We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Dissapointing Facilities.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Seraphine Kensington Olympia Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Seraphine Kensington Olympia Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Seraphine Kensington Olympia Hotel
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   225 Kensington High Street | Kensington, London W8 6SA, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 50% off stays!
Ranked #134 of 535 London B&B and Inns
Aalborg, Denmark
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great Location, Dissapointing Facilities.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

My fiancée and I stayed at Seraphine Hotel, Kensington for 4 days in January. We chose the hotel based on web reviews, an apparent 4 star status and location - we had high expectations, but were immediately worried when we first arrived. The hotel starts at first floor, but to get there you have to climb a steep staircase - terrible! We lived at 3rd floor, but was in very poor condition so it took a lot of time and effort (a button must be pushed hard all the time for the elevator to move) to get up.

The room was quite clean and appeared well equipped, however very, very small! Further we found that the iPod dock didn't work, the bathroom smelled and many appliances were hard to reach; and when we found a way to make room for our stuff by moving furniture etc. we sadly found that the stuff was moved back every day by the maid. Also a very noisy vent was placed just outside our window.
The bed was absolutely fantastic though!

The service was mediocre and the staff didn't pay much attention or provide anymore than a minimum of service. In this regard we were quite disappointed by the continental breakfast - it was OK when the staff filled up, however some days the selection was terrible and we had to ask for more things, which wasn't provided anyway.

We had a great time in London anyway and the hotel was fine IF we had expected a budget deal - we didn't and therefore we felt disappointed.

+ Plus on Location and Bed
- Facilities, breakfast and value

Room Tip: 3rd floor was noisy due to ventilation and construction work. Ask for 1st floor to avoid elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    69
    35
    18
    7
See reviews for
20
65
16
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

This was our first time in London and we were nervous about finding a hotel in our budget and at the same time avoiding the run down, hole in the wall places. Seraphine Kensington Olympia definitely fit that bill. Everything about the hotel was great; service, room, breakfast, complimentary with-fi, even the shower was awesome. Yes, the room is smaller than the giant size, super size rooms in most of America, get over it! This is Europe, it's part of the experience. Location is fabulous, tube station is close, restaurants, shops, local (non tourist) dining is close by. The wife even approved of the hotel hairdryer. :) The double laminate windows were a god send in the winter.

All in all, a great time and value. We will definitely choose the Seraphine the next time we come to London.

Room Tip: In the winter, come back to the room before dinner to close the Window and turn on the heat..:)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

I stayed here on business for one night. The hotel entrance is actually a side road off Kensignton High Street which is not shown on the map so I did walk by it at first but there are banners/flag higher up so keep your eyes up and you will see it easily.

The hotel rooms were small but well appointed and I was able to chekc in very early. I arrived at 9am hoping to just leave my bag before a day and evening of meetings however I was able to check in straight away which was so helpful as I would not be back until late that night.

Breakfast was continental but there was an excellent choice of food and drinks available.

The hotel is close to the tube staion and in walking distance of Hyde Park and a good selection of restaurants/bars etc.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

stayed with my friend for the weekend. We are both young and this was our first time in London, and we felt incredibly safe during our stay, the staff (especially Mr Liman Axhami, very helpful) was so friendly and they are always there to help you out if something was wrong. Its small yet very cosy and CLEAN. Its difficult to find a hotel in london that is this fresh and clean to a great price like this. The rooms are medium sized (we stayed in a deluxe double room) and as i said, very clean. The bathroom aswell, it's all just very fresh. The breakfast is ok too, not very big yet there is a big variation; fruits, yoghurt, bread, croissants, muffins, cereals etc and once again the staff was always there to clean up, help you out or just take orders on tea or anything like that. Last but not least: GREAT LOCATION! walking distance (about 500 m) to Kesington High Street tube station and the bus stops right outside. Beautiful area. I would recommend this hotel to everyone if you want a safe, nice stay in a clean and cosy hotel with incredible staff!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

I am very expirienced travaler but such problems I haven't had anywhere. Very unprofessonal personal, I think they don't know what customer service is! I had pre authorization hold on my bank card. They don't know how complite the tranzaction. Yes, it was some problem with my bank too, but no one from the stuff didn't know the name of the hotel's bank, where hotel's account is. And anyway problems don't let stuff to be rude with their clients! If you will be there I advise to pay at the first day of stay, so if you have a problems, it will be time to solve them. Breakfast is very poor, location is not bad, near central metro station.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Stayed over for a night while attending an event at Olympia that worked booked on my behalf. Great location near High Street Kensington tube and about a 10min walk to Olympia, shops and restaurants. Checked in really early and was quite impressed with the room. Very clean and a nice bathroom with great shower. Had a good night's sleep as the windows are double glazed with aircon. A compact hotel but that added to its uniqueness in a city full of big, overpriced chains. Wasn't expecting the continental breakfast which was okay. I'd return for another stay.

Room Tip: I almost passed the hotel. Entrance is just down the side street and up some stairs. Look out for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Seraphine Kensington Olympia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Seraphine Kensington Olympia Hotel

Address: 225 Kensington High Street | Kensington, London W8 6SA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #134 of 535 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Seraphine Kensington Olympia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located on High Street Kensington, just a few minutes’ walk from the High Street Kensington Tube Station, this modern, intimate chic hotel overlooks Holland Park and is in the vicinity of Kensington Palace and Gardens and is the perfect choice for either a pleasurable few days holiday or short business trip. In the surrounding area of the hotel one can find stylish shops, bars and restaurants. Art galleries, the Natural History and Science Museums, Hyde Park, Buckingham Palace and The Royal Albert Hall are just a few of the many attractions which are located within walking distance of the hotel. The hotel is very close to Olympia and Earl’s Court Exhibition Centres. All guests staying at the hotel get free entrance to the Connoisseur Casino, which is located near the hotel. All our rooms, which are all individually designed, offer the ultimate facilities that one would expect from a hotel of this quality. All rooms have complimentary High Speed Internet access and WIFI, laptop size safe deposit box, full en-suite facilities with bath or shower, IPOD docking system, TV Entertainment system, Tea & Coffee Making facilities, air conditioning, telephone, triple glazed windows, desk, electronic door locking, opening windows and hair dryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Seraphine Kensington Olympia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
BEST WESTERN Seraphine Kensington Olympia Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Seraphine Kensington Olympia Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.