We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memories of South India...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sagar Vegetarian Covent Garden Restaurant

Sagar Vegetarian Covent Garden Restaurant
31 Catherine Street | Covent Garden, London WC2B 5JS, England (Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park )
020 7836 6377
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,888 of 17,940 Restaurants in London
Price range: $8 - $16
Cuisines: Asian, Indian, Vegan, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park 
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Memories of South India...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

... and discovering the masala dosa. It was so gratifying to find a good Indian restaurant, and near Covent Garden. The dosas are excellent, with good midday specials offered too.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    83
    32
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwalk, Connecticut
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Biggest. Dosa. Ever”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

This is a very nice vegetarian restaurant, with very nice servce, and convenient for pre-theater dinner. And they have the biggest dosas I've ever seen in my life.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good food enjoyable for all”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

Very pleasantly surprised after eating here. Service was good from booking through to leaving through the door.
The food was tasty and a good variety. There was a few of us on this visit each with different tastes and pallets and the food satisfied all of us. Our party had vegan, veggie and omni at one table and we all left with the feeling of a satisfied stomach.
The samosas are defiantly a must have.
To start I was not convinced by he thought of a meatless menu but I can honestly say that I did not leave craving more food or meat. The menu also meant that our group could all share the food, the staff were helpful in pointing out options that were not vegan friendly and there was still a rather large menu left.
Would defiantly return for a good time.

The locked front door did confuse us but I'd rather have the door locked than it opening in the wind and having to eat my meal with my coat on, it is a restaurant after all.

Over all a very good visit

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Terrible decor and blunt food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

Me and my girlfriend decided to visit this restaurant because of all good reviews but at the end of the dinner we were very disappointed. First of all, they lock the door for some reason so once you decide to come in and attempt a few pushes and pulls, the waiter comes and unlocks the door and let's you in (??? why??). The waiters are fast, but quite unfriendly, not one of them smiled to us or said something nice. The decor is absolutely horrible - the place looks like a waiting room in a train station, very sad and cold. My gf ordered a dosa and I ordered sagar thali, both meals were pretty much inedible, very blunt and tasteless. At first I thought it's only my taste buds acting funny, but then my gf said the same thing and she grew up eating Indian food every day! These two meals, 1 ice cream and 2 orange juices cost us around £30. Very disappointing evening.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letchworth, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good food but prices have gone up”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

I've been going to Sagar for years and although the décor and facilities are basic I've always enjoyed the food. The dishes are authentic. Up until recently Sagar served a lunchtime 'special' for under a tenner which made a family pit-stop here good value and a welcome change from chain restaurants. However with the absence of the lunchtime specials, and a similar meal costing £15 + drinks, a trip to Sagar has slightly lost it's appeal.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sagar Vegetarian Covent Garden Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Sagar Vegetarian Covent Garden Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sagar Vegetarian Covent Garden Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.