We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Lunch, average service.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lpdj

Lpdj
Westfield, London W12 7SH, England
020 8743 3022
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11,458 of 17,929 Restaurants in London
Price range: $1 - $39
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Great Lunch, average service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Looking for a spot for lunch with family and found this gem outside Westfield. We had beef Carpaccio, Lobster, Scallops and each dish was amazing. Great portion size, beautifully cooked, well presented. Service was average as the restaurant was empty but we were still seated in a corridor and asked to move our chairs...not sure who was walking by. We were left alone most of the time, so not sure how well they would cope if they had more than the 2 tables occupied when we visited. I am giving them the benefit of the doubt based on the amazing food. The food was also exceptionally well priced. My full lobster was £16.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    41
    19
    14
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“good food, but you have to wait”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Went there last year. Good food, we went for the lobster platter. Service was great...when the lobster platter came out we both stared at wondering where to start, the staff showed us how to dig in to it. Price not bad either. Only thing I'll say is that we had to wait a while for our food. Atmosphere was ok...I like more of a lively experience and it was very quiet in there.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Only average attempt at a French restaurant.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

There is something a little soul-less about this restaurant. The décor is quite nice, but nothing special, the service was ok, but not great, the food was mediocre, certainly nothing to rave about, and the price, well, also, pretty average.

What is good about this restaurant, is that it departs from the norm of chain restaurants at Westfield. This could make it stand out and capitalise on its difference and attract a more upmarket clientèle at Westfield but it just doesn't seem to manage that either.

Very average.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Nice resturant offering good French food with some good special offers. Good value for money, nice atmosphere, although there good be a better choice of value wine. Espicially nice for groups.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Disgusting And A Disgrace With A Capital "D"”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

I couldn't wait to get back home and write this review. If there was ever a restaurant that needed to call it a day it's this ... .

My husband, a friend of ours, and I had all met up at Westfield and decided to try this place out as the menu looked decent enough.

We were greeted by a manager who -although was smiling- looked like he was about to throw in the towl and leave. Our waitor then came around with bread and butter and informed us that "a few items" including the "Soup Of The Day" and the "French Soup" were sold out including the venison, the crab salad and God knows what else!

Still, We decided to order two stoganoffs and one cod with lobster sauce. The food arrived after quite a wait ... And boy did I later wish that it hadn't. The stroganoffs were swimming in a brown/dishwater thing of a sauce while the cod looked an unappetising, stale piece of fish which should have been binned months ago. Then came the tasting ... The meat of the stroganoff was chewy, bland and simply awful! It's sauce was even worse! My husband and friend couldn't even pick at it with the morsel of greesy rice that was offered on the side. The cod was every bit of the lump of tasteless, bland and dated fish that it looked. We just couldn't eat anything! Nothing was edible except for the bread and butter and the side salad we had ordered. Even the side vegetables were swimming in butter and were quite unappetising ... WTH!

Our waiter did come to ask us how we were enjoying our food ... He was quite poker-faced when we began to tell him how awful our whole experience was turning out to be and simply said "well, this is how we serve our food" .... SERIOUSLY?!!!! Thank you so much for clarifying! Had you not explained we would never have guessed!

The manager -however- was another thing altogether! He totally ignored the fact that he had 3 unsatisfied customers and did not deign to even approach our table and hear what we had to say for himself.

We ended up paying GBP67 for NOTHING! In hindsight ... I wish to God I had thrown that very same amount down the drain.

DO NOT GO THERE PEOPLE!

P.S. There were only three other tables with people having dinner and two couples at the bar in a quite spacious, empty restaurant. Yes, the place was totally empty.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lpdj also viewed

 

Been to Lpdj? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lpdj, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.