We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware !” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Shaftesbury Suites London Marble Arch

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Shaftesbury Suites London Marble Arch to your Saves list
Shaftesbury Suites London Marble Arch
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   41 Great Cumberland Place, London W1H 7LG, England (Marylebone)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE BREAKFAST & WIFI
Ranked #663 of 1,049 Hotels in London
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beware !”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Had booked the hotel many weeks in advance (by phone) and had phone ,only to arrive on the day of the reservation to find out that it was a BASEMENT ROOM !

I am familiar with London and some of its quirky hotel rooms, but clearly the fact that it was a basement room should have been CLEARLY INDICATED upon reservation.

What made things worse is that for the next 2 days the hotel kept promising they would offer me another room - only for them to OFFER AGAIN THE SAME ROOM.

The most funny (or infuriating) conversation was

Me: "do you have a room then ?"
Hotel:"yes sir we do as promised we have managed to sort something out in one of our other properties"
Me:"Great. on what floor is it?"
Hotel:"it is in the basement"
Me:"!!!!!! so you dont have a room for me !?"
Hotel: "we do - in the basement"

If you do not like being taken for a ride then this is not a hotel for you.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    22
    13
    10
    17
See reviews for
8
27
4
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our room was on the ground floor but we heard no street noise. It was a room for three people with a double bed and a sofa bed. It was small but very comfortable with complimentary fruit bowl, shortbread, mineral water, coffee and tea. It even had a microwave oven with plates and cutlery. The staff was very polite, smiling and helpful. The location is unbeatable. I didn't mind the one minute walk to the partner hotel for breakfast. I would happily stay there again.

Room Tip: It has no lift so if you don't want to climb stairs book a room on the ground floor. Our room wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newport
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

Booking in was down road in another hotel. Very small rooms where clean but tiny. Road & passes by noisy.
Was informed breakfast not included good job we had confirmation email. Breakfast also in another hotel
Would not stay again even for 1 night stay.

Stayed March 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2015

the location is great.!!!!!!!! on the corner of oxford street! near the hyde park.
its avery nice hotel/ very small. without elevator.4 floors.all steps. rooms are very small. better to take the club room!me were removed to the club room and were very satisfied Compared to a regular room we got at first and was extremely small.
the staff is so so nice and helpful.
sonia and kowsar are great great great.give the best service ever.
the breakfast is not at the same building. you have to go the marble arch hotel (near by).

very clean!!!!
free wifi at the hotel!!!

at the corner you have big super market, pharmacy, Pret a Manger , macdonalds!!

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2014

The hotel is located a couple minutes walk from Marble arch , and oxford street.

The Hotel is very clean , rooms are rather small . I got an upgrade upon check-in but the single deluxe room is very small, no place to but ur luggage.

The bathroom was great and very neat .

Book early via premier members club to get a good rate. Get a room near the reception to move fast.

Breakfast was great too.

Reception staff was very professional, the nice strong lady in the reception carried my big bag out to the taxi.

Would defiantly book it again.

Stayed December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TLV, Israel
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2014

Hi, stayed with my daughter for 5 nights.
This apt hotel has, i think, 8-10 rooms, 2 on each floor.
The reception is tiny and there are 2 chairs to sit there, but bottom line no lobey. Checking in and out is being done at another hotel very close to this one, same goes for breakfast ( if u want to eat there, but no need as there is a great breakfast place mid-way between Oxford St and the hotel. )

Pros
1. 2 min walk from the Marble Arch tube station.
2. Rooms are very elegant - good value for money
3. Excellent service from the staff

Challenging
1. If yr room is on the 3-4 floors then it's very steep to climb - not to mention with yr suitcase ir even ur shopping bags... They do assist of course.
2. The bathroom is wayyyyy tooo dark.
3. The mattress is wayyy too soft. Not to mention in the extra sofa. They invested so much in everything, why bring mattresses that won't fair well with us??
The proximity to Oxford enables endless dining option. There are 2 great restaurants on the same street.

Stayed November 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Polokwane, South Africa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2014

The location of the Shaftesbury suites is the best think it has going for it. The website is misleading and the suites are small. Reception staff do not speak fluent English and check in was a lengthy process. There were five of us, all allocated different rooms.
Mine was downstairs (nr 3). My room was small but clean with a very comfortable bed. The chair at the desk takes up the entire walkway go the bathroom so I ended up kicking my toes daily!
The room safe in the cupboard is on its side and is almost impossible to make use of as one cannot lift the door unless you have the grip of a rock climber. There is also a green light on the ceiling (for security purposes) which they should consider covering in some way as it emirates a rather bright light. Every morning before 6am I was woken up by someone running up or down the stairs, sounding like a heard of elephants were going to fall through my ceiling. I think it may have been housekeeping as their storeroom is opposite my suite.
My colleagues stayed in suite nr7 which is at reception so they could hear every guest who came and went and then the last of our colleagues were put upstairs, up several flights of stairs.
Choose your suite carefully in order to make your stay a pleasant one.

Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Shaftesbury Suites London Marble Arch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shaftesbury Suites London Marble Arch

Address: 41 Great Cumberland Place, London W1H 7LG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Marylebone
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #663 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shaftesbury Suites London Marble Arch 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Shaftesbury Suites London Marble Arch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shaftesbury Suites London Marble Arch Hotel London
Shaftesbury Suites London Marble Arch England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shaftesbury Suites London Marble Arch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.