We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“39 steps” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The 39 Steps

The 39 Steps
Criterion Theatre | 2 Jermyn Street, London, England (St. James's)
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 277 Theater & Concerts in London
Attraction details
Colchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“39 steps”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

brilliantly acted by just 4 actors playing various roles through the storyline. Very funny, good old fashioned comedy. Try to book seats further back than the first few rows as it's a small theatre. There is smoke haze used at times which I found irritated my eyes (we were in the 3rd row on the left side) However there is a lovely surprise at the end of the show which you benefit from if you sit that close! Well worth going to see. I usually go to see musicals so was unsure if I would like this type of play but I am so glad we went, thoroughly enjoyed it.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    389
    143
    26
    14
    16
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ascot, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
52 attraction reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great evening out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Lovely little theatre, doesn't matter where you sit you will be able to see and hear. Seats not terribly comfortable but not too bad. Great show, four actors act their hearts out playing numerous different roles, very funny indeed. We had a great evening. And it's not that long so you don't have to worry about last trains etc!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A unique and thrilling performance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Decided to go watch this on a spur of the moment as the book is one of my favourites, and thoroughly enjoyed it. Despite how long this show has been running, it was funny, energetic and gloriously imaginative. The best play that I've seen in a long time. The theatre is also a fantastic little find.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Lovely evening at the theatre with friends”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

This was my favorite London Broadway experience, and The 39 Steps was a great choice! I went with a group of friends, and we all laughed the entire way through. The actors are extremely talented and play a multitude of roles. Highly recommended for anyone looking for an exciting, funny play to watch.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire, England
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Laugh out loud, unique entertainment.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Took our friends as part of a birthday celebration with an excellent deal for the Wednesday matinee, the theatre itself in the centre of Piccadilly circus is delightful. Very small but very atmospheric, we were in the stalls but both circles looked like giving very good (and not too distant) views. How do you describe the 39 Steps? As far as i can tell almost word for word the classic 30's Robert Donat film but sooooooooooo funny! 4 actors play all the parts and there are moments of pure genius, as we left one our friends said 'You know I'd like to see that again' praise indeed from a gentleman who is often hard to please. Try and spot all the Hitchcock film references, trouble is you're so busy laughing you forget. Lots of steps to the stalls so if you find steps difficult opt for the the circle.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The 39 Steps also viewed

 
London, England
 

Been to The 39 Steps? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The 39 Steps, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.