We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Personal Attention” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marple Cottage Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in London
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Marple Cottage Guest House
Save
You added Marple Cottage Guest House to your Saves list
113 Woodside | Wimbledon, London SW19 7BA, England (Wimbledon)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #56 of 524 London B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dublin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Personal Attention”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

I stayed in Marple Cottage last week when going to Wimbledon tennis. Great location, clean & pleasant house, superb breakfasts. Very personal care & advice from owners Bridgeen & Phil, from tea & biscuits on arrival to arranging a taxi for our departure. Gentleman Phil also gave us lifts to tennis as my friend had limited mobility. I endorse the positive comments by other reviewers.

Room Tip: Room 1 at top of house had space for extra bed - this was good for 3 people in room. But windows wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    13
    0
    1
    2
See reviews for
18
14
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Wimbledon Welcome!
I am lucky enough to have a friend who invited me to the tennis at Wimbledon, but she also was clever enough to pick out a wonderful Guest House called Marple Cottage with the owners, Phil, Bridgeen and their son, Phil, who made us feel so welcome and at home. The cottage is charming – starting off when you enter the gate, flowers abound (the garden is tended by Bridgeen) and there is a wonderful garden to look out onto while having Bridgeen’s homecooked breakfasts in the mornings. Wimbledon might be famous for its strawberries and cream, but fresh strawberries, raspberries and blueberries abound at Marple Cottage! These are accompanied by copious amounts of other delights such as yoghurts, cereals, juices etc. and then you are invited to order whatever concoction takes your fancy for your typical English Breakfast – all freshly prepared and delivered with a smile by either Bridgeen or her husband Phil. Phil, Jnr. meantime, is busy doing whatever he can to make everything run smoothly in the background. He made my life easier by printing out my boarding passes and direction maps. He will book theatre tickets and taxis and if one’s case might be too heavy (from too much shopping perhaps), he will readily help with that too! Marple Cottage is approximately a 12 minute walk from the main Wimbledon Station where there are plenty of restaurants and shops and of course it is not far to walk to the Wimbledon courts (approx 20 mins) and to the lovely High Street in Wimbledon Village where there are some fabulous shops and restaurants too. If you are looking for a place to stay at any time of the year, then look no further than this.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back may be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

we having been staying at this guest house during wimbledon now for 5 years. we have recommended it to friends who have also stayed. It is absolutely fabulous, owners are so friendly and so lovely. Nothing is too much trouble. Rooms are great, very clean and comfortable and breakfast is great too. will definitely be staying here again during Wimbledon next year and will also recommend it to friends. can't speak highly enough of this place

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

stayed 3 nights in early may 2013 at Marple Cottage.Great host in Phil, spotless B&B, tastefully decorated, large comfortable room facing the street but very little street noise during the night, maybe some heavier curtains as the room became light early (from my point of view)
great breakfasts with a wide variety to choose from.perfect location with small shopping strip at your door or 5 minute bus ride to main part of wimbledon for wider range. trains also 5 minutes away.Phil was always on hand to assist with anything you needed, a veryfriendly person indeed.
this was our last 3 nights in London after 5 weeks of touring and was a great place to finish off with.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 1 week in this beatiful b&b when in London in April 2013. It was fabulous and I really loved every aspect of my stay from the lovely hosts to the large and beatiful decorated room to the wonderful location! I loved the fact it was near a metro stop, London's metro is huge!!!

The building is lovely and very 'English', the owners even offered me a cup of amazing English tea as welcome drink. Perfect just perfect.
Maple b&b!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Our family now includes Uncle Phil, Auntie Brigette....and cousin Phillip. Anyone staying at the Marple Cottage will immediately know what this statement means: warmth, hospitality, a wonderful "breakkie", and some of the most genuinely kind people you will ever have the pleasure to meet on your journey. Many thanks and "Kudos"!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paranaque, Philippines
Top Contributor
286 reviews 286 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Marple cottage is a very good choice for budget travelers going to London. It is about a 15 minute walk to the underground train station.
Cleanliness is top-notch. The toilet is a bit small but very clean.
Breakfast is quite enjoyable. The hosts are very warm & friendly.
Not a lot of restaurants near the vicinity so you may have to walk around 15 minutes to get to the shops near the train station.
My only gripe though is that the stairs leading to the upper floors may be too steep for older people.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marple Cottage Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marple Cottage Guest House

Address: 113 Woodside | Wimbledon, London SW19 7BA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Wimbledon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 524 B&Bs / Inns in London
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marple Cottage Guest House is a long established family run Bed and Breakfast in the heart of Wimbledon, South London. We have been running Marple Cottage Guest House for over 25 years and aim to provide our guests with a comfortable and relaxing stay; whether on business, enjoying the many sights of London or visiting friends and family. A warm welcome awaits you at our friendly home away from home! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Marple Cottage Guest House London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marple Cottage Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.