We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of 9 Hertford Street

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added 9 Hertford Street to your Saves list
9 Hertford Street
9 Hertford Street | Mayfair, London W17DY, England (Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park )   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 644 Specialty Lodging in London
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Had a fantastic stay, great location for all the shops in central london and the apartment was really massive. Only downside was that the person next door played their music really loud all the time and there was a bit of traffic noise - so just ask for an apartment to the back of the building and not on the second floor where that noisy person is apparently living.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    7
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
20
17
2
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

These well priced, spacious, quiet and very comfortable apartments located in exclusive Mayfair are simply wonderful. My daughter and I stayed a week in a Deluxe apartment in November also taking advantage of the pick up service from the airport with their driver Tony who was a godsend after the flight from Sydney. We were able to check in to our apartment immediately upon arrival without incurring an extra cost. The manager Aude and her team were extremely pleasant and discreet. The property is located a short walk from Green Park underground and Buckingham Palace and the restaurants and eateries of Shepards Market are around the corner. The only inconvenience is that a couple of the cafes closeby don't take credit cards, so make sure you carry enough cash if having a morning coffee or picking up a very good quality takeaway meal to have in the apartment. We are already planning a return to London and wouldn't consider staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We often stay in London but always choose the hotel option but really wanted to get away from the impersonal feel of one so chose 9 Hertford Street after some friends recommended it. 9HS is fully serviced apartments within a stones throw of Hyde Park in the heart of Mayfair. We had the prestige apartment with the balcony and the rooms were clean, well appointed, comfortable and wonderfully luxurious. We arrived very early at about 8am and were made to feel extremely welcome from the onset. We were shown to our apartment - beautifully appointed, large dining room as you walk in; living room with large TV and satellite channels - traditionally furnished room.

Kitchen well appointed with everything you'd expect - although we ate out all weekend so didn't make as much use - although for long term stay you needn't go out if you didn't want to.

Lovely bright bathroom; large double bedroom with lots, lots of storage space and balcony which extends from the living room. Bed fabulously comfortable with feather down duvet and pillows.

The location of course is the star of the show and its so great to just wonder around Mayfair - a leisurely walk around Hyde or Green Park round the corner; cocktail hour at Galvins Windows on the 28th Floor at Hilton Park Lane, supper at The Dorchester; a tipple at LouLous; clubbing in Berkley Square club and then home within five minutes walk - how could you fault it?

The staff are very helpful and accommodating and cannot do enough for you. Understated but attentive - 9HS was such an inspired choice and definitely epitomises the London scene at a such a wonderfully decent price. Highly recommended. ZNJ

Room Tip: The rooms on the first floor with the balcony - fabulous!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

High quality serviced apartments which make a wonderful base for visiting London.

Location: If you know London you'll know straight away that this is a great location; if you're not familiar with London well trust me, Mayfair is a great base (which is why the area is so hugely expensive, even for London - the great and the good pick the best places). But even though you're in the heart of town this area, Shepherd Market, is like a cosy little self-contained village; you're minutes away from places like Park Lane, Piccadilly, Green Park, Bond Street and yet you're in a quiet little street with useful shops and great restaurants quite literally on your doorstep. But it's not a neglected backwater - taxis are plentiful so if you're aiming for somewhere a little further away (maybe Harrods or Buckingham Palace or Whitehall or theatreland) a taxi will get you there in a few minutes.

Facilities: The apartments are all similar, with slight variation in size at different costs, but all give you the key needs of a comfortable bedroom, an elegant sitting room, an adjoining dining room area, kitchen and bathroom; naturally these days you get wifi too. The top of the range flats have a generous covered balcony as well and big flatscreen TVs. To get the same floor area (admittedly somewhat more luxurious and with room service) you could go to the Dorchester a few minutes away and pay upwards of £4,000 a night. The website pictures are accurate; slight variations in furnishing styles between different flats but the pictures don't mislead. The sitting room is big enough easily to accomodate a fold-away bed if you need to sleep three (and the fold-away is actually rather comfortable) and the dining table seats four elegantly, six sensibly. And in the kitchen, if you're staying for a few days, it's good to have a dishwasher and a washing machine and a microwave and an oven. But if hard work using any of these is not your thing you can eat at a good restaurant or pub or get a takeaway, or drop stuff off at a same day dry cleaners, all just moments away, or leave the used cups for the maid to wash. Which leads to the staff ...

Staff: You get a family feel straight away from a patient, welcoming, hard-working team. At times you might have to wait a few minutes to get help (this is a small establishment so if the enormously helpful concierge is helping someone else for a moment you need to be patient) but it seems nothing is too much trouble. The maids are equally helpful and keep your flat clean and tidy every day.

Problems: Well there aren't any serious problems at all. If you want to be picky you could say you don't get much of a view from your balcony (but you could always wander off for a walk to see the sights). If you've a flat at the front and you like open windows then occasionally you might hear over-happy drinkers on their way to a club, but you hear that pretty much everywhere in London. You migt be very unlucky and stay on a day when the lift is out of service when your room is on the 4th floor (yes, you've guessed - it did once happen to me). You're unlikely to be able easily to book for a single night.

Summary: All in all I'd recommend Hertford St - I stay there for a week each month and I've had few problems and a consistent welcome. For the visitor to London it's ideal in so many ways and it's most unlikely you'd be disappointed choosing it for the comfort and you'd unquestionably be delighted for its location.

Room Tip: I find it's worth paying a little extra for a room with a balcony (and it's a spacious balco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Back at 9 Hartford street, it was such a pleasure to be back in these familiar grounds once again, my third time here and I love it! As soon as you get in, a warm welcome and a feeling of calm and warmth is the first thing that grabs you. Huge flat, splotless, comfy bed and the staff could not be more helpful and efficient. Location is perfect, could go aywhere I wanted on foot and Hyde Park 2mns away is an amazing "garden" to have so nearby. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

I traveled on business and enjoyed the quiet and spacious flat where I held a couple of meetings. The team was very charming and helpful. The concierge organized taxi transfer, theatre tickets and was very helpful.
5 minutes walk from Green Park tube station/ Hyde Park...

Room Tip: Bedroom and lounge had two large screen TVs
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

I couldn't recommend this place enough! I booked a week end away from home for our wedding anniversary. The suite was very spacious, quiet, and the manager had left a card and small present to congratulate us. The bedroom was huge with a massive and super comfy bed...the living room was classy and enormous. There were two big tvs- one in the living room and one in the bedroom- the kitchen is well equipped and there is a lot of storage. But the best part is the service- the General Manager- whose name is Aude- was exceptionally helpful giving us plenty of tips for places to eat, visit, travel tips and was generally very smiley and welcoming. This is far better than any 5 star hotel- much more intimate. The staff really make you feel special and relaxed. We felt rejuvenated when we left and headed for a delicious breakfast only a stone's throw away in Shepherds market and then walked through Hyde Park to Selfridges...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 9 Hertford Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 9 Hertford Street

Address: 9 Hertford Street | Mayfair, London W17DY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park 
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 644 Specialty Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you travel regularly, the comforts of home seem far away. In London, 9 Hertford Street can be your home. Our serviced apartments, in the very heart of Mayfair, offer the convenience of a luxury hotel with greater privacy and less formality. Whether you stay one night or several weeks, on business or vacation, 9 Hertford Street can be your home away from home in London. Our apartments are situated in historic Shepherd Market, one of London's most prestigious areas, and are just a short walk from Buckingham Palace, Piccadilly, West End theatres, galleries and shops, the finest restaurants and stunning Royal parks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your 9 Hertford Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
9 Hertford Street London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 9 Hertford Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.