We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Indigo Tower Hill” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Indigo London Tower Hill

Save Saved
You added Hotel Indigo London Tower Hill to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Indigo London Tower Hill
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   142 Minories, London EC3N 1LS, England (East End / East London)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #41 of 1,054 Hotels in London
Glasgow, Scotland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Hotel Indigo Tower Hill”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights in October 2013. Excellent location - close to public transport. Hotel decor and finish is to a high standard. Our room was on the 5th floor at the back but had a good view of The Gherkin. The 4 poster bed was very comfy and whole room was decorated in a nice style and to a high quality. Excellent amenities - fridge,mini bar and nespresso machine. Only downside was that we felt breakfast wasn't value for money although everything we had was tasty. Staff were very friendly and even put a birthday cake in our room on arrival (it was my partners birthday). Would definitely recommend. Would give it 4.5 if I could.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indigoteam, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo London Tower Hill, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind words about our hotel. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay. We hope you can stay with us again when you are back in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

826 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    583
    206
    26
    9
    2
See reviews for
69
437
54
143
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Stayed here on a Sunday night.

Location-wise, very handy for the city.

Check in was easy and the desk clerk told me about all of the facilities of the hotel.

My room was on the top floor. Despite being a Platinum member I don't think I received an upgrade but even so the room had a lovely four poster bed, comfortable easy chair and a desk/chair. There were plenty of power outlets, both next to the bed & at the work desk. The TV was flat screen and wall-mounted. Attention to detail like plenty of accessible power outlets and sufficient lighting is still somewhat rare in hotels, so it was refreshing to have these present.

As per the brand standard, there was a minibar with some soft drinks and confectionery included in the rate - a nice touch.

Bathroom was modern and had a powerful shower. Aveda toiletries - again a UK brand standard.

My only criticisms of the room are that the wardrobe was small and the AC was ineffective.

I used room service, which was variable: burger not very good - beef was burnt and a bit like shoe leather. However, I had a lovely cheese selection - so many places these days have uninteresting cheese on their dessert menu, but here it was a great portion and tasty. The room service menu is fairly extensive compared to other Hotel Indigos I've stayed in (Newcastle, Liverpool and Birmingham).

Breakfast was good - quick service and hot foot to order, even if my ham and mushroom omelette became a cheese and ham omelette!

Check out was speedy.

All in all a no brainer & I'd definitely go here if you want a nice room and aren't too bothered about a large bustling bar or public amenities.

I'll be back!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indigoteam, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo London Tower Hill, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear Guest,
We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay here. We apologize for the meal that you got from the room service. For the AC, we will look into it to avoid any more of the same incident.
Please feel free to stay with us when you are in town once more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Excellent location in the Minories, Tower Hill, just a short walk from the Tower of London and the South Bank. Walking to Theatre district on a sunny afternoon takes around 3/4 hour along the river. Nearest tube and DLR is Tower gateway 5 mins walk away. Check in was efficient and the staff were excellent, nothing too much bother, complimentary paper and WiFi, room ok, no upgrade for Platinum member but it was a Friday night in London. Room very clean with Nespresso machine, minibar with complimentary soft drinks and snacks, plenty of storage, bathroom clean if a little small but still no additional storage or shelf space which was highlighted on a lot of reviews. Not the cheapest place to stay but its location and staff make the difference, highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indigoteam, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo London Tower Hill, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate very much your observations re: the location and staff service. It feels good to know we met your expectations. Thank you so much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Sometimes you read reviews and you think they cannot be true. Well, in this case they are! My wife and I stayed just for a night and it was great i cannot fault it (i can but its really picky). The hotel was clean, the rooms are great (we did get an upgrade to the Tower Suite, it hasn't swayed the review), The staff were just so helpful. The last part i cannot emphasis enough. I hate arriving at hotels and its fill this in, sign this, everything is extra. Here not the case. Other than signing in i was presented with the wifi key (without having to find it in some brochure in the room), "Don't worry sir the mini bar is complementary". I think what i am trying to say is its slick.

My only issues were:-

1. If you stay at a weekend beware that if you don't want to eat in the hotel you will have to walk a distance or tube to find a restaurant that is open. I should have researched this better.

2. Our room had wooden floors and if you walk in shoes i was conscious of the noise they made. There were people in the rooms above and if they had wooden floors it wasn't disturbing.

3. I am being picky here. Breakfast; coffee is served in cafétiers and the staff use the hot steam jet on the machine to brew the coffee which blasts the grinds above the filter and then end up in your cup. Secondly, if you are serving a cooked breakfast it might be an idea to ask when you want your toast either with your breakfast or after. My breakfast was delivered and then i was asked if i wanted toast to go with it.

All in all it was great and i would go again

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indigoteam, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo London Tower Hill, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

For a night's stay, you gave a perfect review of Hotel Indigo. We noted especially your pleasure over the short check-in time you experienced. We look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

This is a really nice hotel with excellent rooms and facilities. However, the thing that makes the hotel stand out is the very high quality of the staff. Every single member of staff was incredibly helpful, pleasant and efficient and pride of place should go to the cleaning staff as I have rarely stayed at such a clean hotel. This hotel is thoroughly recommended especially at the generally cheaper week end rates. Well done and thanks to all associated with the hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed on the fifth floor and had no issues with excessive noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indigoteam, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo London Tower Hill, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for pointing out in your review a particular aspect we're often commended for and we're definitely proud about: the hotel cleanliness and the "high quality of the staff". We're sure a future stay will validate this even more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

The second time of staying here after a break of about 3 years.

Hotel rooms are still good, in boutique styling. Equipped very well, with a great mini bar with soft drinks and snacks.
All was well, until we returned to the room after dinner. There was an almighty rumbling through the entire room (on the first floor). I couldn't believe it, as this was our complaint about 3 years previously! Thankfully they handled the problem swiftly by moving us to their only available room. It later transpired, that if the room above has their bathroom extractor fan on, it vibrates through the room below.

Ordered 2 items from room service the second night. One was cold, which is poor for a hotel of this standard.

Breakfast is great with a vast choice available.

The hotel staff are an asset and they handled our complaint as well as they could. However for a 4* hotel to still have the same issue as 3 years previous is unacceptable. Noise issues should be a priority for any hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indigoteam, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo London Tower Hill, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

We'll make sure the noise complaint reaches the proper office but THANKS for finding everything else worth coming back to.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

Situated in the Minories, within walking distance of the Tower of London and Fenchurch St Station, this is an excellent boutique hotel. The rooms are of a high standard, a good size and the external noise is minimal. The staff are friendly and helpful. Wifi is free and works well in the rooms. It's location in the City is good for business but slightly remote for tourists.

Didn't try the restaurant so cannot comment.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indigoteam, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo London Tower Hill, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

We're glad you found the place perfect for you purposes especially its location and staff services. Thanks for making us your choice.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Indigo London Tower Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo London Tower Hill

Address: 142 Minories, London EC3N 1LS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Luxury Hotel in London
#46 Romantic Hotel in London
#51 Business Hotel in London
#65 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Indigo London Tower Hill 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located near Tower Bridge and the Tower of London, Hotel Indigo London Tower Hill is just a stone's throw away from all of London's transportation links and so eminently suitable to both leisure visitors and business travellers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, IHG, Priceline, Agoda, Venere, Tingo, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Hotel Indigo London Tower Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Indigo London Tower Hill England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Indigo London Tower Hill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.