We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why would want to stay anywhere else?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Corinthia Hotel London

Save Saved
You added Corinthia Hotel London to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 18 more sites!
Corinthia Hotel London
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Whitehall Place, London SW1A 2BD, England (Westminster / Belgravia)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
3rd Night Free
Ranked #7 of 1,075 hotels in London
London
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Why would want to stay anywhere else?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

This five star hotel deserves everyone one of its stars! First class service, first class accommodation, first class restaurants, first class venue.

My partner and I recently held our wedding celebrations at the Corinthia, having searched all over for a venue with that wow factor, and that could offer us a modern Italian twist, the Corinthia delivered this and more by the bucket. Claire Bowpitt, our event co-ordinator was just fabulous, handling every detail personally.

We choose to check in a day early for our celebrations, the idea being that we would spoil ourselves to a little rest prior to our big day, and take advantage of the hotels stunning spa facilities and dinner at the Corinthia's Italian restaurant, Massimo that evening (Massimo's was after all the main reason we had booked the Corinthia for our big day). On arrival we were meet at the front door by Claire, and the doorman busied themselves unloading our luggage, treating us like visiting royalty. Our first surprise came when Claire took us up to our room, to find out that she had upgraded us to one of the hotels premier penthouse suites!! To say it was stunning was understatement, it was 800sq feet of pure indulgence, we could have held our ceremony in our suite it was so big. Split over two floors, with a living room and guest toilet on the lower floor, and a bedroom, bathroom and dressing room to die for on the upper floor, it was just out of this world. We were then introduced to our personal butler, who would take care of anything we needed!! When we were finally left alone, we just looked at one another and said "someone's made a mistake, they will be back shortly to move us to our correct room" but we soon settled in.....

The afternoon was spent enjoying our surroundings, a fabulous light lunch in the foyer under the amazing chandelier, followed by a few of hours pampering ourselves in the spa facilities, which were better than any "spa" hotel I have ever been too, drinks in the courtyard, and finally dinner in Massimo's.

I should maybe explain, my partner is Sicilian, and loves his food. Massimo's is without doubt one of the best Italian restaurants in London, the food is simply sablime. Claire had booked us a table, and what followed was 3hours of eating some of the best food and drinking some of the best wine that Italy can offer. We were joined for dinner by Vito my partners brother, who after dessert gave the chef the ultimate Italian compliment, "it was better than home".

The next day was our big day. The service was scheduled for 4.30pm, so when we came down at 10am, we were expecting the court room and Ballroom to be empty. How wrong we were, the set up was nearly complete! No stress, no errors, no problems. Claire gave us a quick tour and introduced us to the key staff, it was just so perfect. The hotels florist had done a wonderful job, and our own florist and AV company were just finishing, it all looked just perfect. Having meet our best men for lunch, all that was left for us to do was change for dinner.

The day flew by, with one compliment after the next from our guests. The service over dinner was just fantastic, the staff were impeccable, and the food was as good as massimo, with our 100 guests all saying that they were just blown awa. It was truly an evening we will remember for the rest of our lives.

The Corinthia is not cheep, but its worth absolutely every penny, and it is good value. First class service, first class food, first class accommodation, this truly is a first class hotel!

Go, you will remember the experience long after you have forgotten the price!

Room Tip: They are all simply fantastic. The beds are out of this world
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatthewDixon, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel London, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time during your honeymoon to post the loveliest review of your wedding at Corinthia Hotel London. The description in your review sounds like you had the most magical experience, we always enjoy going the extra mile for all of our guests, and in this instance we are delighted to have exceeding all of our expectations. Your kind feedback and special mention of your wedding planner, Claire Bowpitt has been forwarded to the Executive Management team, who will personally acknowledge and thank her for exceptional customer service standards. We are very pleased that during the preparations you were able to enjoy many facilities within the hotel, especially the exceptional ESPA Life at Corinthia spa, and to take advantage of some treatments and pampering time before the big day. It was our pleasure that we were able to upgrade you to one of our seven magnificent Penthouse Suites, they are jaw-droppingly stunning, arranged over two floors, some with terraces and fabulous views over the London skyline. The great feedback for you and your party’s dinner in Massimo Restaurant & Oyster Bar, the modern Italian David Collins designed restaurant, is especially appreciated from a fellow Italian. Our in-house florist create the most visually stunning displays throughout the hotel, and love to be able to showcase their best work for weddings. We very much look forward to welcoming you back to Corinthia London as a married couple, and hope you will choose to share many anniversaries and special occasions to come.

Kind Regards, Matthew Dixon, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,104 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    951
    95
    33
    18
    7
See reviews for
177
436
44
243
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Location: I was delighted with the location of the Corinthia. It is a 2 minute walk to two tube stations (Charing Cross and Embankment) so it was really easy to travel to the attractions we wanted to visit. It is virtually next to the river and the London Eye, Westminster Abbey and Houses of Parliament are a short walk away. Whitehall Gardens are literally across the road and very pleasant to visit for a quiet sit down after a busy day. Trafalgar Square is about 5 minutes walk away and it is close to St James Park, Horse Guards Parade and Buckingham Palace. There was always a taxi outside too so we never had to wait if we wanted to go by cab.
Service: This is what the Corinthia is all about. The staff are extremely professional, polite and helpful. We were upgraded to an Executive room and as there was a short wait for it to be ready we were ushered into the Lobby Lounge and served complimentary drinks. When the room was ready the receptionist returned to collect us and showed us around the restaurants and lobby areas. All the staff were very attentive and welcoming.
Rooms: The room that we had was absolutely lovely and quite large. It faced on to Whitehall Place and although it was only on the first floor it was very quiet with no traffic disturbance. There was slight disturbance one night as there was a ball in the ballroom below our room but it really did not bother us much at all. There was never any “people” noise from within the hotel at night time. The room was beautifully appointed and very clean. The quality of the fittings, furnishings, lighting and bathroom was excellent – even under floor heating in the bathroom.
Food: There is a choice of restaurants and we ate in the Massimo on two evenings. The food was very good and reasonably priced. I recommend the beef tenderloin which was exquisite. Wine is from around £45 per bottle and by the glass from around £10. The lobby lounge, which serves food all day, offered a great alternative for us to enjoy a light breakfast.
Overall this is an excellent hotel and I can’t wait to return there for another break. The location, ambience, rooms and service are perfect in my opinion. I will definitely be booking in at the Corinthia next time I visit London.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatthewDixon, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel London, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for posting a charming review of your stay at Corinthia Hotel London. We enjoyed reading the detail of all of the iconic London sights that are just minutes from the hotel, whilst across the road there is a central transport hub for easy access around the city, and London Black cabs are always available at the main entrance. We are always most pleased to read great feedback on our customer service standards, as we pride ourselves on our Craftsmanship of Care policy and training, it is delightful to hear that the team went the extra mile and exceeded your expectations. All of our rooms are larger than average for central London hotels, many with splendid views over the River Thames or the stunning Whitehall architecture, and being sited just below the Strand the hotel is exceptionally quiet during the day and night. We are very pleased you had the opportunity to dine in Massimo Restaurant & Oyster Bar, serving modern Italian cuisine, on your next visit you may want to try seasonal British fare in The Northall. We appreciate your kind compliments and cannot wait to welcome you back on your next visit to London.

Kind Regards, Matthew Dixon, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We have been to London many times and can confidently say that the Corinthia is the best hotel that we have ever stayed at in London. The rooms are modern, well appointed and very comfortable. The lobby and common areas are exquisite. The staff is first rate. The concierges are knowledgeable, helpful and attentive. Housekeeping is thorough, timely and consistent. The front desk staff is very pleasant and welcoming. The spa and fitness facility are amongst the finest at that we have encountered at any hotel, possibly the best in the case of the spa. The restaurant staff in the Northall restaurant are wry pleasant, attentive and work hard to cater to guest needs. The hotel's location is perfect for touring, shopping, attending the theatre and generally enjoying central London. The Corinthia is now our hotel of choice in London and we cannot recommend it more highly.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatthewDixon, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel London, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for posting a lovely review of your stay at Corinthia Hotel London. We especially like that your review has highlighted all of the aspects that make Corinthia Hotel London a special place to stay. All of our rooms are larger than average for central London hotels, and are beautifully appointed with the very best quality fixtures and fittings. The Lobby Lounge makes a magnificent first impression with the iconic Baccarat chandelier and glass domed roof that floods the reception areas with light. We very much appreciate your kind compliments regarding the team, who pride themselves on always going to extra mile to exceed every guest’s expectations. ESPA Life at Corinthia is an exceptional spa, the largest spa in London, spaced over four floors of marble luxury, and offering a superb menu of treatments. We think the hotel is ideally located for both the business and leisure traveller, with many of London’s best sights within walking distance, adjacent to a central transport hub, and over thirty West End theatres within a mile radius, as well as easy access to the City of London. Thank you for your recommendation, we very much look forward to welcoming you on your visit to your hotel of choice.

Kind Regards, Matthew Dixon, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Just a super 5* hotel , made even more special due to the staff. They are all just there to make you have an unforgettable time, its genuine too, and I can usually spot it.
I forgot to organise various things before my stay , and Jean Louis organised everything , leave it to me he said " it will be perfect" and it was , better than I could have arranged , from flowers to reservations , to spa treatments , to Wimbledon tickets , to .....,.
Thank you to the whole team !

Room Tip: Never had a bad room !
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatthewDixon, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel London, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for posting a review of your stay at Corinthia Hotel London. We are especially pleased to read great feedback about the staff and your comments have been forwarded to the Front of House team. It sounds like you had a really enjoyable experience and we very much looking forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind Regards, Matthew Dixon, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

One of the most beautiful hotels I have stayed in, anywhere. The bathrooms are tremendous! My only criticisms would be one of the waiters in the bar (really unpleasant in every way) and the location of the hotel. A hike to shopping, theatre and any sights with the exception of the national gallery, the eye and Westminster abbey. Gym is very well equipped, spa is overly modern and deluxe, public rooms are visually interesting and luxurious. We did not have any issues with the room and I anticipate none with check out though I write this as I sit in bed on our last night.
I would love to stay here again, but likely won't due to location... If you are okay with being on The Strand or in a very southern location then this is your dream hotel.

Room Tip: 6th floor facing the courtyard. Absolute silence!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatthewDixon, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel London, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for posting a review of your stay at Corinthia Hotel London, we really appreciate your compliment that it is one of the most beautiful hotels you have ever stayed in. The hotel is ideal situated for both the leisure and business traveller, it is within walking distance of many of London’s iconic sights including Trafalgar Square, The National Gallery and The National Portrait Gallery, Big Ben, The Houses of Parliament, Westminster Abbey, The London Eye, The National Theatre and The Royal Opera House, whilst some of the world’s most exclusive shopping is easily accessible in Regent Street and Bond Street, within a mile radius there are over thirty West End theatres and opera houses, and it has the added advantage of having a central transport hub on the doorstep with Charing Cross rail and Embankment tube stations, buses all over London from the Strand and boats from Embankment. We are really pleased you were able to enjoy the award-winning ESPA Life at Corinthia spa, with a state-of-the-art gym, seventeen luxurious treatment rooms, and a relaxing Thermal Floor with swimming pool. We are very sorry to read that the location was not ideal for your purposes and hope the other great factors that make Corinthia Hotel London so special will change your mind, so that one day we may able to welcome you once again.

Kind Regards, Matthew Dixon, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

I wouldn't normally write a review about a hotel that I have already reviewed but I have to make an exception about this hotel as I like staying here so much and it is, I think, the best hotel I have ever stayed at.
This stay, which was our third, was only sadly for one night but the things which stood out for me aduring this visit were:
- its location, just a short walk from Trafalgar Square, and yet on a lovely quiet road away from all the crowds
- the people who work at the hotel who are friendly, courteous and helfpul
- the restaurants; although we didn't try the afternoon tea which looked wonderful, we did have a pre-theatre dinner in the Northall restaurant which was perfect and very good value at GBP30 per head for three courses and a glass of champagne
- the facilities which include a great gym and spa and a hairdressing salon which my wife now tells me she intends to visit every time we stay
- the rooms which have lovely furnishings and the most comfortable bed
- the atmosphere; as soon as one walks through the door of the hotel it feels great to be back!

I have recommended this hotel to friends, clients and colleagues and they have all loved it. Luckily I have also managed to have this hotel placed on the list of recommended hotels by my firm so I can return on business next time I am in London.

If you do decide to visit London this would definitely be the hotel to stay at.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatthewDixon, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel London, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a glowing review of your stay at Corinthia Hotel London, we really appreciate all of your kind comments and compliments. Your review has highlighted many of the fabulous aspects that makes the Corinthia London so very special, the location is ideal for sight-seeing and business purposes with easy access to the City, the team pride themselves on exceeding every guest’s expectations, the restaurants offer sustainably sources seasonal ingredients, the award-winning spa and salon is the largest in London and open twenty-four hours a day to residents, the rooms are luxurious and large, and the atmosphere is always welcoming. Thank you for recommending Corinthia London to your family, friends and colleagues, we are very pleased to read we are one of your business’s preferred partners so that we may welcome you back on many more visits to come.

Kind Regards, Matthew Dixon, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

This is hands down one of the best hotel rooms I have ever visited. It wasn't the largest, but it was one of the best designed and perfectly thought out rooms I have ever seen. The bathroom was stunning, and the room was so quiet you would never know you were in a big city - they even had an outlet specifically for American plugs! (Iphone & Ipad etc). There is a lovely florist downstairs which provides beautiful flowers for the room and throughout the hotel, such a nice touch! The staff at the desk, butlers, room service etc were all courteous and helpful (and funny!). The decor throughout is a very sleek hybrid of classic and contemporary, soothing without being boring and makes you feel "Aaaaaah" as soon as you walk through the doors after a busy day exploring the town. Bravo!

Room Tip: Our room faced the street but was incredibly quiet (there were double windows). It was also right ac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatthewDixon, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel London, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for posting a charming review of your stay at Corinthia Hotel London, we appreciate the “Aaaah” factor. We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay and appreciated all of the special touches that make the hotel a leader in its class. The hotel was designed by GA Designs, who have combined the best of the original building with modern design and décor. The ensuite under-floor heated bathrooms with separate rainshowers and baths with built in LCD-TVs, double sinks and Frette dressing gowns and towels are incredibly sumptuous. The meticulous attention to detail includes international plug sockets, complimentary Wi-Fi throughout the public rooms and bedrooms, and the most stunning flower arrangements around the hotel. We very much we have the opportunity to welcome and wow you once again on your next visit to London.

Kind Regards, Matthew Dixon, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Corinthia Hotel London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corinthia Hotel London

Address: Whitehall Place, London SW1A 2BD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster / Belgravia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in London
#5 Family Hotel in London
#6 Romantic Hotel in London
#6 Business Hotel in London
#7 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Corinthia Hotel London 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
294 exceptionally designed and spacious bedrooms and suites, among the largest in London, offering outstanding views of the River Thames, London Eye and Trafalgar Square. A specialty seafood restaurant, a modern British restaurant, a destination bar and a world class Spa, ESPA Life at Corinthia. Corinthia Hotel London will offer guests a lavish retreat in timeless beauty in a historic yet vibrant location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, Splendia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , TripOnline SA, Priceline, LondonMarketing.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Amex, Jetsetter, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Escapio and Venere so you can book your Corinthia Hotel London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corinthia Hotel London England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Corinthia Hotel London, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.