We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel, lovely spa” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Corinthia Hotel London

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added Corinthia Hotel London to your Saves list
Corinthia Hotel London
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Whitehall Place, London SW1A 2BD, England (Westminster / Belgravia)   |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Wonder
Ranked #8 of 1,066 Hotels in London
UK
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
102 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel, lovely spa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

This hotel has got it just right. From the rooms - comfortable with easy to use lighting etc - to the staff - friendly, helpful and welcoming. Afternoon tea is a must and the breakfast is definitely worth having. The spa and pool are absolutely gorgeous, do not miss out on trying them. This is my favourite London hotel, absolutely fabulous!

Room Tip: Go for the best you can afford but I would imagine they are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatthewDixon, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel London, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you for a review of your stay at Corinthia Hotel London, we very much appreciate your recommendation. We are delighted you had the opportunity to enjoy our seasonal Afternoon Tea, perfect in this weather for taking in The Courtyard, and then could work it all off in ESPA Life at Corinthia spa and pool. We are pleased that we are now your favourite London hotel, and look forward to offering you a warm welcome on your return.

Kind Regards, Matthew Dixon, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,164
    113
    39
    20
    7
See reviews for
206
537
53
288
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

Cannot fault the hotel itself, beautiful hotel, beautiful rooms and super location.

The only fly in the ointment really - we arrived at 5.30pm and were left waiting until about 6.15 in reception for a room key, until we queried it and were told our room wasn't ready?!

We were then charged for the room twice as we had prepaid for our stay - this wasn't picked up on by the staff who checked us in or out - only until we checked out bank balance did we realise this, they have since then sent us a refund invoice and then to follow another billing invoice for items that weren't picked up on from the mini bar at the time of departure!!!!

The only saving grave were the concierge who picked up and dropped off our vehicle and the lovely gentleman who took us to collect our vehicle the next day.

All in all, beautiful hotel but alot of miscommunication spoilt it.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatthewDixon, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel London, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay at Corinthia Hotel London. I am most concerned to read of your experience and I would be most grateful for the opportunity for you to make contact with me directly so that I may address your concerns personally. We are very appreciative of your kind compliments regarding the hotel itself, and hope that we can resolve this to your satisfaction and welcome you once more to the Corinthia London.

Kind Regards, Matthew Dixon, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Corinthia is elegant and so well located we walked everywhere. The room is well appointed with all needs and turn down including chocolates and the swimming pool and spa experience is fantastic with childrens times so my daughter was able to enjoy too. room service breakfast wonderful. All staff from management, housekeeping, turn down, room service and concierge are attentive and helpful. I hope to stay again soon.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatthewDixon, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel London, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you for posting a review of you stay at Corinthia Hotel London, and highlighting all the little extras that make the hotel so special. The hotel is located in central London within walking distance of many of the great sights, adjacent to a central transport hub, and in the centre of the West End for shopping and the best of London theatreland. The rooms are beautifully appointed with only the very best fixtures and fittings, Pratesi linens, Frette dressing-gowns and ESPA Life toiletries, as well as the complimentary daily turn-down treats, that everyone looks forward to. We are very pleased you managed to enjoy the ESPA Life at Corinthia spa, with dedicated morning and afternoon times for children. Most of all we appreciate your kind comments about all of the team, who pride themselves on always going the extra mile to exceed every guest’s expectations. We very much look forward to welcoming you and your family on your next visit to London.

Kind Regards, Matthew Dixon, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

The best hotel in London ! Spacious room, the best bed and linnen. Everything you want and need is there. Fantastic bathroom. Tasty decorated, elegant. Service excellent not pushy, the food dinner and breakfast delicious. This will be THE place to stay everytime we are in London

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatthewDixon, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel London, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you for your review of your stay at Corinthia Hotel London, we are really pleased you enjoyed your stay. All of our rooms are larger than average for central London hotels, and come with huge underfloor heated marble bathrooms as standard. The elegant décor is courtesy of GA Design and retains the original grandeur with modern features. The buffet breakfast in The Northall offers a great choice of options, and the best of British seasonal fare for lunch and dinner. We look forward to welcoming you to the hotel every time you are in London, and next time to enjoy many of the other facilities the hotel has to offer.

Kind Regards, Matthew Dixon, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Earlier this year I stayed at the Al Qasr, Dubai, part of the Madinat Jumeirah group, a hotel I would recommend to anyone and have reviewed twice now. That is what I think is a 5 star hotel delivering 5 star service and comfort. Until this weekend I had not stayed at a hotel in England delivering the same. But upon recommendation from my brother in law, we picked the Corinthia situated very close to the centre of London and the West End. We could arrive and check in at any time, and also do the same for check out. Nothing seemed to be a problem with any of the staff. We chose a deluxe room, which has a small foyer as you enter, a large dressing and clothes area directly in front of you, a superb bathroom with a tv on the bath wall to your left and a lovely bedroom to the right. The room is complimented with lovely fittings and fixtures, a cracking Nespresso coffee/ tea machine, huge bed and tv. We ate in the Northall restaurant. It was easy to book up and we were taken through to the restaurant which is large, airy, looked beautiful and clean and the service was fantastic, first class. We had a pre theatre menu which was £ 30 inc champagne, I cannot understand how the hotel can make money out of it. It was a choice of three starters, mains and desserts yet all were excellent size and superbly presented. I would also like to thank Fabrizio and his colleague for their wonderful service. We also had breakfast which was included in our weekend package, something I would recommend. The food for breakfast was also of a very high quality, no corners cut, and service excellent again.
If you get a chance, try the Espa Spa out. I do not think you will find a better one and better facilities in the UK. This really is a 5 star hotel offering 5 star comfort and service! will definitely be going again

Room Tip: We thought paying for an upgrade to a deluxe room gives you more space
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatthewDixon, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel London, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you for posting a glowing review of your stay at Corinthia Hotel London, your compliments and comparisons are very much appreciated, and it certainly sounds like you made the most of your visit. Our pre-bookable flexible check-in/check-out policy has proved very popular with our guests, especially those travelling at unsociable hours. All of our rooms come complete with many amenities, including a Nespresso coffee machine, daily newspapers, turn-down, ESPA Life toiletries and complimentary 1Gb broadband. We are really pleased that you managed to experience s many of the excellent facilities the hotel has to offer, the great value set menu in the seasonal best of British fare The Northall restaurant and the extensive buffet breakfast with a huge selection to appeal to everyone’s taste. ESPA Life is the next generation of spa facilities, offering four floors of marble luxury, housing seventeen treatment rooms with highly-trained therapists, a state-of-the-art gym open twenty-four hours to residents, separate male and female changing rooms with sleep pods, and a Thermal Floor with swimming and vitality pools, amphitheatre sauna and steam room. Most of all we thank you for your comments regarding our standards of service, all of the staff enjoy going the extra mile to exceed every guest’s expectations and we very much look forward to exceeding yours once again soon.

Kind Regards, Matthew Dixon, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

The Corinthia Hotel in London is so fabulous that now I want to go and try all Corinthia properties! I loved the attention to detail for comfort, noise control, and sleep quality. The rooms are very peaceful and calming. I had an interior courtyard standard room and it was lovely. Unfortunately, it had some maintenance problems that I think were unusual for the hotel so after numerous calls & complaints they moved me at 1:00am to a Junior Suite...also courtyard interior room. While the Junior Suite was even more beautiful and obviously larger both rooms were carefully detailed to provide excellent comfort. Blue LED lights instead of obnoxious red ones were much more calming. A TV screen that covered the TV when not in use. Mood lighting & music. Black out draperies. An extra door that separated the room from hallway noise was a nice added touch in the Junior Suite. Heated marble floors and towel warmers in the beautiful and well lit bathrooms were also very nice. The Corinthia Spa is incredible and probably the best and most beautiful I have ever seen...and I have seen many worldwide. They have a lovely tea in the lobby in the afternoons. I would definitely return to this hotel!

Room Tip: Get the best you can afford and you won't regret it but the standard room is very nice too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatthewDixon, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel London, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a delightful review of your stay at Corinthia Hotel London, especially for highlighting the meticulous attention to detail throughout the hotel that makes it stand out from the crowd. The Courtyard facing rooms are exceptionally quiet, and come with charming Juliet balconies and French windows, and the suites are exceptionally large with walk in wardrobes, separate seating area and large bedrooms, with beautiful marble bathrooms, We are really pleased you had the opportunity to experience ESPA Life at Corinthia spa, with four floors of marble luxury housing a state-of-the gym, separate men’s and ladies’ changing rooms, seventeen treatment rooms, and a stunning Thermal Floor with swimming and vitality pools, an amphitheatre sauna, and steam room. The Afternoon Tea taken under the Baccarat Full Moon chandelier is now a London landmark, and at the moment just as lovely taking alfresco in the adjacent Courtyard. We are very much looking forward to your return.

Kind Regards, Matthew Dixon, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Right now this is my favorite hotel in the world! I cannot say enough about this property. The rooms were beyond comfortable and chic. The bathroom was huge and filled with the wonderful ESPA amenities. After a long flight checking into the Corinthia was heaven. Room sheets were luxurious silky and soft. If we would have had the opportunity it would have been a room to sleep late and be lazy in. The common areas such as lobby and restaurants were chic and elegant. The bar was a classic and created hand mixed drinks with exotic artistry. Bar entertainment was an added bonus. I would recommend this bar even if I wasnt staying at the hotel. Staff paid attention to details and were helpful. If you have a choice and price is not a deterrent stay here because you will fall in love with this wonderful gem. Centrally located and is situated well for walking.

Room Tip: Try for a room with an outer balcony of city. Rooms with interior balcony's face courtyard and a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatthewDixon, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel London, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you for your charming review of your stay at Corinthia Hotel London, it certainly sounds like you had a very enjoyable experience. All of our rooms are larger than average for central London hotels, and are dressed with the best fixtures and fittings with meticulous attention to detail. The beds are dressed with Pratesi linens, and the fluffy towels and dressing gowns are supplied by Frette, the big under-floor heated marble bathrooms come complete with separate rain showers and baths with built in LCD-TVs, and ESPA Life toiletries. The hotel was designed by GA Design, who have cleverly combined the best of the traditional features with the modern design and impressive public areas. Bassoon bar serves the best bespoke cocktails in town with a team of bartenders passionate about their craft, and the ambience is enhanced by live music by an eclectic selection of bands from Monday to Saturday. The hotel is ideally located for both the business and leisure traveller, within walking distance of many of London’s iconic sights, adjacent to a central transport hub for easy access around the city, with over thirty West End theatres and opera houses within a mile radius, and great views of the River Thames and the Southbank. We are very sorry you had to leave, and we look forward to welcoming you once more to your favourite hotel.

Kind Regards, Matthew Dixon, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Corinthia Hotel London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corinthia Hotel London

Address: Whitehall Place, London SW1A 2BD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster / Belgravia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in London
#3 Business Hotel in London
#4 Romantic Hotel in London
#7 Family Hotel in London
#8 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Corinthia Hotel London 5*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
294 exceptionally designed and spacious bedrooms and suites, among the largest in London, offering outstanding views of the River Thames, London Eye and Trafalgar Square. A specialty seafood restaurant, a modern British restaurant, a destination bar and a world class Spa, ESPA Life at Corinthia. Corinthia Hotel London will offer guests a lavish retreat in timeless beauty in a historic yet vibrant location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Escapio, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Corinthia Hotel London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corinthia Hotel London England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Corinthia Hotel London, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.