We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Waterloo Traveldge” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge London Waterloo Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Travelodge London Waterloo Hotel to your Saves list
Travelodge London Waterloo Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   195 - 203 Waterloo Road, London SE1 8UX, England (London Bridge)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #448 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Harlow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Waterloo Traveldge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

we had a great weekend when we stayed at this Travelodge, the staff were very friendly & helpful. my husband had booked a show & one nights stay here but we were enjoying ourselves & so comfortable we booked a second night. the hotel is a short walk for Waterloo station so all of London is accessible. we would fully recommend the Waterloo Travelodge to friends & family & would happily go back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    323
    462
    176
    86
    62
See reviews for
188
477
65
140
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rimmer2008
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

I stay in a lot of hotels in any given year, due to work. Mainly in the Uk and quite often abroad. I consider myself to be an experienced customer when it comes to provided accommodation. I've observed that things have changed quite considerably in the past twenty years as the corporate 'copy and paste' hotel chains have slowly taken over the independents, providing a more soulless and empty experience for all. Despite the fact that all the rooms look virtually the same worldwide, some of these chains provide a basic but reasonable experience which for the business traveller is acceptable. Travelodge have always provided a substandard room with excuses why they no longer provide biscuits or soap for washing with (so you can have cheaper rooms which is rarely reflected in the price). The rooms are so cheaply decorated and depressingly lit with bright white LED lights that one could mistake a stay there as being at her majesty's pleasure. This particular hotel however has had a aesthetic upgrade by the corp. Although it still provides no soap or shower gel, the rooms have a hint of colour added and have a slightly more acceptable vibe to them. The rooms are kept very clean by the cleaning staff who are (other than our receptionist who was scruffy but very polite) by far the best staff in the building. Although they still employ the brutally overly white reading lights, there is a more relaxing hue to the room due to the lights being less blue/white.

Anyone who has stayed in a Travelodge before will understand their failings for breakfast. A plastic bag of cold contents is all that they seemed to have offered for many years although this hotel has a full breakfast bar with a serve yourself (eat as much as you like) buffet. The food is adequate but no better than average. The biggest issues with the restaurant is with the staff. As you enter the room, you may or may not be greeted by a member of staff asking for your name and room number. They use the knife, fork and cutlery trays as their reception desk so if you want some cutlery you have to somewhat barge the receptionist out of the way or come back later and remove their clipboard (which they leave lying on top of the cutlery itself) to access the utensils. I saw a queue of about five people behind the greeter on one occasion, all too polite to bother her checking in new arrivals. This amazing shortcoming in common sense is vigorously and rudely defended as an acceptable method of doing things by the lady supposedly welcoming you in. In fact, she was so rude to me that I am going to pursue a complaint to the company itself in the hope that this stupidly thought through practice is replaced.

The rest of the breakfast crew are generally dressed in whatever they dragged out of their draws that morning. One of the ladies (I was there for five nights) wore the same dirty black, green and white trainers every day. I was greeted one morning by a po-faced receptionist that said "awwwight?" as she perused the offending clipboard. Another women tutted loudly as the gentlemen she was delivering a baby high chair too didn't thank her. He was on the phone at the time. The basic behavioral standard in any establishment should be polite at the very least. You will not see any evidence of that in this breakfast room.

If you have to stay in this hotel then do so. It's the best looking Travelodge i've stayed in although the standard is basic or slightly above that. I would highly recommend you avoid other venues until they have at least upgraded to this standard as it's universally accepted amongst my colleagues that they are depressing places to sleep. If you are planning a trip in the summer, I highly recommending checking out some other places as the budget vibe of the hotel extends to the room ventilation. There is a tiny slit of a wind and that's it. There is no air-conditioning at all so if it's hot and you prefer a temperate room then you will suffer as I did. I slept under just the sheet for five nights and was warmer than i'd have liked to be.

Room Tip: There is a loud building site outside of my room (which was 530) so if you are planning a visit and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwen, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights. Fri-Tue. (checked out wed). 4people, 3 rooms.
We stayed here last year enjoyed so stayed again this year.
Everything was excellent. Couldn't fault a thing.
The reception staff were lovely & helpful on check in & Out.
The room was very clean, couldn't fault.The bed was extremely comfy(didn't want to get out of it)
The shower was very powerful & excellent temperature. The bathroom was very clean too.

would gladly stay there again.
Cant wait for next visit.

We didn't have food in the hotel. But we did use the bar. They serve a great cold pint of lager @£3.40 (a good price for London). They also have vending machines for pop, crisps, choc etc.

We can also recommend the Chinese takeaway on the next block. that was excellent.

Room Tip: we stayed on the 3rd floor. very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blandford Forum, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

This hotel is in a great location, close to Waterloo Station and access to the Underground. The London Eye, Aquarium, the London Dungeons and Westminster are all in walking distance.
The room was clean, the bed was comfy with 2pillows. The windows are restricted and only open a little. The only negative I have about he room is it is very warm in the rooms, they do provide a fan which we had on the whole 2 nights we were there.
When we went down to breakfast the food was always filled up and had a lot of choice to choose from, even when it was busy there still have plenty to choose from, either a cooked breakfast, cereals, toast, fruit etc.
I really enjoyed the stay here and would return, as is close to Central London and majority of local attractions.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

A nice central Travelodge located on the same road as Waterloo Station - a 3 or 4 minute walk. A nice area.

The hotel is modern and one of the chain's refurbished offerings. Super cheap, we booked in advance. Check-in machines were all broken, so we had to check in at the reception desk, but this was easy and fast. The lifts are a bit haphazard - we often would press to go up to floor 7 and find it take down to service areas, but perseverance earned us our correct destination!

Our room overlooked the Shard and had some really good views.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Booked well in advance so got a great rate. Hotel very comfortable especially the new beds. Location great 5/10 minute walk to Waterloo station & 10/15 walk to London Eye depending on fitness level. Minor downfall for our room 102 is that it was next to the door into lift area, it would benefit from a soft closing system.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle Of Man, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

The hotel was within walking distance to a train station, the London Eye and London Bridge. You could easily walk to Covent Garden, if not only a few pounds in a taxi. The hotel was very clean and the staff were very helpful and friendly, I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Travelodge London Waterloo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge London Waterloo Hotel

Address: 195 - 203 Waterloo Road, London SE1 8UX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > London Bridge
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#310 Family Hotel in London
#329 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge London Waterloo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 279
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and LateRooms so you can book your Travelodge London Waterloo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge London Waterloo Hotel England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge London Waterloo Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.