We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sleeping in the starnd” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Strand Continental

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Strand Continental to your Saves list
Hotel Strand Continental
1.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   143 Strand, London WC2R 1JA, England (Charing Cross / Trafalgar Square)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #328 of 535 London B&B and Inns
Genoa, Italy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Sleeping in the starnd”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Strand Continental is such a lovely and confy place to stay in london.In the heart of the city. It's 10 minutes from, coven garden and trafalgar sq, The hotel is quite and clean, staff is friendly and helpfull at all time. I travelled on my own and I felt very very safe form the start. Breakfast is rather sample, and the indian restaurant is really nothing special. But food in london is not an issue, I will cenrtainly make a return.

Room Tip: Considering is located in the hart of london with all sorts of sounds going on I certainly adviced t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    34
    52
    22
    33
See reviews for
20
19
33
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

Pros are: the excellent position just a few minutes away from Leicester Square, Piccadilly Circus, Trafalgar Square; the rooms are warm.
Cons are: the doors slam all the time, night and day - you can be careful when closing them but they slam anyway because they are are wooden and too heavy; poor quality breakfast (toasted bread, hot/cold beverages, butter, jam, milk - yogurt and cheese had no flavour at all).
There are 2 bathrooms and 2 toilets in common with other rooms - in one of the toilets somebody had urinated all over the floor and nobody came to clean that for 24 hours (on the other hand, there was no toilet paper in the other toilet).
Please do not forget flip-flops for the showers.
In this like in other places where I have been, I am always surprised on how things could be improved with just good will and very little money: for ex. adding a small hook in toilets and in the room next to the washbasin would not bankrupt the hotel owner but would make things more comfortable for the customers.
Altogether, I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
166 helpful votes 166 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

the accomodation is very basic, but the location is excellent on the Strand and great for the theatre or anywhere else in central London ... Charing Cross and Holborn are near.
However, the best thing about this hotel, except for its location, is the India Club curry house upstairs (where the hotel's breakfast is normally served).
Although the restaurant looks a bit neglected to say the least, the curries aren't half bad for the West End, nor are the prices. And the shabbiness does have a hard worn, colonial charm all of its own.
The restaurant and bar are open every day. If you're on a budget, I think they allow BYO alcohol in the restaurant, as long as you order food.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenage, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Do not be fooled by the photo!! The hotel entrance is a small door way between shops and leads up stairs to a reception area.

The room stank of stale cigarettes, the shared toilets were unclean, the whole place was very unpleasant. We returned to reception 5 minutes after checking in and handed back the key - the receptionist was very rude and would also not issue a refund. We left immediatley, £75 out of pocket....Avoid at all cost.

I would not recommend this sub-standard hostel to anyone.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gravesend, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

After reading horrific reviews about this hotel I was anixous to say the least. Desprate for a affordable hotel in central london, this seemed the only option. On arrival the steps are bad indeed. Also, this hotel is more of a hostel- below basic. Our room though was ideal, small but comfortable. Two toilets, a shower and a bathroom per floor was more then enough - never once met anyone else on the way to the loo. Best of all this place is clean- the rooms spotless. To save money to booked a dorm over a family room but found that this includes nothing- literally not towels or even a kettle. After a bit of haggling i got my mum a kettle and cups (£10 deposit of course) but refused to pay £2 per towel (we used a spare bedsheet, worked very well!). Give the indian resturant a miss - though cheap its sad, small, grubby and looks derelict. Such rude staff too!! To sum up, not a terrible place nor a good one - simply average. The location though is incrediable - so close to Convent garden, st. james park and a local supermarket plus train and tubes. As we didnt spend much time in our rooms it was ideal.

Room Tip: higher floors destipe the stairs offer a lovely view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

The hostel is conveniently located on the strand in the theatre district with plenty to see and do nearby. However, it is incredibly difficult to find. You need to look out for a small sign that also says Indian restaurant on it. Also frustrating that there are no lifts in the building, especially as the rooms are on level 3 upwards and we were on level 6. Room was clean and bathrooms tidy.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

Basically a hostel rather than hotel. Very basic rooms, adequate for our one night stay. Shared facilities not in the best state of repairs. Poor continental breakfast of cereal toast and drinks. For price fairly reasonable for location.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Strand Continental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Strand Continental

Address: 143 Strand, London WC2R 1JA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Charing Cross / Trafalgar Square
Hotel Style:
Ranked #328 of 535 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Strand Continental 1*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fantastically located on the famous Strand in London. With the River Thames behind you and the lively West End in front of you, you will have an easy time finding everything you came to London for! Not only is this little gem well located it is also steeped in history and well facilitated. Facilities include a 1940's styled bar and restaurant, free wi-fi, free continental breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Strand Continental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Strand Continental London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Strand Continental, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.