We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food, Grate service!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Boho Mexica

Boho Mexica
151 - 153 Commercial Street, London E1 6BJ, England (East End / East London)
020-7377-8418
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Boho Mexica is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9,970 of 18,011 Restaurants in London
Price range: $23 - $39
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: East End / East London
Transit: Liverpool Tube Station, Old St Tube Station, Shoreditch High Street Overground
Description: Mexican Tapas restaurant located in City of London
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good Food, Grate service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

I have been to Boho after reading very promesing reviews.
The place is very cool and the service is very warm.
I found the food very very nice, the posole was good, the tortillias were very nice and traditional, I had a main caurse of pork (i cant remember the name) that was too sweet and I will score it avarage. They also have a nice choice of tequilas and mexcal.
The food overall was nice but a bit overpiced.
Service was grate, very warm and friendly.
I will definetly come back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    36
    14
    18
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Lovely restaurant with great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

Went here last night hasn't planned it but passed it on the way to Spottalfields market. They were very busy but managed to get us a table. The food was lovely chicken in my meal was soft tender and very tasty! Definately would go back - word of warning the chilli beer is pretty hot. Couldn't fault this restaurant worth a visit.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Give this place a chance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

I took my wife here for Valentines Day. The atmosphere was great, very authentic decor, and we quickly settled in with some cocktails whilst exploring the extensive menu. Some lovely traditional dishes on there, not just your las iguanas style fare. Really enjoyed trying new things. The service was fine for us. I think it's a bit overpriced but not too bad (starters, mains and 2 cocktails each was £90 inc service). Would certainly go back.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Bland, rude, and uncomfortable.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Very rude and inconsistent service, overheated restaurant, crowded tables. Food heavy and very bland - I thought guacamole was impossible to get wrong, but in Boho's hands it is slimy, tasteless, and sits like a regretful toad in the stomach. Soft tortillas like sanitary wipes.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We had read great reviews of this restaurant, and were very excited about going there, but having both been to Mexico in the past we found the food disappointing: overcooked meat (very chewy pork, for example), which might have been forgiveable had it not also been lacking in taste. We expected big flavours, but they simply weren't there. Added to which, it is pretty expensive. I think you can get much better Mexican food in London, and cheaper. On the positive side, the atmosphere is really lovely and the service was excellent.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boho Mexica also viewed

London, England
 
London, England
 

Been to Boho Mexica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boho Mexica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.