We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, cheap price - Yes!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Strand Continental

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Strand Continental to your Saves list
Hotel Strand Continental
1.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   143 Strand, London WC2R 1JA, England (Charing Cross / Trafalgar Square)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #317 of 530 London B&B and Inns
Reykjavik
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great location, cheap price - Yes!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2011

I went to London with a group of 28 students (age 17-22) and I needed an accomodation near Covent Garden but with cheap price. I found Hotel Strand Contintenal and it provided exactly that. Also the staff was very helpful with everything.
The beds were clean and on each floor there is a shower and wc. The lounge room on first floor we could use free wi-fi and have our group meetings. This fantastic location made it possible for us to skip using the tube, we walked everywhere. We will definitely stay there again next year.
But...for family people or people looking for high cleanliness and rooms with space maybe this is not the first choice. Also there are a lot of stairs so if you have bad feets then at least make sure you have a room on the lowest floor.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    30
    48
    19
    27
See reviews for
17
16
26
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Telford, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

Stayed for a total of 3 hours. Ordered a family room. No tv or toilets in room. Not even a shower so made to feel dirty like the hotel. Strong smell of cat pee and the carpets filthy. Chips in the mugs I really would not recommend this HOSTEL. A common indian restaurant open to the public whilst you are there. No lifts, seedy cheap and overall a complete waste of money

Room Tip: Don't stay here in unclean living conditions
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2011

I needed a cheap one night accommodation in Central London. I did not require much more than a bed to get a little bit of sleep and a bathroom to wash my face. I found the Strand Continental as it had the most convenient location in the very centre of London. After reading the awful reviews I searched some other hostels but they had equally horrible reviews. I then decided that I would go for it and have the most horrible hostel experience in my life so that I can stay away from hostels from then on. I even chose a three-bed dorm.

To my suprise, it was not as bad. I got a good night sleep, did not get robbed by flatmates and the toilets and washbasins were not revolting.

Although £25 appears to me as a slightly higher price than what I would pay for this, it is probably understandable given the location.

So my experince showed me that it is okay to stay in cheap hostels as long as you have reasonable expectations. That is a bed and usable bathroom. I realize that much of one's experience depends on what people you share a room with. I was lucky to share a room with two fine young people. But then I believe you must get really unlucky to share a room with a person that acts unapropriately as most of the hostel-travellers are just humble students.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2011

The room I stayed in was filthy. The linen was used and it smelt revolting. I have never experienced such dreadful living conditions and have taken photos as proof.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2011

I was not shure this would be a good experience because of the reviews on this site and the low price. But I was suprized by the nice staff, clean toilets and showers and a very acceptable room.

If you want something cheap in central London this is a very good option. You have to put on your own sheets, but for the price you get more than you pay for.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2010

We paid around £80 for this hotel, which although is not a lot for central London, I was expecting a slightly better place!
Pros: The room was generally clean (bedding, sink etc.) although carpets were filthy!
The location is excellent.
Cons: Beds were terrible with springs sticking through. Kettle was there but no plug anywhere near the cupboards etc so had to hold kettle whilst it boiled over the bed! (plug by bed). Walls like paper - could hear people in next room talking and doors have a very noisy bang when they shut! Breakfast v minimal in fact just 1 slice of toast there when we went down (decided to go out!)/
Would NOT stay here again as could probably find somewhere else for a little bit more money, that's a million times better!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2010

For the money I wasn't expecting four star accomodation but what we did get was absolutely appalling the room was 5+ floors away with no lift so you needed to be athlete fit to reach your room on arrival we were given bedding so that we could make our own bed (obviously no chamber maids) The beds were awful as was the shared bathrooms The room was dire with curtains that would have been better to be absent rather than hanging on by a couple of hooks looking like blankets thrown up at the window . The previos occupants of the room had more facilities laid on as we found traps for cockroaches under the beds. All in all should have gone elsewhere but would have lost deposit which should have been refundable on the grounds of false advertising.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Strand Continental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Strand Continental

Address: 143 Strand, London WC2R 1JA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Charing Cross / Trafalgar Square
Hotel Style:
Ranked #317 of 530 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Strand Continental 1*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fantastically located on the famous Strand in London. With the River Thames behind you and the lively West End in front of you, you will have an easy time finding everything you came to London for! Not only is this little gem well located it is also steeped in history and well facilitated. Facilities include a 1940's styled bar and restaurant, free wi-fi, free continental breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Strand Continental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Strand Continental London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Strand Continental, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.