We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst stay ever” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge London Waterloo Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Travelodge London Waterloo Hotel to your Saves list
Travelodge London Waterloo Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   195 - 203 Waterloo Road, London SE1 8UX, England (London Bridge)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #449 of 1,049 Hotels in London
England
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Worst stay ever”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

Stayed there last night room 604. First impression easy check in, staff very polite. Got into the room, very dull and very hot. No air con it was like sitting in a sauna. Although a fan was provided which was on its last legs and had see better days, windows were also bolted so unable to open. The bed was comfortable but due to the heat unable to sleep.The next day breakfast was awful, the eggs and beans smelt funny and they had no brown bread all in all this has to be the worst Travelodge we stayed in.

Stayed May 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    323
    462
    177
    87
    63
See reviews for
188
477
65
140
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

Overall clean and friendly but so annoying there where no plug sockets by the mirror I had to guesstimate doing my hair for a night out . And very poor lighting . Duvet was also very thin . If you get a good price and it's just somewhere to sleep after sightseeing it's ok . But not a place I'd go again with the girls or myself to get ready for a night out . Good location only a couple of mins from the underground.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darmstadt, Germany
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

As stated this was pretty poor even for travelodge. There was mould in the room which to be fair I missed until check out but it's not my job to look. It's located opposite an ambulance depot so be ready for noise. One working lift all week. Won't be there again!

Stayed May 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Room was clean but poorly furnished - one plastic chair (one of us had to sit on the bed a lot), NO bedside units to put drinks on, no storage space to talk of, no phone or hairdryer, TV channels all out of sync and problems with connecting to the WiFI which they charge you for. The standing fan had a broken foot and thus was unstable. Lighting was very poor in the room. No glasses but the thinnest of plastic beakers provided. On the positive side the shower was good (despite the curtain being stained), the beds comfortable and the staff were welcoming and friendly. The café bar was unsuitable to eat in given the height of the tables and seats but the menu was reasonable in both provision and cost, although the food was cold. No noise from the road which was a plus. Unlikely to revisit.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Niki from the Social Media team at Travelodge London Waterloo Hotel, responded to this review, 3 days ago
We appreciate the time you have taken to review our hotel. We are pleased to learn that you found the staff to be friendly and the beds to be comfortable during your stay with us. We feel that we offer all that is needed for a comfortable night’s stay. This includes a clean room, comfortable bed, tea and coffee facilities, desk and chair, flat screen T.V and an en suite bathroom. We do not provide extras which other hotels may provide so we can keep our room rates low and pass this saving onto our customers. Feedback is invaluable and we thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This was my 4th stay at this hotel. I have always felt that this hotel was very good value for money, especially if you can pick up a deal. It is convenient for the station and also visiting many attractions and theatres.

It is a budget hotel but is clean, has a good walk in shower and plenty of towels. The rooms are basic and you must remember to ask for a hairdryer when you book in as they are not standard in rooms. The staff are always friendly and helpful, but I really felt that the standards were not so good this time.

There are two lifts, but one was out of order and was also being used by cleaning staff to move their extremely large trollies. Waited ages for the lift. I was given a room on the third floor - nothing the matter with the room except it overlooked a small block of flats and there was no net curtain at the window. No phone in the room so down reception. Again waited ages for the lift. Explained problem given another room. Back to the lift. This room had a net curtain but the most dreadful smell from the bathroom. Back down to reception. This time I insisted that someone accompany me to another room. Third room - no curtain. I suggested that curtain was taken from the room with the 'smell' and put up in this room. Receptionist did this.

Had two fairly comfortable nights, second night unfortunately room above was noisy until the early hours.

Breakfast not so good this time either. Not much choice if you don't eat meat products. If I stay again I won't have breakfast.

Check out staff friendly and apologised for the inconvenience I had had. (When I was asked if I had enjoyed my stay).

As I've said this is a budget hotel, is convenient and clean without breakfast is fairly good value for money.

I was told that the lift problem was not their fault as the maintenance company were having difficulty getting a part.

Will probably stay again.

Re wifi - you get half an hour free then you have to pay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the side of the hotel as it's on the busy main Waterloo Road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Stayed here for London Marathon weekend and would like to say it's one of the best Travelodges I've stayed in. Great location for Waterloo underground,around a 5 minute walk. Breakfast was good value, with enough choice for all dietary requirements. Having stayed in many other Travelodges around the country, we were most impressed with the pleasant and helpful staff...all friendly and pleased to assist. Already looking to book again for later in the year.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stayed here for a short family trip to London

Great area to be able to get to places as I don't mind a walk. Spent two nights in the hotel having evening meals and cooked breakfast throughout our stay. The cooked breakfast isn't worth it and the sausages taste fowl. The evening meals took ages to come out and my daughter who is two had over cooked food. I did complain but it was like a circus in there

Would stay again as the rooms were nice but will not eat there

Room Tip: Choose a room to the rear of the hotel as Hospital across the room and you hear the sirens all night
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge London Waterloo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge London Waterloo Hotel

Address: 195 - 203 Waterloo Road, London SE1 8UX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > London Bridge
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#312 Family Hotel in London
#329 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge London Waterloo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 279
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and LateRooms so you can book your Travelodge London Waterloo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge London Waterloo Hotel England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge London Waterloo Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.