We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Fantastic.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Terry's Cafe

Terry's Cafe
158 Great Suffolk Street, London SE1 1PE, England
02074079358
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #73 of 17,150 Restaurants in London
Price range: $7 - $15
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Description: At Terry's we pride our self on only using quality locally sourced produce. The ethos at Terry's is to provide good honest food in an inviting friendly manor. Our meats come from smithfield meat market (where Terry used to work prior to the cafe) and our fresh produce comes from the famous Borough market. More recently in 2011 we introduced our coffee machine to the forecourt of our shop We enjoy a good relationship with Monmouth coffee co who have supplied us from the outset. We bake our own fresh pastries on the premises daily. Lunch time you can enjoy one of our home cooked daily specials from £8.00, such as "Toad in the hole ", sausage & herb pie, Traditional Roast dinners or Fish and chips, all cooked the premises and cooked to our own families recipes. Home cooking at its best! If your looking for a michelin star rated restaurant your in the wrong place, if its a Traditional English cafe, serving unpretentious good valued food and service look no further.
durham
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Absolutely Fantastic.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

First visited Terrys after seeing reviews on Trip advisor.I was not disappointed.This is a fantastic little cafe serving really delicious food.Have visited on 3 occasions and had the works for breakfast each time.These were the best breakfasts that I have had.They were really huge and the quality of the food was superb.They really set you up for the rest of the day.The staff are really friendly and the atmosphere is great, with trad jazz playing in the background, and a great mixture of customers.If anyone is staying in the London Bridge or South Bank area, give your hotel breakfast a miss,and go to Terrys,and enjoy really superb food.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

94% Recommend
    88
    11
    2
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Amazing breakfast - best hangover cure ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

My husband and I went here for breakfast on Saturday morning. We ordered 2 'Blowouts'. What can I say?!! I had a queasy tummy from the night before but, after a few mouthfuls of Terry's lovely 'bubble & squeak' I was right as rain! The breakfast here is legendary and it is so good I will visit every single time I am in London. The food is fresh, tasty and if it's a nice day, you can sit outside. The staff are very attentive and genuine. The best London café ever!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Just like mum cooked, but much much better,”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Its a regular thing when were at the training centre that a group of us try and get into Terry's cafe before the rush. Although we might only go two or three times in as many months were treated like regulars, theres always a bit of banter which was tradition back in the day, and carried on with Austin. He runs a tight ship in there and has a total grip during the busy times actually quite a feat to witness. So im in there with a group of six of us first time for a few weeks and after a no nonsence dinner inside me im up to pay, Austin only goes and thanks me by name, my mates use my nickname but that showed so much about the man i had to write it somewhere. oh, i had the most outrageously good steak and stilton pie with all the trimmings. And a slab of bread pudding to slip into my bag for later.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great way to start the day!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Went to Terry's Cafe on Saturday morning having read lots of good things. Really enjoyed the experience, the food was excellent and the cafe had a really nice atmosphere to it. Cup of coffee for 60p as well!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
“A true London gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

Read the reviews on here and as we're staying just a short walk from Terry's it was obvious to go.

I've been visiting London multiple times and I have to state it is THE best English breakfast I've ever had.

The owner, the staff and other customers were extremely friendly making you feel very welcome indeed.

It is definately a place to visit again and again.

Thumbs up!!!!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Terry's Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Terry's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Terry's Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.