We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Disgusting!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of West Two London

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in London
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
West Two London
Save
You added West Two London to your Saves list
22-23 Kensington Gardens | Bayswater, London W2 4BE, England (Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate )   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #487 of 663 Specialty Lodging in London
Midwest
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely Disgusting!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2009

This hostel is absolutely disgusting. The bathrooms smelled like urine and the showers had mold on the walls. We paid for five beds and only got four with no refund. We were woken up by staff at two in the morning because our roommates were complaining we had taken one of their beds. There was trash all over the room and the floors were so weak I felt like I was going to fall through them. This hostel made me want to run away screaming!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    7
    14
    17
    34
See reviews for
6
14
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
barcelona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2008

Hi everyone!
In this hostel the sentence "the cheapest the worst" it's true. It has a really low quality. To summarize the place is dirty, uncomfortable and disgusting. I stayed there with some friends in March and we even saw cockroach in our room. The toilets were dirty and the showers were indescribable. Even though it is located in a good area I do not know if it is worth to spend the night there.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — cleaniless
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austrlia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2007

My husband and I had a booking at West 2 in London and after reading the review here on Trip Advisor we were very hesitant about our booking that had been transferred to West 2.

We rang and spoke with Jan who is the manager there and we told him about the review we had just read on the trip advisors site, which he knew about. He kindly explained to us that the previous review was left by a guest who needed accommodation as everywhere in the area was full he said he explained to the guest that there was still some work going on as the builders were running behind and that they had had to open for transferred bookings and all but a small amount of work was left.

I asked him if he could send me some pictures which he did. We arrived on the first of December and just left on the weekend after 2 weeks there, we had booked a Twin room with an en suite which is what we got, we even were transferred to a Twin en suite that had a double bed. For what we paid and where we were located was perfect and we had one of the best 2 weeks we have ever had in London.

So thanks to Jan and all the other wonderful staff who made it a fantastic stay!!

West 2 is fully refurbished very clean, very close and very friendly... I don't know where those toilet pictures come from but they are certainly not at West 2. I have attached the pics Jan sent us before we arived!

Thanks again West 2 we will see you in summer...

Stayed November 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2007

We booked into another hostel, but were moved here last minute due to our original hostel closing down for building work. We lasted one night, and then had to check into a hotel.

We were told this hostel has recently been refurbished - it hadn't, it was in the process of being refurbished. When we arrived there were builders everywhere, and the place just looked shabby (ie. holes in the plaster and the occasional missing banister)

Our room was OK sized, but the bunkbeds were tiny, meaning our feet hung over the edge. Also, the top bunk had no railings, so my friend had to move the matress onto the floor and sleep there (to avoid rolling off the top bunk in the middle of the night!!)
The floor was filthy.

The reason we couldn't stay though, was the bathroom. We originally booked an en-suite, but none were available in this hostel, although we were assured that the bathroom was right outside our room. It wasn't, it was along a corridor and down some stairs. And it was disgusting - totally unusable (I'll post the photos we took).
The only usable bathroom was up four flights of stairs, and it had no light, no sink, and no lock.

The final straw, however, was when we arrived back at our room late at night to find our key didn't open our door. The man on duty (who was so helpful and kind, the one good thing about the hostel!!) tried kicking the door in, picking the lock, etc., none of which worked. In the end he had to climb up the outside of the building (we were on the second floor) and in through the window to open our door from the inside!!

We left the next morning and stayed in a (very nice, clean!) comfort inn. In brief - do not, under any circumstances, stay here!!!

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to West Two London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Two London

Address: 22-23 Kensington Gardens | Bayswater, London W2 4BE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate 
Hotel Style:
Ranked #487 of 663 Specialty Lodging in London
Number of rooms: 150
Also Known As:
West Two London England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage West Two London, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.