see a show or visiting London with the family. Stay at the Fleet Rooms to enjoy our quiet corner of central London and have breakfast in the bakery. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fleet River Rooms Hotel London
Fleet River Rooms London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fleet River Rooms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.