We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Judd Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Judd Hotel to your Saves list
Judd Hotel
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   46 Cartwright Gardens | Bloomsbury, London WC1H 9EL, England (Camden / Primrose Hill)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #245 of 535 London B&B and Inns
Rialto, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great hotel and great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Friendly atmosphere very helpful with directions and other information. Three of us stayed three nights full of sightseeing. Location close to Underground at St. Pancras and Kings Cross. Nice and very quiet area to stay in. Room was very clean and en-suite adequate, shower stall a bit small, but very clean. Would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    138
    72
    41
    25
See reviews for
74
92
27
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

This hotel is in my favourite part of London - Cartwright Gardens. This is around 7 minutes' walk from Kings Cross station, and is on a very quiet avenue, so it's actually possible to get some sleep. The welcome was friendly and the room was spotlessly clean, and the dark apricot walls were smart.

However, the double room was the smallest one I've ever stayed in in London. It was on the third floor, with no lift, so I struggled up the tiny winding staircase with the suitcase. The room was so small that the double bed was pushed to the wall under the window. The end of the bed was 0.5 of a stride to the wall and the bathroom 1.5 strides from the other side of the bed. The exit to the door was 4 strides away from the side of the bed. The bathroom was smart, but just had a tiny shower. And, when I arrived, the air conditioning did not work, and the temperature in the room was like a sauna. Fortunately, the Front Desk were able to reset it, and without visiting the room. The full English breakfast was good too. However, Studios2Let, which I've reviewed before, is only a few doors away, the rooms there are larger, and you can self-cater in your apartment, and look over the gardens.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

I'm glad I booked a double room for myself and that I was alone! The bed and room would have been very cosy indeed for two people, in fact, one would have had to climb over the other to get in and out of bed!

The room was very small indeed, but in fairness was clean, warm and nicely decorated, comfortable bed and newly decorated/tiled bathroom - again very compact but served a purpose!

Easy walking distance from Euston and then from there to work so an easy and well priced stay for a one night business trip where I arrived late and left early :)

Room Tip: Book at least a double - even if you are alone! Both rooms and beds are very "compact" !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We stayed at this hotel only last week, and had chosen it because of its location. It's a 15-minute brisk walk to the British Museum, and only 20 minutes to Camden Market or the theatre area, Shaftsbury Avenue etc. In fact, the first two days we did a lot of walking (even up to Covent Garden) because the hotel is centrally located, close to the station and still in a quiet crescent. Tennis lovers can even practice in the central court opposite the hotel!
The rooms and bathrooms were tiny, but if you come to London to stay in your room, then you should pay twice as much for a bigger room in a luxury hotel. This one is good value for money, since we only used the room to sleep and spent most of the day and evening outdoors & on the go. The (full English) breakfast buffet is elaborate enough so that you don't have to eat the same every day if you don't want to, and the staff are very nice and helpful. I would certainly recommend this hotel to (functional) visitors.

Room Tip: If you prefer space, ask for a room that looks out on the crescent. The only noise the hotel suffers...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stillwater
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We stayed at the Judd Hotel during out week in London. The staff at the front desk were great! Very friendly and helpful during our stay. The breakfast in the morning was good and plentiful. The location is perfect for getting around London. The room was clean and comfortable. We will definitely stay there again during our next vacation to London!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverloch, Australia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights. Clean rooms, nothing flash! Handy to St. Pancras & Kings Cross. We had a bit of luggage so the 2 flights of stairs were difficult. We were originally given a room with a fold out bed, this was a bit ridiculous as they couldn't fold it away & i have no idea how anyone could sleep on it anyway, thankfully they moved us one floor back down. Breakfast was good.

Room Tip: Travel light!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Judd Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Judd Hotel

Address: 46 Cartwright Gardens | Bloomsbury, London WC1H 9EL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Camden / Primrose Hill , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #245 of 535 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Judd Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just minutes from King's Cross, St Pancras and Euston Rail and Underground Stations, the Judd Hotel is the ideal Bloomsbury Hotel. Opened in May 2010, it offers modern, comfortable and stylish rooms at very keen prices.The hotel occupies two classic London townhouses on Cartwright Gardens, an elegant Georgian crescent overlooking gated gardens and tennis courts. The gardens and courts are available for use by guests - an oasis of tranquillity in the heart of London.The Judd Hotel offers 38 rooms, all with en-suite bathroom, air conditioning, satellite television, and complimentary Wi-Fi. Our rooms can accommodate a single person from 57GBP per night and up to four people from 127GBP per night, inclusive of a generous cooked buffet breakfast and all taxes.Situated in the heart of London, with excellent transport links, the Judd Hotel provides the ideal location from which to explore London's historic sights, museums, theatres, restaurants and shops. Direct services from King's Cross St Pancras can transport you to Heathrow, Gatwick and Luton airports in under an hour or to Paris and Brussels in around two hours! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Judd Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Judd Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Judd Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.