We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed feelings” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The 39 Steps

The 39 Steps
Criterion Theatre | 2 Jermyn Street, London, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #48 of 1,081 attractions in London
Type: Performances
Attraction Details
Cairo, Egypt
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
41 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Seen this show recently on a Saturday night! I really enjoyed it, my husband hated it. I think he wasn't sure what to expect. I thought the show was well delivered, the actors were awesome and some of the comedy aspects were very entertaining. Worth a visit but I wouldn't pay top price for this show given the mixed views of hubby and I .

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    281
    98
    15
    9
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“True to the story but hilarious with it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

This is one of the MOST fantastic live shows I've ever been to for fun, frolics and thrills. The 4 actors are just amazing and they stuck to the thrilling plot.
Saw it at the Everyman Theatre, Cheltenham, February 2013

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
47 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Hilarious Comedy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

Hard to believe that every scene in Hitchcocks spy thriller is duplicated here on stage in the Criterion Theatre. So clever. A laugh a second. Location of this show is great, right on Piccadilly Circus. Very enjoyable and lots of fun.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“A charming production”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

The 39 Steps is an excellent production that radiates charm and humour from start to finish. Ticket prices are very reasonable for this cosy, Victorian theatre. I bought "restricted view" seats and it did not spoil my experience. I would recommend buying any ticket in the dress/upper circle, as they all have excellent vantage point.

The cast were fantastic and the overall experience was completely enjoyable. So much thought and care has been put into this production, it is most definitely a must see for theatre-goers.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poulton Le Fylde, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good show”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Not really my thing but enjoyed it, the theatre is beautiful and the 4 actors are excellent and work very hard.
Very fast, we got excellent seats in the stalls at love theatre.com for 24.00
If you've got a spare evening it's worth a trip

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The 39 Steps also viewed

 
London, England
 

Been to The 39 Steps? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The 39 Steps, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The 39 Steps to your Saves list