We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitley not worth the money” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The William IV

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The William IV to your Saves list
The William IV
4.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   786 Harrow Road, London NW10 5JX, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #347 of 535 London B&B and Inns
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Definitley not worth the money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Stayed at this hotel last week 16th June -22nd Jun2 2013 .. Arrived at the establishment, booked in..the young lady offered to carry my suitcase to our room... the room on initial view was very nice.... Afer having a long hot sticky journey from Plymouth...I decided after unpacking, to have a shower only seconds of standing in the shower, the shower tray started to fill with water to the top.. the water was gong nowhere....My friend removed the piece from the drain where the water goes down from the shower tray only to find it covered in body hairs.. this was reported to the staff and was fixed...However this should have never have happened if the maintenance was kept up to date and should have not happened for the price that was paid.... the net curtains were rather shabby and the ceiling in room could have done with a lick of paint.....there were no information leaflets for visitors either in the hotel itself or the room....the information that was in the room was very minimal consisting of breakfast times and the wifi code......... Also... there was no mat to step on to for getting out of the shower. which leaves the floor very wet and could be dangerous...The hotel is more than a 10 minute walk to centre of London more like 9 stops away on the tube train which is Oxford Circus... and is more than a 6 minute walk to the Kensal Green Station more like a 10 minute walk. Certianly Would not recommend this hotel and woud not stay here in the furure....

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    24
    15
    11
    22
See reviews for
9
36
10
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
littleport
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Stayed here for one night on saturday 15 June 2013 and was really pleased with first impression. Service was good and booked in swiftly with no fuss. Had a few drinks in the bar and a bar meal which was good quality and good service. Unfortunately there are a few issues with cleanliness in the bar area around the skirting boards and the floor. The room was clean and comfortable but headroom was a bit of an issue in the shower but to be expected in an old property and the fact I'm 6ft4 ! Breakfast needs to be sorted as the coninental breakfast consisted of some ham and some brown bread with a few croissants and yoghurt. Nothing wrong with a full English ???? Aside from this I would definitely stay again !!

Room Tip: Don't pick room 5 if you're tall
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

I stayed here a couple of nights, and really enjoyed it. It's out of the way but not too far from public transport. Having read the reviews I asked for a room higher up, and was amazed when I saw it. A big four-post bed and a view of the cemetery. Not that I'm morbid, but it was nice too look at compared to some.

The breakfast was nice and the staff were friendly and attentive, helping me out when I needed a travel plug for some gizmo I'd bought overseas. Lovely, highly recommended, and there's a large bar downstairs that doesn't seem to get too busy.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the higher rooms, I think number 10.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Ulm, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

What's not to like? The price was very good. It's a six-minute walk to the Kensal Green station. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. We had a large room. The continental breakfast was good. We had read about the noise level on weekends, and there is a good steady bass beat from the music until the early hours of the morning. We were on the third floor, and a good pair of earplugs blocked the noise. We would definitely come back for another stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We stayed in this Hotel on Wednesday Evening. We arrived late, but this wasnt an issue, the Staff were very friendly, and competent, we were shown to our room (Room 7), and was really surprised at how lovely the room was. It was spacious, Very Clean, Had plenty of Wardrobe/Shelf Space for 2 People, the TV Was a new flat screen showing lots of Freeview Channels, everything worked, and it was warm and cosy!!! I cannot fault this room or the staff at all. Breakfast was from 7-9am which was ideal, it is only continental and if you would like a full English, it is only £3.50 which is not bad at all.There is parking in the street, but it is a controlled zone, so Overnight from 6.30pm to 8.30am in the morning is fine, but then you will only get a couple of hours on the meter in the morning and then you have to move the car. This is absolutly fine, if like us it was a business trip and were gone long before it was a problem. Overall, this was a lovely hotel, with great staff, and adequate facilities.

Room Tip: We had Room 7, which looked out onto the Mainroad, Completely adequate for people. Only 1 flight of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We stayed in May 2013 for two nights during the Lords Test match against New Zealand as it was reasonably close to St Johns Wood.
Its basically a pub with rooms above and it could have been good and may still be in the future.
However, it was a catalogue of minor disasters--an hour to check in; tiny room( we insisted on changing); missing light bulbs; lack of heating ( eventually sorted next day); cold and horrible dinner; poor cleaning standards; bedroom smoke detector blocked up ; wrong breakfast time information resulting in missed breakfast on first morning; poor breakfast on second morning etc etc.
The young and inexperienced staff are willing enough but the Owners don't seem to listen to them or to their customers.
Money has been spent on refurbishment, so maybe they will get their act together, but I wont be rushing back.

Room Tip: Go for a room on a higher floor for the best view of the cemetery !
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We stayed on a weekend for one night. Overall the place is shabby looking, our room stank of smoke and was small considering we had booked a "superior" room. As we stayed on a Saturday night we expected to overhear noise from the bar below but turned out their was a DJ style club night, the music was so loud we could feel the vibrations in our room until 2am. After that we had the staff clearing up noisily and throwing glass bottles away until about 3am. Really disappointing not to be fully warned that if we were staying on a Saturday we should not expect to sleep.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The William IV? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The William IV

Address: 786 Harrow Road, London NW10 5JX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #347 of 535 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The William IV 4.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Tingo so you can book your The William IV reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The William Iv Hotel London
The William IV London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The William IV, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.