We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Multi-faceted great arts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kings Place

Kings Place
90 York Way, London N1 9AG, England
020 7520 1490
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #228 of 1,081 attractions in London
Type: Theaters
Attraction Details
Ireland
Top Contributor
247 reviews 247 reviews
198 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
180 helpful votes 180 helpful votes
“Multi-faceted great arts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

We were looking forward to seeing this relatively new and modern building, part of the major development taking place around King’s Cross.

We were fortunate that our visit coincided with the opening of an exhibition in the Gallery. This was the Rivalry of Flowers by Shani Rhys James. We walked around the rooms admiring the impressive and mainly large paintings. Other artists were also featured.

Given the welcome warm sunshine, we hoped to have some refreshments on the banks of the canal, but a private function was underway. We settled for the very pleasant fare and space provided by the Green & Fortune Café. The seating area was quite busy as some of the concerts were beginning soon and patrons were availing of some convivial sustenance.

We didn’t attend any performances on this occasion, but it is on our list for a future visit.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    10
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
St Albans
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great entertainment - as always”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Went to watch the Jazz jam session on Saturday night - really good to be part of. Just a shame it wasn't very well supported. Great array of musicians - all excellent.

We have been to a number of events at this venue - it never disappoints.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thionville
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Night out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

I had a night out here with a visit to see two American comedians at one of the two theatres after a meal in the Rotunda restaurant. The restaurant was very good value for London and the food was good and served quickly. The staff are friendly although they could do with a couple more as we had to skip coffee. The theatres are very good but I could not say that I was over impressed by the act. However considering prices elsewhere in London this was excellent value for money.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Remarkable new venue in Kings Cross”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

A short walk from Kings Cross Station there is a brand new venue for concerts with quite a bit of art on the walls too. There are two concert halls in the basement of this venue with comfortable seating and great accoustics. At ground level there is a bar and restaurant area leading on to a terrace overlooking the Regents Canal. There is also a take away food area. There is plenty of seating in the atrium and it looks as though it would be very pleasant in the summer.
This certainly looks as though it will be a great asset to the cultural life of London.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful concert”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

At a temporary visit in London, we visited Kings Place near Kings Cross. It is a modern building containing concert rooms, exhibition, cafe and restaurant. We had pre-booked tickets for a concert over the Internet - very comfortable. The concert was "Chopin Recital" with pianist Jean Muller, who was on a world tour. Jean Muller conducted a brilliant gig. The audience was enthusiastic and Mr. Muller performed three encores. An unforgettable evening!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kings Place also viewed

 

Been to Kings Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kings Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Kings Place to your Saves list