We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great cricket atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Kia Oval

The Kia Oval
Surrey County Cricket Club | Kennington, London SE11 5SS, England (Formerly The Brit Oval)
0844 375 1845
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #518 of 2,327 things to do in London
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: International Cricket Venue and home of Surrey County Cricket Club, the Kia Oval is also a world class conference and events centre.
UK
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great cricket atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

Came here in the summer to watch Pakistan v West Indies for the champions trophy and it was a great game. We sat in the children's stand with out nephews, square of the wicket. View was quite good of the pitch and rest of the ground.

When fast bowlers are bowling it's quite difficult to see the ball. But you just watch the bowler and see the wicky either catch the ball or see a fielder chasing it to the boundary.

Unfortunately pakistan lost. But there was great atmosphere in the ground. When the crowd get behind a team. It's deafening. Fantastic when this happens. You can barely here yourself.

Good cricketing venue!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    15
    5
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln
Top Contributor
201 reviews 201 reviews
104 attraction reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
“A great day in the pavilion”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

I have been to the Oval several times before, usually for Tests but for the first day of the championship match against Middlesex in September I went with a member so was able to sit in the pavilion.

The pavilion seating is on several levels and you get some great panoramic views of London. Possibly the highlight of the day was a really brilliant lunch time carvery in the Alcock room from where you got a great view of the cricket. I have to say it is one of the best carveries I have ever had and very reasonably priced at around £12.50 - what I would call good 'English' food. Probably about 20 tables in there, all taken and the whole operation was very ably run by Irina.

At tea, we had a tour of the pavilion by our member host and I was absolutely amazed at the size of it and the number of bars and eateries, the lovely cricket paintings and pictures and the library and trophy room. I have been to Test grounds all over the world although rarely in the members section and the Oval pavilion was an absolute revelation, even to an experienced cricket watcher.

If you ever get the chance to have a day in the pavilion at the Oval, take it. The ground is well served by the Oval and Vauxhall tube stations. As it was still a lovely day at close of play I walked back to Kings Cross station, initially going by the south bank of the Thames with the Houses of Parliament opposite and by the London Eye and then across the river, through 'theatreland ' and back to Kings Cross - took around two hours allowing for stops and at a gentle walking pace.

A great day out.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“Cricket Brilliant, snack food dire!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Saw the last day of the final test. Very good seats, ground commentary on radio (£10) and a good result for England.
Decided to try a burger in ciabata - dire...meat overdone, dry and chewy as anything, ciabata bun was gruesome- The very worst burger I have ever encountered. Couldnt finish it - even at £6 a throw. Went outside for lunch in a local Indian (the Coriander on Kennington Street) brilliant!!!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Hurrah the food is NOT a rip off!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

I am very pleased to report that this location has seemingly not resorted to 'ripping off' hungry punters, somewhat worse off for booze and constrained by the fact that they are 'trapped' in the ground.

The choices of food is good, chips, fish n chips, burgers, teas coffees etc etc.
Although the food stalls seem to be churning out food like there was no tomorrow, the quality of the fish n chips was good, the portions wholesome and all very reasonably priced at around £7.

Well done!
Day 1, 5th Ashes Test 2013

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“County cricket”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Cricket, that most English of pursuits and one I frequent every summer. The Oval- my nearest ground, one can sense the commercialism of modernity clashing with the sanctified world of cricket- the Oval became the Brit Oval and now the Kia Oval- always the Oval to me. It has been redeveloped in the last ten years and now offers greatly improved sightlines from around the ground. Unfortunately, it has become much more expensive in recent years- Surrey was always good value until the last couple of years. However, cricket is a sport in which if one knows the right people and is at the right place at the right time, once can occasionally get in for nothing- priceless are the looks on the faces of the green and yellow coated 'football' steward army when confronted with this great English tradition of pulling strings. However, in 20 years I've only benefitted 3 times- once at the Oval, once at Beckenham and once at Uxbridge. So don't count your chickens. Unfortunately, football stewards have damaged the atmosphere of cricket- so if anyone reads our reviews, I myself and many I am sure would relish a return to the cherished old days with a few knowledgeable staff, children practising on the outfield in intervals (indeed I was one many a year ago) and no-one pedantically inspecting what people are bringing in or when people are entering stands. Indeed, most cricket folk know when to go in and out- I was shocked at the behaviour of one steward recently who tried to prevent me going to my end of row seat- that could not interrupt anyone. Gladly, he relented at my words of 'wisdom'. I do wish cricket could find its good old days again. However, one must do one's best to enjoy what is currently available in life. For anyone in London who enjoys cricket, I would recommend a day at the Oval.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Kia Oval also viewed

 

Been to The Kia Oval? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Kia Oval, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.