We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty Nice Place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Palmers Lodge Hillspring

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Palmers Lodge Hillspring to your Saves list
Palmers Lodge Hillspring
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   233 Willesden Lane, London NW2 5RP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #74 of 684 Specialty Lodging in London
Madrid, Spain
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Pretty Nice Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

The place was nice and the rooms and beds were great. it smelled like mold and water though which was gross. The bathrooms were not very clean though. The staff seemed nice though and the vibe overall was good. The location was a little too far out, but I would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert S, Manager at Palmers Lodge Hillspring, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Hi

Thank you for your review, we hope to see you again in the future.


Regards

Robert Stanca

Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    130
    52
    17
    10
See reviews for
23
41
99
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ampthill, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

I stayed here because I was working nearby and wanted to avoid the terrible traffic in rush hours, and it offered parking - tricky in this part of London.
The place has a nice atmosphere, and because I'm too old to share I paid for unique use of an ensuite twin room. I was surprised that the meaning of ensuite didn't include a toilet, which meant sharing general facilities at the end of the corridor with young students, many of whom clearly didn't know how to flush.
I was a bit annoyed when I checked in around 7 the first night, having asked if the restaurant was open, I was told it was - until 10, but when I went to investigate what was on offer, it was closed to all guests except one large party for an hour, which meant I had to go out again to eat.
In the room, everything was clean and the shower was excellent, although I found it odd that the corridor was suffocatingly hot but (on the first night) my room fairly cold. There was also no TV in the room.
Wireless connection was difficult because they seem to have 3 different routers competing for your device's attention all with different login arrangements and it was only available in the general reception (quite noisy for working in, especially the young woman with the American accent). Breakfast was adequate - toast and (one -there was a sign) croissant.

Staff were friendly and helpful and it certainly felt a safe place to stay, with good security. Definitely recommended for students and young travellers on a budget.

Room Tip: If you're there and need to work, ask if you can have a room away from any large parties of chil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Titus W, General Manager at Palmers Lodge Hillspring, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Hello
Thank you for your feedback, I had a look at your booking an you did book a Twin Shower with a shared bathroom but I'll chase the receptionist to find out what they might have said to you.
With regards to the WiFi we are putting in a better service and full coverage in every room towards the end of April, we've already rolled this out at our sister site and it's working very well. Annoyingly only our ensuite rooms have TV and coffee/tea making facilities in them but we are planning to roll them out for all our private rooms.
Our apologies for the dinner scenario but we had a group of 70 all wanting dinner at the same time so it did cause some disruption to our other guests.
Should you feel like staying with us again please drop us an email and I'll arrange a 20% discount for you :)
Thanks again for the feedback it is all helpful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isparta, Turkey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

They have friendly staff, good transport position, social and attractive ambiance...Breakfast and dinner facilities are good and they have a very authentic rest room. It is easy to make friends for the single travelling ones so that you dont feel alone in the evening or he morning after a tiring London sightseeing...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther M, Manager at Palmers Lodge Hillspring, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Caglar

Thank you for your feedback. I am very pleased to learn that you had a pleasant stay at hostel -and also that you also made a few new friends while spending time in our common areas.

We hope to see you back at Hillspring Lodge very soon.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

If you're traveling alone and looking for people to hang out with... this place is for you. It's loud. There's always a ton of people around the bar, pool table, couches, tables, smoking cigarettes outside, etc. The free breakfast was not exciting, a croissant, toast, cereal. They serve dinner but I never tried anything. I stayed in a 4 person dorm on the second floor; it was comfortable with a sink in the room and a locker for each bed. Hot showers, clean bathrooms. They had WiFi and a few computers. This place is off the Jubilee tube and a short walk from the Willesden station.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther M, Manager at Palmers Lodge Hillspring, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Mermaidyogy

Thank you very much for your enthusiastic review. We really appreciate your opinion and we are happy to read that you had a good time at our hostel. We hope to see you back sometime soon!

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Godmanchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Stopped here for one night back in July of 2012 as I was attending a concert. Needed somewhere cheap to stay and ended up booking a spot in a 10 bed mixed dorm. Considering I only paid £14 it was a brilliant place to stay, clean rooms, friendly employees, and only a short ride into central London on the tube. Best hostel I have stayed in so far!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther M, Manager at Palmers Lodge Hillspring, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear SourEnvy

Thank you very much for your honest review. We are glad to know that you had a nice time at Hillspring Lodge. We hope to see you back in our hostel very soon.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Well where shall I begin... The staff are very friendly and helpful and the rooms fulfilled our requirements however in the morning we were abruptly awoken several times due to loud noise made from groups in the corridor outside of our room. Breakfast was also an issue the choice is very very limited... Although considering the costs we were not expecting much. The location is also not very convenient. Every attraction we travelled to required us to get onto the tube or take a taxi which increased the money we spent. Next time we go we're going to stay some where a bit more expensive but in a more convenient area due to this.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther M, Manager at Palmers Lodge Hillspring, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear Paul

Thank you for your review. We are pleased to read that you had a good stay at our taking into account that is not a hotel and of course, the price. Our breakfast includes three types of cereal, milk, croissants, toast, jams and butter and well as unlimited juice and hot drinks, we think that is pretty good value considering that it’s free and that our low season rates can go as little as £15 per person in a 4 bed dorm.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

I have stayed here twice when visiting london and it is the best hostel I have ever stayed in. I have been all over the world and stayed in many terrible hostels and it is a joy to find this place. It is by far the cleanest hostel I have stayed in where bathrooms are cleaned hourly with plenty of showers and toilets on each floor. The staff are very welcoming and have always worked on my requests.

There is a free breakfast every morning though it serves basics such as cornflakes and milk however it does the job. I stayed in a 22 bed dorm and a ten and they were both good. Each bed gets its own curtain to retain some privacy which is good and there is storage space for each person.

The only problem i had with the hostel was that it takes on large groups of german teenagers which can make the cafeteria and bar quite busy. Apart from that I would recommend this place and i doubt you will find better value for money in london.

Jonathan G

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther M, Manager at Palmers Lodge Hillspring, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Jonathan

Thank you for your positive review. We are very glad to learn that you enjoy staying at our hostel and that you rank us so high up on your list.

School groups stay in hostels all over Europe, we are very strict with the ones we take so they tend to be very well behaved. Having said that, we will love to have a higher ratio of independent travellers, so please keep spreading the word!.

We appreciate that school groups can occasionally make the dining area busy early in the mornings, but they don’t tend to stay more than 30 minutes and quickly leave to explore London. As our dining area is open from 7:30am - 10am and from 5:30pm until midnight there are plenty of opportunities for our independent guests to enjoy this space on the own.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Palmers Lodge Hillspring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palmers Lodge Hillspring

Address: 233 Willesden Lane, London NW2 5RP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 684 Specialty Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Palmers Lodge Hillspring 2*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stay in affordable accommodation doesn't have to mean a sacrifice in quality. At boutique backpackers Palmers Lodge Hillspring you will find many of the creature comforts you have in your own home, and many you wouldn't. Spacious living areas, quality furnishings, fully licensed bar and restaurant are just some of the reasons for choosing to stay at Palmers Lodge Hillspring on your next London visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and Priceline so you can book your Palmers Lodge Hillspring reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillspring Hotel London
Palmers Lodge Hillspring London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palmers Lodge Hillspring, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.