We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Holiday to Date!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 40 Winks

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in London
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
40 Winks
109 Mile End Road | Stepney Green, London E1 4UJ, England (East End / East London)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 517 London B&B and Inns
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Holiday to Date!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I stayed at 40 winks for 4 nights in late September and couldn't have imagined a more enjoyable place to lay my head in my maiden visit to London. David was most hospitable, taking every opportunity to get to know his guests with the classic opening lines of 'Would you like some tea?' or 'How was your day darling?'. I enjoyed the late night conversations which certainly gave me food for thought! I strongly recommend anyone looking for a holistic holiday in London to stay at 40 winks! Thanks for being such a wonderful host David!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dcbc1, Owner at 40 Winks, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
A huge pleasure having you to stay!!! Hope to see you back here again soon for more tea and good conversation...

All best,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    118
    11
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
5
52
44
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

David Carter is the perfect host. Attentive, gentleman and familiar with everything that goes on in London. A man with unlimited wisdom, knowledge, charm, and patience. His personality makes the 40 winks even more special. Those of you who find interest in London's fashion or gastronomic scene, David is certainly the person to consult with.
David , thank you for the wonderful holiday and I look forward to meet up with you again.

Baruch and Gali

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dcbc1, Owner at 40 Winks, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thanks so much for all your kind words!!!

It was lovely to meet you both, and hope to see you back here again soon.

All best,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

40 winks is a very unique and unusual experience. It has the sexiest hotel that I have ever been.

I love the mixing ...mishmash of eras, bits of Oriental , Japanese , French , Gothic and English touches here and there.
There is no set rule thus ... probably the toughest thing to achieve in decorating.
And I truly believe this is a romance inspired house.

Mr Carter , on the other hand is a soft spoken , attentive and enthusiastic gentleman. A man with "unlimited " wisdom, knowledge and charm.
He simply mesmerized your stay with his surreal way of living.

Thank you for this wonderful journey ... Thank you ... from my bottom of heart and I look forward to meet up with you again :)

Do make your extra miles to mile ends!!!

Pohluan
xxxx

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dcbc1, Owner at 40 Winks, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you so much for the very lovely review!!!!

Hope to see you back here again very soon.

Kind regards,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

From the moment you enter this charming house, you feel like you're going to discover something very special. It's not London, it's a world apart. The house has a very luxurious design and it's full of details, with several rooms, each one with a different atmosphere. Mr Carter is a really kind person, always helpful with suggestions about the area and what to do in the city. I suggest 40 Winks not comparing it with other turistic hotels, but for people looking for a very unique experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dcbc1, Owner at 40 Winks, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Hi Paola,,

Thanks for the very kind review....

Hope you had a great time in Vienna, and hope to see you back here again soon.

Kind regards,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Random, eclectic, boho, Victorian and absolutely perfect. David warmly welcomes you, the weary traveller, into his luxurious and luxe B&B and immediately invites you to come and have a cup of tea with him. I sat in his downstairs kitchen and we chatted as if we had known each other from a previous life. Everywhere my eyes rested there were objets d'art and arrangements that were photo worthy. Spotlessly clean and polished, my bedroom plush and fancy, the bathroom spectacular. I loved my 1 night stay and will definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dcbc1, Owner at 40 Winks, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Thank you so much for the lovely review!!!!

Hope to see you back here again soon

Kind regards,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

I stayed at 40Winks the night before my wedding, and then on the wedding night with my new husband. We had wanted somewhere spectacular and beautiful to start the rest of our lives together and we were not disappointed.

40Winks makes you feel like Alice down the rabbit hole. Nothing quite makes sense, and yet it does. That David is a world renowned interior designer is apparent in every last fixture, fitting and objet d'art. Bring your camera - you will want it if only to capture a tiny piece of the magic.

David was an extremely welcoming and understanding host considering the chaos of the wedding day preparations (hair, makeup, bridesmaids, parents, photographer) and provided an oasis of calm (and well needed cup of tea) when we returned to 40Winks after the nuptials.

One caveat - if you are a light sleeper bring earplugs as the double room overlooks the main road and you are in East London so it is noisy.

The bathroom was incredible - the absolute epitome of luxury.

Thank you David and good luck in all you do.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dcbc1, Owner at 40 Winks, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thanks so much for that, Gemma, and for the lovely card too.....

It was lovely to meet your family, and husband, and am very glad everything went smoothly on the day. It can all be quite stressful, but I hope you had a fabulous honeymoon, and are looking forward to your big move later in the year!!

All the very best,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

David Carter is to a Bed and Breakfast what Duchamp is to an ordinary object. 40 Winks is more then a charming stay in an artfully curated townhouse, it's a fortunate peak behind the curtain of a truly invented life. I adored my experience and dare anyone seeking inspiration to ring the bell.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dcbc1, Owner at 40 Winks, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you so much for the lovely review!!!! Keep ringing the bell....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to 40 Winks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 40 Winks

Address: 109 Mile End Road | Stepney Green, London E1 4UJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > East End / East London
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 517 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Also Known As:
40 Winks Hotel London
40 Winks London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 40 Winks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added 40 Winks to your Saves list