We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent brunch option” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Caravan

Caravan
11-13 Exmouth Market, London, England (Islington / Clerkenwell)
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Caravan is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3,072 of 16,874 restaurants in London
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Islington / Clerkenwell
Description: Stunning new restaurant opened by the head chef from the Providores, who's name I think is Miles Kirby. Really exciting food, even at breakfast! But at dinner it seems packed and there's a real buzz to the place. The coffee, which they roast and grind downstairs, is sublime. The winelist, affordable and varied with many discoveries. It's obviously a restaurant that's here to stay!
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Excellent brunch option”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Recently had brunch here while traveling to London. It was recommended by a friend who lives near by and frequents this spot. Excellent option for a casual and relaxed brunch with interesting menu options (corbread french toast with avocado and arugal?) and a great atmosphere. We sat inside but there is outside seating available as well. Bonus that this is a place you'd find locals vs the beaten path packed with tourists. Would recommend and would visit again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

70% Recommend
    51
    84
    34
    13
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Lovely place for coffee and people watching”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

Went here for a coffee after some yummy food at one of the market stalls.

I had a gorgeous macchiato! Such lovely flavour, chocolately! I liked the attention they give to the wide range of coffees.

Nice service at the bar and waitress friendly. Would definetly come again and try the food. It does get busy though.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Loved this place, food, wine and atmosphere were fantastic.

We sat outside for a while, great for people watching.

Then we were taken to our table, The staff were so attentive and friendly.

We ordered lots of tapas dishes, and every dish we tried was superb.

Drank fabulous wine too.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

Took a friend here for lunch. Second visit for me and I enjoyed it again. We had starter,several side plate a little like a tapas lunch with a bottle of house white £70.
Good friendly staff and a positive and happy lunch.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good atmosphere and interesting menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Really like the atmosphere of the place and the service was great. Liked the sound of everything on the menu, just not sure how well all the dishes would go together. As it's tapas style eating this did give me a bit of a problem choosing. Everything I had tasted great though (although portions are a bit on the meagre side). Will just have to go back to try some more of the interesting menu.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caravan also viewed

London, England
London, England
 

Been to Caravan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caravan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.