We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lion King

The Lion King
21 Wellington St | Lyceum Theatre, London WC2E 7RQ, England
0844 871 3000
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$127*
and up
Ranked #73 of 1,022 Activities in London
Type: Performances
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Phenomenal London musical, The Lion King, is running with packed house at the opulent Lyceum Theatre London. The dazzling London show is mesmerizing theatre lovers of all ages successfully. The brilliant onstage presentation makes The Lion King delightful experience. The building of Lyceum Theatre had been used as a circus between the years 1794 and 1809. It was brought by Philip Astley after his amphitheatre was burnt to ashes at Westminister.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Yealmpton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Incredible”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

Amazing must see show. Blew me away!! Would recommend to anyone while in London as its too good to miss!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,446 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5,015
    1,015
    286
    101
    29
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Not my favourite broadway show”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

The theatre was beautiful and the show was very well organised but I felt that the performance in general was a bit dated. I have seen lots of shows on Broadway and the West End and this was my least favourite. The actress that played Rafiki gave one of the best performances I have ever seen though! Hilarious!

**On the contrary though, my boyfriend absolutely loved it and said it was the best night of his life!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Spectacular costumes. Lively and colourful show. Fabulous, dramatic music. Enjoyed every moment! Great for all ages.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Buy tickets in advance - if you can.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

I have still not seen the movie, as I don't really like Disney - and I was reluctant to see the show as I thought the story would be cheesy and lame. I was right, it was! But despite this I loved every second because of the costuming, performers, orchestra, innovative scenery and staging. Yes, it's totally aimed at kids. I have seen other reviews on here slating the actors' performances. I disagree - this is a live stage show with real human beings who don't have the chance for a second or third takes, close-ups and other ambient camera angles. The staging was brilliant and all of the performers were great to watch. There were a lot of 'wow' moments. I would definitely recommend it. We bought out tickets online a month or so beforehand for £60 each and got to sit in the very back row of the stalls. Perfect view for a good price.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A must watch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

The show was absolutely great in all aspects. Brilliant showcase of lights, music and lovely performances. Its a must watch atleast once.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lion King also viewed

 

Been to The Lion King? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lion King, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.