We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the world's great hotels” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Corinthia Hotel London

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Corinthia Hotel London to your Saves list
Corinthia Hotel London
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Whitehall Place, London SW1A 2BD, England (Westminster)   |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Wonder
Ranked #14 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Miami Beach, FL
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“One of the world's great hotels”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The artistic decor is unique. The efficient, friendly staff is from dozens of countries so they speak Engish + other languages. Breakfast buffet is great. Afternoon tea is lavish. Equal to Peninsula, Mandarin, Four Seasons. Large rooms. Free Internet & Nespresso machine in room. Free shoeshine. Heated bathroom floor. TV on bathtub wall. Hermes toiletries. Bed reading light is bright. Easy-to-use light switches include "mood lighting." Free newspapers from several countries, including Wall St. J. & Intl Herald-Tribune. Many other superb features but this has a 200-word minimum.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatthewDixon, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel London, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you for your glowing review of your stay at Corinthia Hotel London, and for highlighting many of the best features of the hotel so succinctly. The extensive buffet breakfast in The Northall offers a wide and varied selection of hot and cold platters, whilst the Afternoon Tea with seasonal changes taken under the iconic Baccarat chandelier in The Lobby Lounge is delightful, All of our rooms are larger than average for central London hotels, and come with en-suite under-floor heated marble bathrooms with built in LCD-TV in the bath, ESPA toiletries, Frette dressing-gowns, and complimentary slippers. Complimentary 1GB Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel which is the fastest broadband speed of any London hotel. We are really pleased you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards, Matthew Dixon, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,511 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,308
    132
    40
    22
    9
See reviews for
227
604
62
328
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

I went today for afternoon tea and there was a delay in our sitting which they apologised for but then they took 30 minutes to serve us! There were 7 of us and the 4 little tables were separated so it did not feel intimate. There wasn't a Victoria sponge or Bakewell tart even though it was on the menu. All the flavours were subtle sometimes too subtle except for the rhubarb jelly which had so much alcohol that it made you balk. It was a shame because the pictures on their website made the cakes look so amazing but I was disappointed and won't be going back or recommending to anyone. My friends all agreed that it was not as good as the other places they have been to. Pity too because this is the first time I have been to afternoon tea and it was not as enjoyable as I had hoped

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatthewDixon, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel London, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your Afternoon Tea experience in The Lobby Lounge at Corinthia Hotel London, we welcome all feedback as an opportunity to learn and improve our training and service standards. We were disappointed to learn that on this occasion we failed to meet your expectations. Please rest assured that your comments have already been shared with our Director of Food and Beverage and management team alike. All of our cakes and pastries are made fresh on the day, and as such not everything on the menu is available on any one day. This is something which should have been communicated to you. We also change our Afternoon Tea menu seasonally, so that photographs on the website may not reflect the current selection. We would be most grateful if you would be so kind as to contact us directly as we would welcome any further insight into your experience in order to restore your faith in the hotel.

Kind Regards, Matthew Dixon, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

Everything worked out well on our long weekend escapade.... Breakfast is good and the quality of the food top. At the bar you find almost every drink you ask for. Rooms are spacious (for London) and clean, clean, clean. We really enjoyed our stay here and would seriously consider coming back to Corinthia if in London. Location is also great and the building it self beautiful.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatthewDixon, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel London, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you for posting your great review of your stay at Corinthia Hotel London, it sounds like you had a very enjoyable weekend. The extensive buffet in The Northall offers a wide range of choice from fruits, cereals and yoghurts, to cold platters and a full English breakfast. Bassoon offers the best bespoke cocktails with a unique menu and drinks blended to order. All of our bedrooms are larger than the average for central London hotels, and our Housekeeping team pride themselves on their craftsmanship of care with attention to cleanliness throughout the hotel. We very much look forward to welcoming you back soon, take a look at our weekend packages for the Summer and next time enjoy some of the other amazing facilities the hotel has to offer, especially our next generation ESPA Life spa.

Kind Regards, Matthew Dixon, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

Very well designed modern interior, very light, comfortable seats. Tasty selection of teas, sandwiches, scones and pastries. A good no rush service, offered takeaway box for the desserts we didn't finish. Just a minute away from Embankment. Worth the price.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatthewDixon, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel London, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you for posting your kind review of your Afternoon Tea in The Lobby Lounge at Corinthia Hotel London, we are really pleased you enjoyed your experience. Taking tea under the iconic thousand and one crystal Baccarat chandelier in The Lobby Lounge is fast becoming a destination hot-spot. The hotel is easy to get to, with Charing Cross rail and Embankment tube stations adjacent, making it an ideal meeting place. We very much look forward to welcoming you again soon, come and join us for our forthcoming specially created Chelsea Flower Show or Wimbledon Afternoon Tea.

Kind Regards, Matthew Dixon, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Needing to stay over for business & wanting to be close to my appointments chose this hotel.

As you would expect with a 5* hotel, the service is top notch, from the quick, effortless checking in, where the staff are very personable and welcoming, to the large spacious rooms (good for a London Hotel) and great location, this hotel is worth spending a little extra on, if you can. I found the bed very comfortable.

I found the bar very welcoming, and again service was fantastic, with almost any drink you want being available.

I did not use the restaurant, but from what i saw, you get the same excellent treatment there as much as the rest of the hotel.

I noticed a lot of 'touristy' guests at the hotel, but nothing to put me off my stay.

Speak with the staff, and tell them how you feel, or what you would like, and they will oblige with no fuss at all, (not all us Brits ask, just moan!), my requests were accommodated quickly and without issue.

Recommend a stay here, if you have the budget and would like something special - I will return.

Room Tip: Just ask for a room with a view, there are some great views from this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatthewDixon, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel London, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay at Corinthia Hotel London. The Corinthia London is ideal for the business traveller with complimentary Wi-Fi throughout the hotel, both public and private spaces, a dedicated Business Centre, and 1GB broadband connection, with spacious rooms with international connections and sockets, a flexible check-in/check-out and adjacent to a well-connected travel hub. We appreciate your compliments regarding the welcome you received from the team, and that you felt comfortable to give your feedback immediately, especially as our staff always enjoy exceeding our guest’s expectations. We very much look forward to welcoming you back on your return, when you can have the opportunity to experience many of the other facilities the hotel has to offer.

Kind Regards, Matthew Dixon, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

This truly is a very good hotel. London offers a variety of way too expensive, was to low service hotels in dodgy areas. When I was sent there I thought that I got really lucky this time. The hotel offers very friendly and helpful service.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatthewDixon, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel London, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you for posting a review of your stay at Corinthia Hotel London, and your comments regarding our service standards at the hotel. We are really pleased you enjoyed your visit and we very much look forward to welcoming you once again.

Kind Regards, Matthew Dixon, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crestline, California
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We stayed six amazing nights at the Corinthia. Generally,when traveling abroad we choose the Small Luxury Hotels group, but made a change this trip based on Corinthia online reviews. For the past 6 months I have worked with the Corinthia concierge team (including a very helpful Sebastian) to plan our trip to perfection. We arranged for private pick up from the airport and were driven in a spacious Jaguar XJL to the hotel. The ride was comfortable and eased our traveling exhaustion. Upon check in we were given a private tour of the hotel. We had requested a city view room, and were apologized to that the room did not have a clear view of the Thames but had been upgraded as best possible. It was all too incredible to believe! We had a large walk-in closet in our room, the first time ever. The room decor was modern and beautiful. I can truly say the online photos do not do the rooms justice. The staff was quick and attentive. In the entire stay, all attention to even the smallest of details was considered. The concierge continued to help with our itinerary and was very responsive to our needs. Of all the restaurants we dined at over the week, Massimo was our favorite (see separate review). The location of the hotel was ridiculously close to everything we wanted to see and do, just a couple blocks from Covent Garden and Trafalgar Square.

This was my third trip to London. Our stay at the Corinthia made the trip unparalleled and we will definitely return. We were made to feel like royalty, completely pampered throughout the time we were there. This stay has set a new standard for our future travels. I am forever spoiled and I could not imagine staying anywhere else in London.

Mpereau@hotmail.com

Room Tip: A city view room was our preference. Go for the deluxe room and ask for a walk in closet. Our room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatthewDixon, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel London, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a glowing review of your stay with us at Corinthia Hotel London, we really appreciate your kind feedback, and it certainly sounds like you had a most enjoyable experience. The Concierge team at the hotel do an exceptional job with an intimate knowledge of London and all the very best places to visit, your generous comments will be forwarded to the team. Our rooms are larger than average of any central London hotel, many with a walk-in wardrobe, and all complete with an en-suite marble under-floor heated bathroom with separate rain shower and built in LCD-TV in the bath. GA Design have incorporated modern design with meticulous attention to detail using only the best quality materials and artefacts to create welcoming and beautiful rooms, many with stunning city or courtyard views. We are very pleased you managed to enjoy many of the facilities the hotel has to offer, especially Massimo Restaurant & Oyster Bar, the modern Italian restaurant in a stunning setting. The hotel is ideally situated for the leisure traveller, within walking distance of many of London’s iconic sights, over thirty West End theatres and opera houses within a mile radius, and adjacent to a central transport hub; and of course we have out next generation ESPA Life spa to ease your aching muscles when you get back to the hotel after a hard day’s sightseeing. We can’t wait to welcome you back as a regular guest when we can once more exceed your expectations.

Kind Regards, Matthew Dixon, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Corinthia Hotel London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corinthia Hotel London

Address: Whitehall Place, London SW1A 2BD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in London
#5 Romantic Hotel in London
#9 Family Hotel in London
#13 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Corinthia Hotel London 5*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
294 exceptionally designed and spacious bedrooms and suites, among the largest in London, offering outstanding views of the River Thames, London Eye and Trafalgar Square. A specialty seafood restaurant, a modern British restaurant, a destination bar and a world class Spa, ESPA Life at Corinthia. Corinthia Hotel London will offer guests a lavish retreat in timeless beauty in a historic yet vibrant location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com, LondonMarketing.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Corinthia Hotel London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corinthia Hotel London England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Corinthia Hotel London, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.