We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Petrus

Petrus
1 Kinnerton Street | Knightsbridge, London SW1X 8EA, England (Knightsbridge / South Kensington)
020 7592 1609
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Petrus is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 16,892 restaurants in London
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Neighborhood: Knightsbridge / South Kensington
Description: Renowned throughout London and beyond, Petrus is one of the biggest names on the restaurant scene. With the world-renowned Gordon Ramsay behind the scheme to raise Petrus - now located on Knightsbridge's Kinnerton Street - from the ashes, the restaurant exudes the famous Ramsay sense of luxury combined with down-to-earth charm. Decorated in subtle tones of champagne, oyster and copper along with the claret red which inspired the restaurant's name, Petrus's beguiling interior is superbly decadent and romantic and actually quite intimate. In the kitchen, Head Chef Sean Burbidge is creating its trademark modern French menu. At Petrus the highest-quality ingredients go into dishes that combine delicious familiar flavours with unique presentation. Expect waves of divine amuse-bouches and a stupendous wine list, including a long list of vintages of Petrus to make it all perfect.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Everything at Petrus is amazing... that is the only word to describe it! From the moment you walk in till the very last you will be treated as a star. Of course the food is a spectacle on its own! We had the chefs menu which included 5 courses and all of them were excellent! One of the starters that had the scallops was special for us!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,190 reviews from our community

93% Recommend
    1,784
    256
    106
    28
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Österreich
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“What a dream!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

This restaurant stands for perfection! The food is perfect, the service is perfect, the atmosphere is perfect! We will definitely return, it was a great experience and the best restaurant we have ever been to!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Highly enjoyable lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Tried to make a reservation at Restaurant Gordon Ramsay for Dec in Oct but it was fully booked.
Decided to try Petrus instead and we were not disappointed at all!
The food was fantastic and the service was excellent.
Three-course lunch at 35 GBP. Totally worth it! Highly recommended.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Almost faultless”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We entered here wondering if the restaurant would match the hype surrounding it.

A place such as this is always under pressure to deliver the highest standards and to our delight it did.

First class service without being intrusive, splendid wine list and the most delicious food. Delicious pork belly, duck, foie gras, scallops, snails amongst other things. Delicious cheese table and the chocolate sphere for desert was outrageous. Truly delicious.

If I could find a fault, and this was very difficult to do, it would be that they did not remove the few crumbs off our table but that would be me being pedantic and unnecessarily critical.

Fabulous restaurant.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Very good but not excellent anymore”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

This was our second visit to Petrus. We visited for lunch both times.

We arrived a little early but were taken directly to our table. We ordered a drink, but did not receive menus for about 15-20 minutes or so. We were quite hungry after shopping on Sloane St all morning but were not given bread until we had ordered our food and received our amuse bouche, which was annoying.

The waiter was very nice and bilingual. However, I think that there were not enough wait staff on because the plates were left in front of us for a long time after eating and we did not have the same waiter throughout and it seemed somewhat chaotic at times. After our mains, I had to hail a waitress to take our plates away which had been sitting there for some time, which was a little frustrating.

The food itself was lovely. The ox cheek main on the lunch menu was divine and the chocolate sphere dessert was great (although very rich). The lunch menu is well worth the £35 set price. My only issue was that the main protein portion was huge. It was all perfectly cooked, but, for me, just a little too much food. Obviously, for many people, this may be a positive!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Petrus also viewed

 

Been to Petrus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Petrus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.