We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very reasonable and affordable, great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge London Waterloo Hotel

Save Saved
You added Travelodge London Waterloo Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Travelodge London Waterloo Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   195 - 203 Waterloo Road, London SE1 8UX, England (London Bridge)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #372 of 1,075 hotels in London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very reasonable and affordable, great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

During our one week stay in London, we were just after a simple room which we could use as a base for our sightseeing. Very close to Waterloo station and walking distance to many of the sights. The room itself was small but adequate. The staff were friendly and efficient but for some reason would never top up our milk or tea and coffee? Even though he weather was mild, the room was stuffy and we had to have the fan running all night in some cases. Overall served its purpose and was cheap compared to other similar accommodations.

Room Tip: Not facing Waterloo road as you may need to sleep with the window open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

642 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    201
    278
    88
    39
    36
See reviews for
107
267
37
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Just returned from a 4 night stay. It's not the ritz but it's lovely, clean, happy welcoming staff and very acceptable food. Location is perfect..
If you are looking for central London you will not get better for the money.. it's lovely. .
I was very happy and I would recommend you stay here. Only issue I experienced was, I was on the top floor and it was very warm, but i was supplied with a floor standing fan was in my room.
Enjoy London

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This is a travelodge. Simple and basic. Food and drink are either open 24hrs or very late, as we ordered wine and a pizza at 1am.
Breakfast is not included but it cost £8 and is all you can eat including English breakfast.
Not a fortune but not a 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

My wife and I stayed at the Travelodge in Waterloo Road, London this week for two nights, the room was clean and comfortable and I can recommend this hotel to visitors to Central London, theatre land, the London Eye, and all visitor attractions are within walking distance of this hotel.

The hotel staff were friendly and trying to please, the bar area has been upgraded and basic food is available at reasonable cost. The buffet breakfast is basic, but excellent, and all in all you can't ask for more.

The only downside is no air conditioning, which in London can be torture, especially when trying to get a good nights sleep, having said that, the Hotel does provide a fan in the room which is a godsend.

All in all, a hotel well worth recommendation.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

This Travelodge is one of the better ones in which I've stayed, not least because it has a bar/cafe/offers cooked breakfasts. The staff are friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean, everything worked (excellent shower) and although a bit dark and on the hot side, you don't go to London to spend all day in your hotel room!
The only slight negative is maybe the location... unlike others in central London, the immediate area is maybe not so great but nevertheless, it's only a 5 minute walk to Waterloo station, plus the Old Vic is just up the road.
Recommended.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Actually the hotel was fine, bedrooms up to standard generally but two bulbs gone, one in the lobby and the one in the bathroom so couldn't even leave the bathroom door open to get light in. Staff said they would get it fixed whilst we were out but didn't and said they would offer us a voucher but didn't. Would we go back? Probably but a bit disappointing.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paignton
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I stayed here back in February this year, it was better than I anticipated.

Staff- They were all friendly and welcoming. They would get you anything you needed.

Room - I was in a double room at the front of hotel with large windows, had a view of the London eye. The room was spotless and so was the bathroom. Had kettle and mugs in room if you wished to make drinks. It did get a bit hot throughout the night as duvet was quite thick.

Location- It is about a 4 minute walk down to Waterloo station & underground which is convenient and also off licences and take aways near by if you needed them.

Food - Breakfast was good, apart from lack of glasses for juice at some points but that quickly was sorted. Also I had an evening meal which was very nice.

Overall was a good price for room and breakfast for 3 days. I am returning in August!

Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Travelodge London Waterloo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge London Waterloo Hotel

Address: 195 - 203 Waterloo Road, London SE1 8UX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > London Bridge
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Best Value Hotel in London
#234 Family Hotel in London
#271 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge London Waterloo Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Travelodge London Waterloo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge London Waterloo Hotel England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge London Waterloo Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.