We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute Luxury” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Corinthia Hotel London

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 18 more sites!
Save
You added Corinthia Hotel London to your Saves list
Corinthia Hotel London
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Whitehall Place, London SW1A 2BD, England (Westminster / Belgravia)   |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Wonder
Ranked #10 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Coxwold, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Absolute Luxury”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

This hotel is ace, every single inch of the place is stunning. The ceiling in one of the hotel bars has a fantastic amount of gold leaf, each small square roughly 100mm x 100mm will have been carefully put in place by hand using a smallish brush, take a long look when you visit it is truly amazing. Definitely take the time to admire the sheer amount of quality workmanship and fabulous design in the hotel public areas it a real treat to anyone who appreciates style and craftsmanship.

We ate in the restaurant on New Years Day and the food, service and wine were nothing short of excellent, the friendly staff made our stay even better if it could be better. The breakfast is again the best money can buy with just about anything you could ever want to get you going on a morning and much much more.

I used the gym and that is a real cool place to be with loads of great equipment, note to the hotel better water facilities would definitely be appreciated but still I am not complaining because every other part is unbeatable.

This is our second stay at new year as the hotel is ideally placed to watch the fireworks on the embankment then wander back in to the excellent cocktail area and listen to the pianist who again is a great guy and very talented. Thank you for playing our choice of songs on new years day night but next year it has to be wham and last christmas ha ha.

The hotel is not cheap but if like us you work hard or just have bags of cash this is without doubt the place to be at any time of the year.

Thank you to all the staff including the concierge who minded our car while we checked in the porter who delivered our bags to the room, the reception staff to who nothing was too much trouble for and the pianist who made our last night one to remember and every other member of staff because the room was always spotless and everyone was friendly. Great way to start the new year. Now I just have to save up to come back

Room Tip: I parked my own car for £36 a night, half the price of the hotel and only a five min walk away
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatthewDixon, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel London, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you for your delightful review of Corinthia Hotel London, we are really charmed by your response and feedback. We agree with you, the hotel really is very special, and you have pointed out the attention to detail at every level and outlet which is very much appreciated. The hotel was designed to the highest specification by GA Design, who have incorporated the best quality materials in every aspect of the building, which includes commissioning new works of art to compliment the public areas. Your stay with us was at a very magical time of year, when you could enjoy the benefits of the proximity to the spectacular fireworks display from The Thames, a few minutes’ walk away and many of our rooms overlook the South Bank. Bassoon bar serves exceptional cocktail and has a different musician every evening from 9pm until the small hours. We can’t wait to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards
Matthew Dixon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,154
    112
    39
    20
    7
See reviews for
205
532
53
283
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Quebec
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

I stayed here with my mother as a girl's trip we took at the end of September 2012 for 4 days and it was absolutely amazing! The hotel staff, to the rooms, to the Concierge... they never failed to make sure we were happy with out stay! We once were waiting a while for a taxi to come around the hotel, and after some time the man at the door ran down the street to hail one for us and brought the taxi to the hotel. Such service was unexpected and definitely exceeded our expectations. I highly highly recommend this hotel! I cannot think of one bad thing!
I tried out their spa, had a massage and used their spa facilities - all great! The room we were in was the Executive Room which was very large and clean! I loved the walk in closet! The bed was very very comfortable. The bathrooms were also a nice size. The nespresso machine in the room was an added plus! I loved the location and felt it was nice to be a bit outside all the commotion, yet so close to so many things!
I cannot wait to stay here again! I'll be back in 2 weeks :)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatthewDixon, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel London, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thank you for posting such a generous and kind review of Corinthia Hotel London, we are especially pleased about your comments regarding our personnel team as we pride ourselves most on our philosophy of Craftsmanship of Care and always exceeding our guest’s expectations. We appreciate that you have highlighted all the special aspects of the hotel, including our amazing ESPA Life spa and gym, our extra large rooms as standard, fabulous walk-in closets, spacious bathrooms and Nespresso machines in every room. The hotel is an oasis situated in a quiet corner of Whitehall, yet adjacent to a central transport hub and within walking distances of many of London’s major attractions and cultural activities. We cannot wait to welcome you again next week, and perhaps this time you could enjoy our wonderful restaurants, classic British food in The Northall, or modern Italian in Massimo Restaurant & Oyster Bar.

Kind Regards, Matthew Dixon, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights and found the hotel very comfortable. The beds are super, the little hall and night lights at the floor are great. The space in the walk-in wardrobe was o.k. but the possibility of hanging coats, trousers, etc. was limited. We wonder where people stash their wardrobe when on a longer stay. The room itself was nicely furnished though a little plain. Checking in was fast and efficient with a personal guide explaining all details of the hotel cum room. Unfortunately, we never received a newspaper which was part of the offer in our booking. Also I would recommend great care when booking through the internet on the hotel's website. Certain rates mean an immediate charge of the total costs and are not changeable nor can they be cancelled. Breakfast was good but not extraordinary at a price of 30 Pound Sterling p.p. And extra eggs when ordered separately are added to the bill! The perfectly working shower is something extraordinary for London hotels. We usually encountered great problems in most hotels in England.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatthewDixon, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel London, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for posting your review of Corinthia Hotel London and your constructive comments. All of our rooms are of a different configuration and longer stay clients may be allocated a room with a larger sized wardrobe. The design of the hotel combines both the grandeur of original exterior with modern internal décor and fittings . Our bathrooms are really luxurious and all come with under-floor heating, separate bath and rain shower and built in TV as standard, as well as being amongst the largest of most London hotels. We look forward to welcoming you once again in the near future.

Kind Regards, Matthew Dixon, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

The Corinthia is easily one of the finest hotels I have stayed at.

We booked onto a rate via the hotel's own website which included breakfast, champagne on arrival and massages in the day spa as a weekend treat. It wasn't the cheapest rate but was great value for money overall.

The rooms are modern yet have a classic elegance, the staff are curteous and helpful without being overbearing and the day spa is already renown for being one of the best/most exclusive in London.

The breakfast is also first-rate and, being centrally located by Whitehall, is popular with business people as well.

I have no reservations about recommending Corinthia - we had an amazing stay.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatthewDixon, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel London, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you for submitting your glowing review of Corinthia Hotel London, we really appreciate such positive feedback. It sounds like you had the wonderful opportunity to enjoy all our facilities including our online booking system, which is very easy to navigate. Your special weekend package of champagne and use of the ESPA Life spa and gym plus treatments is just one of our fabulous deals. Your kind comments will be shared with the team as we particularly pride ourselves on attention to detail and service. Breakfast in The Northall is becoming the most popular meal of the day, and we also welcome external guests. We are genuinely pleased you enjoyed your time with us and hope to be able to extend that warm welcome once again.

Kind Regards, Matthew Dixon, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Perfect location, lovely lobby, surroundings, comfy room, very good service. Afternoon tea was lovely
Gym well equipped, nice restaurants. Complementary water and snacks in room every night. Stopped out of the hotel on NYE night to a magnificent view of the fireworks at the London eye!! Magical!!
Certainly worth every dime
Looking forward to staying there again

Room Tip: Request for rooms with a view of the London eye and River Thames, especially if there for NYE firewo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatthewDixon, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel London, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you for your charming review of Corinthia Hotel London, it sounds like you had a really enjoyable stay with us. The location of the hotel is ideal for sight-seeing and cultural activities as well as being adjacent to a great transport hub. Our Afternoon Tea is fast becoming a London must-do activity and is proving to be very popular. We are really pleased you were able to enjoy so many of the facilities the hotel has to offer, especially our wonderful ESPA Life spa and gym. We wish you a very Happy New Year and hope we get the opportunity to see you again in 2013.

Kind Regards, Matthew Dixon, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We have been staying at the Corinthia a few times, probably 4 or 5 in the past year. Our impressions are mixed. Large rooms and comfortable beds plus 24 hours check-in policy are the main reason why we return. However, we don’t feel welcome at this hotel. I won’t go into details of our prior stays, which on some occasions involved complains and, to be honest, in most cases adequate mitigating measures by the hotel’s management. I would like to share some impressions about our most recent (and current) stay: 1. We arrived at around 6.30am. Although our luggage (quite a few suitcases) was handled flawlessly, reception was confused about our reservations (we have another one for next week) and we were not offered to be escorted to the room; we saw in the afternoon the hotel’s staff escorting other guests, which made us feel like second-class. 2. Our main phones were not working when we arrived and despite numerous efforts and pointless visits from “specialists” (who basically unplugged the phones and plugged them in again – the same thing I did myself in the first place) are still not functioning, some 14 hours since we arrived, so we have to go to the toilet (the only place where the phone works) to order room service and make/receive other calls – not a normal thing. 3. AC unit was not working properly – at a minimum +18C (64.5F) blowing warm air; after we complained about it another “specialist” came to basically identify that it was blowing air at +25C (77F) and adjust the settings to allow the unit to be set at +15C the lowest instead, which helped somewhat, but hasn’t turned things around (if a bit cooler, the air is still stuffy) – we go to bed opening the window a bit to let some fresh air in. 4. Not a critical mass, but we had robes, towels and slippers for two people, while the reservation clearly states “4 adults” and they knew our estimated arrival time. This happened to us before, and in other hotels also, but I think on at least few occasions the Corinthia did it right, so it’s definitely a deviation from past good practice.
These are all trivial details of our current experience. The main thing is that I went to the reception in person to talk about our main problems with the manager on duty Julian, who as I understood was planning to come to our room to discuss the situation – instead he opted to call making me to go to the toilet (as that is the only place where the phone works) to tell me that the phone is an “external” problem and would be fixed eventually and that they “blow all available cold air into our room”. It was quite surreal to stare at the toilet bowl and hear some meaningless explanations of why things don’t work. To that I could only say “thank you” and write this review.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatthewDixon, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel London, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review of Corinthia Hotel London during your stay with us. We were most concerned to learn of the issues your encountered regarding the confusion with your booking, escort to your room and technical difficulties with the telephone and air conditioning unit. Such feedback is critical to us and we are most thankful to you as it allows us to continually strive for service excellence. I understand the concerning issues were addressed during your stay with our senior manager who met with you on departure do further discuss the problems encountered and hopefully restore your faith in the hotel. We do of course remain at your disposal should you require any assistance.
We most certainly do hope you have had a most enjoyable stay with us on your subsequent visit and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards, Matthew Dixon, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Lucky enough to experience the luxury, service and opulence of this wonderful very new hotel. The rooms are extremely comfortable with every amenity and the bathrooms are absolute luxury with Espa products as standard. The thermal pools are not to be missed and are an absolute treat. Made to feel extremely welcome and like nothing was too much trouble. The late check out was an absolute godsend after a late night out in London. Will definitely be back at some point in the hopefully not too distant future.

Room Tip: Don't think there are any "bad" rooms here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatthewDixon, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel London, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you for posting your kind review of Corinthia Hotel London, we are really pleased you were able to experience and enjoy many of our excellent facilities. The hotel was designed by GA Designs incorporating both modern features with superb luxury to meet the needs of the twenty first century traveller. Our rooms as standard are some of the largest of the major London hotels, and all our bathrooms as standard come with a separate rain shower and full bath suites with underfloor heating and complimentary ESPA Life toiletries. We have hand-picked our team not just for their skills but their customer service standards so that we always exceed our guest’s expectations, your comments will be forwarded to them. The bookable late checkout is a brilliant extra and extremely useful after a long night out. We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards, Matthew Dixon, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Corinthia Hotel London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corinthia Hotel London

Address: Whitehall Place, London SW1A 2BD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster / Belgravia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in London
#4 Spa Hotel in London
#4 Romantic Hotel in London
#7 Family Hotel in London
#10 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Corinthia Hotel London 5*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
294 exceptionally designed and spacious bedrooms and suites, among the largest in London, offering outstanding views of the River Thames, London Eye and Trafalgar Square. A specialty seafood restaurant, a modern British restaurant, a destination bar and a world class Spa, ESPA Life at Corinthia. Corinthia Hotel London will offer guests a lavish retreat in timeless beauty in a historic yet vibrant location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, LondonMarketing.com, Orbitz, Venere, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Agoda, Amex, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Escapio, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Corinthia Hotel London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corinthia Hotel London England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Corinthia Hotel London, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.