We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem in a Rundown Area” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palmers

Palmers
238 Roman Road, London E2 0RY, England (East End / East London)
02089805590
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Palmers is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #304 of 17,879 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $21 - $37
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Seafood, European, British, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: East End / East London
Description: Palmers Restaurant is a stylish yet informal brasserie-style restaurant in Mile End that is a smart spot filled with natural light, bright artworks and smiley staff. Decorated with tiled floors, wooden furniture, floor-to-ceiling windows and plum-coloured banquettes – this dining room has a friendly, linger-over-dessert-and-wine vibe and regulars know the star of the show is the creative modern British menu which is filled with gems such as the queen scallops with slow-roasted pork belly and Madeira sauce; the Bresse Bleu pear and walnut risotto; and the quince and hazelnut crumble with custard. Suitable for working meals and family nights out, Palmers – which is located on Roman Road, has earned an enviable reputation with local food-lovers.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem in a Rundown Area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

My family and I are staying in Bethnal Green for a Holiday and my parents didn't feel like heading in to the hustle and bustle of central London for the evening. After some research found this pace online and could not deny the reviews.
The area itself isn't run down and basically way off the beaten path from anything worth visiting but I would definitely make an across town trip for this place.
Very fresh ingredients, delicious menu, large portions and great prices. This place is fantastic and I really think that this family run restaurant will be around for years to come! Please give them a try! I think I will be heading back before my holiday is over!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    27
    7
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Birthday Night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Very nice place to eat and relax,

Prepared a special requests for my partner for her birthday, no groans or hassle.

Food excellent! Presented really well, exceptional service, even when we stayed late!

Why this place is not packed out every night, especially for the prices they charge, I just don’t know.

Thank you
Bertie

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Amazing meal - thank you!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

My friend and myself decided to go for a meal here at the last minute on a sat night. We were both blown away by the food, I had delicious fish and she had steak.

We loved the food. It's just so nice to eat out and have a great quality meal.

The service was prompt and efficient on a reasonably busy night.
We both loved it.
What a gem of a restaurant. Looking forward to returning.
Thank you!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“top nosh!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

simply the best food I have ever had, this understated restaurant is a gem in the heart of Londons East End, the choice of fresh local produce is second to none, steaks are to die for, fish dishes are amazing, so imaginative, masterchef eat yer heart out!. several times we have dined there, and never ever had a negative experience, very reasonable pricing, and the wines are excellent too, desserts are the icing on the cake, I could go on and on, the down side is that it is not in the mainstream/heart of where it all happens in town, but then that's to our advantage as this well kept secret will soon be discovered and we will be queuing down the Roman Road. talented, handsome chef and delightful staff make for a perfect evening out!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Divonne-les-Bains
1 review
“Punching above its weight..!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014 via mobile

Before you enter your senses begin to tell you that you've made a good choice, a little oasis on Roman Rd. The sense of enjoyment develops as you enter a neatly presented, bright modern restaurant offering a warm welcome. The menu was varied and interesting and the wine list provided a good choice of well priced wines. The staff were professional and knowledgable and the food was delicious! Value for money and a great evening out, we will definitely return.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palmers also viewed

 

Been to Palmers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palmers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.