We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seafood and desert” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hill

The Hill
89 Royal Hill | Greenwich, London SE10 8SE, England
+44 20 8691 3626
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,436 of 17,998 Restaurants in London
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: A warm and friendly restaurant and bar with a light and airy atmosphere serving a wonderfully varied Mediterranean menu (with a distinctly Latin American twist!). We are located in Greenwich, South East London, on the corner of Royal Hill and Point Hill, just a short walk from Greenwich DLR and mainline station.
London
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Seafood and desert”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

The seafood linguine was incredibly tasty - a freshly cooked full plate. My other half fancied a dessert and persuaded me to join her. I had the tiramisu and was not disappointed (I regularly am). Fantastic service, friendly atmosphere and (unusually) a decent selection of beers.

We will be back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    35
    8
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best place in Greenwich.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

I think we have tried the whole menu by now and never been disappointed. Time to share our experience!
The place is a bit away of the center (only 5 min walking), they have a lovely and quiet big back garden. We are looking forward for sunny days to enjoy it.
My husband's favourite is the fillet steak with pepper sauce (so tender, as he said), while I personnaly like to try their weekly specials, especially their fresh fish. But never leave The Hill without a dessert(they are homemade), you must try them! I highly recommend the almond tart with cinnamon ice cream.
The food is very high quality and always fresh. It is definitely value for money.
We really love this place, the staff is very attentive and the service prompt and with a smile.
We will be back soon!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Best Restaurant in Greenwich!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Having now eaten at The Hill four times in the last month or so I can highly recommend it! The food is really delicious, the setting/ambience relaxed and pleasant, and the waiters/staff are friendly. We were able to reserve a table at short notice for dinners with family and friends. There aren't too many smart, non-chain, sit-down restaurants in Greenwich and this one offers freshly cooked tasty meals (special shout out for the pizzas and the lemon cheesecake). The outdoor space is a bonus and we really like the decor and music as an additional plus. The only minor negative was that the specials haven't changed in the period we've been going.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Slow service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

Long wait for the starters - then 3/4 wait for the mains left us disgruntled. Not a good experience. My food was fine but others were dissatisfied. Can't recommend it on that basis, sadly.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersham
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

This venue was recommended by a family member as being up there with the best so we were really very disappointed when The Hill didn't come up to scratch.

Ok first off and always a failure - charging for bread to eat with a dish that has a sauce. If I want to be ripped off in that way I go on a Ryanair flight (only £2 but it is the principle). Sauce splashed across the plate with no presentational thought on not well prepared scallops set the scene for a poor eating experience.

And then a 40+ minute wait between starter and main. Only the threat of leaving and not paying for what we had already eaten, including bread, seemed to wake them up. Of course the two meals that had been sitting waiting for the others to be prepared were luke warm and over heated, the pork still had moisture only because it was swimming in an unrecognisable fluid.

We go to Greenwich often but we won't go to The Hill again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hill also viewed

 

Been to The Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.