We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Corinthia Hotel London

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Corinthia Hotel London to your Saves list
Corinthia Hotel London
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Whitehall Place, London SW1A 2BD, England (Westminster)   |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Wonder
Ranked #14 of 1,049 Hotels in London
London
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

This hotel was stunning and perfect from the second we entered. We were visiting for our anniversary. Every single member of staff were friendly, helpful and professional. We had let them know it was an important anniversary and everyone we encountered knew. We had a room upgrade, extended time on our massage and a welcome cake. Even with that aside, this hotel is absolutely stunning. The decor is fantastic, with thought having gone into every part of it. Rooms were luxurious and large. I cannot praise it enough, it is the most beautiful, best service, wonderful spa and brilliant food. we took afternoon tea which was gorgeous. We had massages which were bliss and we ate in massimo which was delicious. I am going to be heading here on a regular basis.

Room Tip: A junior suite for a treat are wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatthewDixon, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel London, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review of your stay at Corinthia Hotel London. We are really pleased we were able to exceed your expectations and make your special anniversary a memorable occasion. The hotel was designed by GA Design, who have married best traditions of grand hotels with modern design features and produced a central London hotel which creates a breath-taking first impression that meets the demands of the twenty-first century traveller. We are really pleased that you managed to enjoy many of the excellent facilities that the hotel has to offer, including the most beautiful ESPA Life spa with four marble floors of a gym, Thermal Floor and seventeen treatment rooms, as well as dining in Massimo Restaurant & Oyster Bar, our modern Italian restaurant, and celebrating your anniversary with our Afternoon Tea in The Lobby Lounge under the magnificent Full Moon chandelier. We look forward to welcoming you again soon, perhaps this time to experience The Northall best of British seasonal food menu or beautiful bespoke cocktails in Bassoon bar.

Kind Regards, Matthew Dixon, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,511 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,308
    132
    40
    22
    9
See reviews for
227
604
62
328
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

This was my third weekend stay and was absolutely fantastic. We stayed from Easter Sunday to Easter Monday this time on a "Stay Sunday, Spa Monday" rate which was great value. Check in was a breeze, and we were quickly taken to our beautiful room on the 4th floor. The room was spotlessly clean with everything in working order. I don't know what it is about this hotel but you kind of feel like you're the only guests there! During all my visits I have very rarely met any other guests either in the lobby or hallways, and once you are in your room you never hear nearby doors slamming or other noise, it really is a haven of tranquility. I think some of this may be because of the 24 hour check in/out policy. It prevents there being hordes of people waiting in the lobby at set times.

We went out to explore London and on our return there was a bottle of wine and Lindt easter bunny waiting for us along with a handwritten welcome back note which is always a nice touch. I used the thermal floor which is very relaxing and then we had dinner at The Northall which was delicious as always with superior service.

We had emailed in advance asking for a DVD player in the room and this was present on check in, and requests for extra pillows etc from housekeeping were handled speedily.

On Easter Monday we had a late breakfast and service was vastly improved from our previous two experiences. The ladies working the breakfast shift were all very polite, attentive and willing to help and this was great to see. We later checked in at the spa for our treatments. Unfortunately overnight it seemed that the swimming pool was not in service which was disappointing, but these things happen, not the fault of the staff who seemed to be getting a bit of a hard time from some guests. The personalised massage I received was excellent as were the other spa facilities.

When it came time to check out (and thus return to reality and work the next day) I was devastated! Despite this hotel being in central London and within arms length of most touring/shopping sites you truly do feel as though you are cocooned from the hustle and bustle and can truly relax.

I've stayed at a lot of five star hotels in London, including The Langham, The Atheneaeum and The Savoy, but this hotel is top of the list in my opinion. Everything comes together, including beautiful rooms, top notch service and amenities, excellent location and a lovely lobby and spa area, If you can afford it, there is genuinely no better hotel in London at the moment. If you book, you will not be disappointed. I have already booked another stay in August and am counting down the days!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatthewDixon, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel London, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your detailed review of your weekend stay at Corinthia Hotel London, we are always appreciative of great feedback from our return guests. The hotel is indeed a haven of peace and tranquillity, and has been awarded a Quiet-Mark standard, and although it is in central London we are away from the noise and bustle. The bookable in advance flexible check-in/check-out policy means that guests can arrive and leave throughout the day and does stop any bottle necks at reception so that we can give all our guests that personal attention. The housekeeping team are exceptional in meeting guest requirements, and will always go the extra mile to accommodate special requests, and delight guests by special touches, especially at turn-down. We are really pleased that you were able to enjoy the stunning facilities offered by our ESPA Life spa, and experience a personalised massage in one of our seventeen specially designed treatment rooms. We were sorry to note that on the day of your visit the swimming pool was out of order, this is a very rare occurrence and was due to circumstances beyond our control, the issue was addressed immediately and the pool was re-opened at the earliest opportunity. We very much look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kind Regards, Matthew Dixon, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Doormen greetings: Fantastic. Could not ask for more.

Receptionist: Poor command of English, took at least 20 minutes to check in. Huge let down.

Amenities: aplenty.

Room: Spacious for London. Quite comfortable. Nice bed linen. Nespresso.

Bathroom: Heated floor, super water pressure, filtered clean water. Simply the best.

Room service food: Fast delivery, good quality. Very impressive.

Right now my favourite is Savoy just because I prefer classic interior design. However,
Corinthia is equally my favourite in London for all points stated above. Still, there is a
theething problems but minor issues.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatthewDixon, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel London, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for posting your review and constructive feedback of your stay with us at Corinthia Hotel London. Your succinct points have highlighted many of the great aspects of the hotel, especially the warm welcome and greeting you received from our fantastic doormen. We have noted your feedback regarding reception and please do rest assured we are addressing the issue with the Front of House management team accordingly. There are indeed a number of amenities including business meeting rooms, two international restaurants, a beautiful bar, stunning Lobby Lounge for Afternoon Tea and a destination ESPA Life spa. Our beautifully designed marble bathrooms come complete with underfloor heating, a huge bath-tub with built in TV, a separate rain shower and complimentary ESPA Life toiletries. The Room Service Menu is specially designed for in-room dining, incorporating the best of dishes from The Northall and Massimo restaurants as well as some unique ones too. We look forward to welcoming you again soon when once again you can enjoy the many facilities the Corinthia Hotel London has to offer.

Kind Regards, Matthew Dixon, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london , england
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

This is a fabulous hotel in a great location minutes from Big Ben, Trafalger Square, South Bank, Buckingham Palace, Leicester Square, Covent garden..........
The hotel itself is plush and elegant and fortunately lacks the 'chintzy' and some what 'stuffy' feel that some of Londons 5 star properties exude.

We were allocated a junior suite, which was modern, opulent and of good size, with a huge walk in wardrobe.
Bedroom and bathroom amenties were excellent and attention to detail fantastic, with all the nice little touches that you expect to find in a hotel of this standard and more.
The room itself overlooked the triangular inner courtyard of the building which may not have been to everyone's taste due to the limited view, but this has the added benefit on no road noise, in fact it was so quiet you forgot you were in the heart of the City.
I found the bed/ pillows extremely comfortable although the feather duvet was too warm even with the A/C on low.

The pool/spa area although small is amazing, it's a dark almost subterranean world and unusually is probably just as inviting for both men and women due to its interesting features.
The area itself is kept extremely clean and well tended and has set hours for children which is a real plus if you just want to relax.

Dinner in the Northall bar was good.

The drinks service in the Bassoon bar was a little slow but it had a good range of bar snacks, however it lacked atmosphere and had several young children present when we entered at 10pm.

We opted for the buffet breakfast which has a good range and some hot dishes, although a la carte is available if you prefer. Unfortunately we were not offered any toast, but only a minor point.

The hotel shop and florist is a nice touch with reasonably priced Harrods gifts.

Service in the hotel was efficient and friendly and we would definately recommend this hotel, and hope to return in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatthewDixon, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel London, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post such a thoughtful review of your stay at Corinthia Hotel London, we are really pleased you enjoyed your stay and had the opportunity to sample many of the excellent facilities the hotel has to offer. The hotel is ideally located in central London, adjacent to Trafalgar Square and within walking distance of many of London’s iconic sights, theatres, opera houses and a transport hub of rail, tube and buses. All of our rooms are amongst the largest of any central London hotel, with the junior suites offering a huge space, with the option of an internal quiet courtyard room or an external room with a view. All of our rooms have been designed to the highest specification and come complete with Pratesi linen, Frette towels, ESPA Life toiletries, and huge marble underfloor heated bathrooms with separate rain shower and LCD-TV bath tub as standard. ESPA Life spa is stunning, with four floors of marble housing a state-of-the-art gym, seventeen treatment rooms, a swimming pool, a vitality massage pool, amphitheatre sauna and steam room, as well as his n hers changing rooms with sleep pods. The Northall bar offers a best-of selected menu from the main restaurant served in an informal relaxed atmosphere, and then serves a fabulous extensive buffet breakfast menu daily. We feel very privileged to host the only in-hotel Harrods shop in the world, and the delightful florist, who oversees all the amazing displays in the hotel can also make up bouquets for residents and external clients as well. We pride ourselves on the service level, and always exceeding our guest’s expectations, and we look forward to exceed your once again very soon.

Kind Regards, Matthew Dixon, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

OK, it's not cheap and the rooms aren't huge. But this is the centre of London and a five star hotel! They are the only negatives, everything else about this place is just simply off the clock.
The service is excellent, nothing is too much trouble for any of the staff and the location is unbeatable. The tube is over the road, so is the river and so is trafalgar Square.
And as for the spa, I think that's probably the best I've ever seen.
Push the boat out and stay at the Corinthia, you won't regret it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatthewDixon, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel London, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for your great review of your stay at Corinthia Hotel London, and your fabulous recommendation. The location of the hotel is ideal both for the business and leisure traveller. The adjacent central transport hub of Charing Cross railway and Embankment tube stations enables all our visitors to access The City of London and the best of London’s tourist attractions very easily. We are within walking distance of many of London’s iconic sights, including Trafalgar Square, Whitehall, The Houses of Parliament, Westminster Abbey, and the Southbank, as well as near to over thirty West End theatres and opera houses. We are surprised you were disappointed with the size of our room as even our smallest room is larger than the average industry standard for a central London hotel. We are most appreciative of your comments regarding our exceptional levels of service and staff, especially as we pride ourselves with always going the extra mile and exceeding our guest’s expectations, and we hope to welcome you back soon, when we may once again exceed yours.

Kind Regards, Matthew Dixon, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for four nights on a family vacation and we loved the hotel. The rooms were large by london standards. The health club and spa were unbelieavably nice. The spa includes a steam room, sauna, large whirl pool and a small pool. Each day after sighteeing we would go to the spa and then go out for dinner. Our teenagers loved the spa. The staffs is very friendly, helpful and accommodating. This is a wonderful hotel and deserve top marks. Is in a great location - close to all the sites you will want to visit and close to the Embarkment tube station. We highly recommend staying at this hotel. You will be treated vey well and will enjoy your time there. My children did not want to leave.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatthewDixon, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel London, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for your kind review of your stay at Corinthia Hotel London, it certainly sounds like you and your family enjoyed your visit to London, and were able to take advantage of many of the facilities the hotel has to offer. We especially welcome families to the hotel, as it is ideally situated for sight-seeing many of London’s iconic attractions, close to the West End and over thirty theatres and opera houses, and adjacent to Embankment tube and Charing Cross railway stations. ESPA Life spa houses a swimming and vitality pool, amphitheatre sauna and steam room, and relaxing heated marble loungers as well as a state-of-the-art gym and seventeen treatment rooms. It was a pleasure to host you, and we look forward to welcoming you and your family in the very near future.

Kind Regards, Matthew Dixon, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Our London trip was very intense as we have many family and friends visits in London. We chose Corinthia Hotel to have a short stay in town. It is a very beautiful hotel indeed. I was impressed with the bathroom especially, the warm marble floor is a very nice touch for the cold winter days in London. Overall, our stay there was pleasant and the little box of chocolate in the room is sweet thought. However, the room service placed a note in our room addressing to another couple. It is a bit of let down when you think the hotel has place a sweet note for our staying there, but turn out to be another couple. To be honest, it appeared as the hotel didn't really "welcome" our stay. Also, the room service did not apologize to us when he came to pick up the "wrong note".

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatthewDixon, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel London, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your stay at Corinthia Hotel London and your kind comments. The hotel combines the best of the original features of a Grand Hotel with contemporary modern design. All of our marble bathrooms come with underfloor heating, huge bath tubs with LCD-TV, separate rain showers, and complimentary ESPA toiletries. We sincerely apologise for the mix-up of the welcome note, we value all of our guests equally, and I want to thank you personally for choosing to stay with us, and I look forward to welcoming you once again, when we may have the opportunity to rectify the mistake.

Kind Regards, Matthew Dixon, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Corinthia Hotel London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corinthia Hotel London

Address: Whitehall Place, London SW1A 2BD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in London
#5 Romantic Hotel in London
#9 Family Hotel in London
#13 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Corinthia Hotel London 5*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
294 exceptionally designed and spacious bedrooms and suites, among the largest in London, offering outstanding views of the River Thames, London Eye and Trafalgar Square. A specialty seafood restaurant, a modern British restaurant, a destination bar and a world class Spa, ESPA Life at Corinthia. Corinthia Hotel London will offer guests a lavish retreat in timeless beauty in a historic yet vibrant location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com, LondonMarketing.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Corinthia Hotel London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corinthia Hotel London England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Corinthia Hotel London, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.