We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay - Helpful friendly staff.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Seraphine Kensington Olympia Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Seraphine Kensington Olympia Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Seraphine Kensington Olympia Hotel
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   225 Kensington High Street | Kensington, London W8 6SA, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 50% off stays!
Ranked #137 of 535 London B&B and Inns
Southport, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay - Helpful friendly staff.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

We stayed from Sun-Tues. We wanted a hotel close to the Royal Albert Hall as we were attending a concert there on the Monday evening-husbands birthday gift.

I contacted the hotel directly (we had booked via Londontown.com) regarding an earlier check-in and also Gluten free items for breakfast as husband has coeliacs. I received a very friendly prompt reply from the Manager Liman.

The hotel is a short walk from High Street Kensington Tube station so very easy to find, the entrance is actually on a side street adjoining the high street, there are hotel signs very visable however. There are also plenty of buses along the high street - we caught buses there and back to the RAH on the Monday.

On arrival we negotiated the stairs which are quite steep - there are prominent signs indicating you should press the button for help with luggage if required - There is always someone to help.

We were checked in by the manager himself who was very helpful and friendly. To our delight he upgraded us to a Junior Suite. He then escorted us, carrying our luggage, to the room, showing us how to use the lift on the way. The lift buttons have to be held for 3 seconds to initiate them and the lift itself is open sided which is a point to be made if you have small children.

The room itself was on the 3rd floor and had a view over the side street and part of the high street. The room was lovely, a nice size with a good sized bed, good bedside lighting with wall lamps and positionable reading lights. There was a flat screen tv with good reception wall mounted opposite the bed and a wardrobe area with open shelving, drawers and a rail with plenty of hangers.

The room safe was also enclosed in the wardrobe area and is a reasonable size.

There was also a dressing table/desk with chair .The usual writing materials, a tea/coffee station with plenty of sachets and little biscuits. There were also complimentary bottles of water. These were not cold but welcome all the same.

There is a wall mounted hairdryer which worked well though its one of those where you have to hold the button down to make it work. There is a full length mirror also.

There was a nice footstool and small sofa which converts to an extra bed, we did not see what that was like as had no need but there would of been plenty of floor space to move about should the sofa bed be used.

The bathroom was lovely, a walk in corner shower with excellent overhead shower and hand held unit too. There were abundant soft white fluffy towels and some nice touches added like shaving, toothbrush, sewing and beauty kits and a shower cap. The soaps/gels/shampoo were mounted in holders in liquid form and were a good quality.

There was plenty of natural light in this room , the windows opened sufficiently also and the air con was good. The room was quiet (no real road noise at all) apart from some noisy neighbours who kept slamming their doors shut and talking very loudly in the early morning, that however is not the hotels fault. The room and bathroom were spotless. The curtains were very good at blocking out light.

The junior suite was not a Hilton sized junior suite, one has to remember this is a small hotel, it only has about 16 rooms, so no it does not have the huge rooms some may expect but what it lacks in size it more than makes up for in service.

The breakfast was great, I had read mixed reviews but to be honest there was plenty of choice. Bowls of fruits in juice, various meats, cheeses, boiled eggs. White and Brown bread, croissants, pastries with fruit or chocolate fillings.Lots of cereal choice.Basket of various fresh fruit Two types of juice (from concentrate) Coffee and Tea brought to you by friendly attentive staff who remembered our drinks preference the next morning. You can if you wish pre-order a full english at £9.99 but we were more than happy with what was provided.

The BIG plus with breakfast was that the manager had personally arranged to provide Gluten Free bread for my husband so he could make toast etc. This was a really lovely touch and one that is not always provided in much larger 'chain' hotels , we have been to many that do not yet understand the importance of Gluten Free items.

The first day when we came back from our afternoon sightseeing the Manager was there and he greeted us with a genuine smile and asked how our day had been, these personal touches were delightful and something lacking in the big 'chain' hotels.

The other thing we liked is its location. Kensington High Street has a wealth of shops but it also has some very lovely restaurants with a great choices of cuisine. We liked being able to go out and have a nice relaxed meal and just stroll back to the hotel.

We got a great deal at this hotel and would not hesitate to go back if the price were right. The acknowledgement of the gluten free request, the clean rooms and the personal service were major factors for us for a return visit.

If you want a friendly, clean boutique style hotel and have no medical issues regarding those first stairs then give the Seraphine Olympia a try, its a lovely little property.

Room Tip: My top tip is to go expecting a smaller boutique style ultra friendly hotel not a big 4* impersonal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    70
    35
    18
    7
See reviews for
20
66
16
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tredegar, Wales U.K
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

Stayed here on a Monday Night to attend a concert at the Albert Hall.

Once you climb the 30+ step of the stairs to get to reception you are greeted by friendly staff who were very polite, the hotel is clean and so was our room. All the facilities you would expect were there. If your not particulary fit, then go elsewhere

The only Negative is that the room size was rediculously small for £130. our room was around 9ft square and that included the space for the bathroom/shower. Also the Bed was a small double around 4ft 6. So unless your built like ronnie corbett forget it. Also the mattress didnt reach the edge of the bed frame so I was constantly shinning my leg on the base.

I would not stay there again because of this very poor value for money.

Room Tip: Rooms are too small and the access is not good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victorian
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012 via mobile

We were originally booked in for their sister hotel, at Kensington Gardens but on arrival were asked to move to this alternative hotel because of a faulty lock with no meaningful apology. Our room was very cramped and we couldn't even walk around the bed without bumping knees. Breakfast service was poor and staff were inattentive. Would try elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madrid, spain
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012 via mobile

For a 2 night stay on a business trip, I was looking for a 4 star hotel in Kensington which wouldn't break the bank. I found this on booking.com, and was unpleasantly surprised when I arrived. As others have commented, it's a mystery how this hotel can be a 4 star. Reception is up a long steep flight of stairs, there is no bar, restaurant or room service (not great if you are a solo or business traveller). The room I had, 202, was very small and cramped for just me, though it was supposedly a double. Clean and quiet, admittedly, and good location. But no way a 4 star!

Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

Negative impression from arrival. Entrance is narrow stairway- carpet stained. Info on booking site startes lift from first floor but not that there are twenty-five stairs to climb to get to it. Had booked "executive double" which was tiny. Complained first through booking agency and then directly to manager who refused a refund but did give us a slightly bigger and brighter room. Furnishings new but not luxurious by any means. No proper wardrobe: small rail in doorless unit. Bed quite small double but comfortable. Only one pillow each witn one spare on top of "wardrobe". Shower room fine but towels quite small. Television in room only received four channnels - no BBC at all. There was wifi.

Reception, which is small, doubles as breakfast area and bar. Very basic - no cloths on tables; crockery didn't always match. Large television on constantly. No newspapers on offer. Coffee was fine but tea was Typhoo teabag brought in cup with nowhere to put the tea bag. Bread and croissants tasted like supermarket basics. Hotel had no facilities beyond bedrooms and this.

Cannot understand how this hotel got a four star rating. Have stayed several times in four star hotels in this area for similar price - all much better.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

Very happy with my stay. Wifi worked perfectly. As it is just off kensington high street it has excellent amenities close by. As noted previously the single rooms are tiny but well appointed.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall, UK
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

Stayed here for 2 x nights and thoroughly enjoyed my stay. I used the hotel to attend an exhibition at London Olympia which is a short 10-12 minute walk away.

My room was comfortable and spacious and extremely modern. In fact the whole of the hotel has a very contemporary feel to it.

The hotel offers free Wi-Fi and the breakfast offering was good.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Seraphine Kensington Olympia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Seraphine Kensington Olympia Hotel

Address: 225 Kensington High Street | Kensington, London W8 6SA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #137 of 535 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Seraphine Kensington Olympia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located on High Street Kensington, just a few minutes’ walk from the High Street Kensington Tube Station, this modern, intimate chic hotel overlooks Holland Park and is in the vicinity of Kensington Palace and Gardens and is the perfect choice for either a pleasurable few days holiday or short business trip. In the surrounding area of the hotel one can find stylish shops, bars and restaurants. Art galleries, the Natural History and Science Museums, Hyde Park, Buckingham Palace and The Royal Albert Hall are just a few of the many attractions which are located within walking distance of the hotel. The hotel is very close to Olympia and Earl’s Court Exhibition Centres. All guests staying at the hotel get free entrance to the Connoisseur Casino, which is located near the hotel. All our rooms, which are all individually designed, offer the ultimate facilities that one would expect from a hotel of this quality. All rooms have complimentary High Speed Internet access and WIFI, laptop size safe deposit box, full en-suite facilities with bath or shower, IPOD docking system, TV Entertainment system, Tea & Coffee Making facilities, air conditioning, telephone, triple glazed windows, desk, electronic door locking, opening windows and hair dryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Seraphine Kensington Olympia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
BEST WESTERN Seraphine Kensington Olympia Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Seraphine Kensington Olympia Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.