We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good time in The William IV” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The William IV

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The William IV to your Saves list
The William IV
4.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   786 Harrow Road, London NW10 5JX, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #347 of 535 London B&B and Inns
2 reviews
“Good time in The William IV”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

I stayed in William IV on Friday and Saturday 05/04- 07/04.
I was in room 4. Room was spacious and cosy.
Staff was very helpful and professional.
Location of the hotel is really good. Very close to central London. Underground and overground stations very close by.
On Sunday we had famous William’s Sunday roast. Beef was cooked perfectly.
Really good value for money.
I will be coming back.

Room Tip: Book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    24
    15
    11
    22
See reviews for
9
36
10
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Supposed to have been recently refurbished but didn't look like it - bar area was smelly and icky, nothing like the airy, spacious and fresh pictures on the website. Area it was in wasn't very nice either, building works going on across the road. Thought we were getting something of quality but no. An absolutely maze to get up to the rooms, would hate to be in a fire in that place as we'd never get out in time. Badly signposted corridors and lots of tatty areas. Room itself was VERY tiny, sure they had just converted a store room for an extra bedroom. Small double bed just fit in it, one scruffy wardrobe and a table big enough for kettle and 2 cups. The decor of the room itself was ok - but you can't polish a turd. Bathroom wasn't much, moudly shower, plasterboard wall had been cut out and put back but not replastered. Countless stains on the wall in the bathroom. Looking at the emergency plan I could see the other rooms were much bigger (at least double the size) than the room we were given (room 3). We were not offered another room. Ended up staying in a Premier Inn a few miles away.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

On arrival I had to wait about 5 minutes for a member of staff to check me in (this was early afternoon)as the bar staff could not check me in.
The room was large for a single, it had a desk, chest of draws, wardrobe, a double bed and plenty of room to walk around. Bathroom was a good size with a decent shower.
Think the rooms need updating but for the price you pay per night its liveable.
Staff were friendly, didn't have breakfast so can't comment.
As the rooms are above a pub, I would say its ok for mid week but rather noisy on the weekends (unless your joining the party downstairs).
It is about a 10/15 minute walk to the tube station which takes you into central London.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

just had lunch with my partener and kids cost £96 for 2 adult roast chicken 1 child roast chicken 1 roast veg[ kids ]1 bottle of red and 2 glasses red . 3 deserts .1 we didnt order but got charged for . lunch was cold, over cooked, and on cold plates .

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
napoli
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at william IVth from The 22nd december to The 26th december 2012.
The guest house is perfect, the rooms are clean up every day, comfortable, a negative feedback is the noisy; the rooms are located above the william bar. during
saturday night the bar pump up disco music til 3 am. For younger it's ok, maybe
also for a family. The staff is amazing... Friendly, available. Breakfast is
normally, during the week end you can also have the full English breakfast.
The location is great...it's not far from the Kensal green station (bakerloo
line) 10 mins by walk. Outside the station you should turn left a go away
harrow road. You find it on left side.
Unfortunately for us in the Christmas Day all tubes, shops everything are
closed, but if you feel free to walk in one hour you can reach Hyde Park.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

I was usually going for their smaller rooms, but after the renovation I asked to look at some of the fancier ones. Upstairs they have one with a four-poster bed. The beds are comfortable and the covers are lush. I found it to be quiet and nice, though I'd imagine that booking around Carnival time would be a different story.

It's relatively accessible and the rooms were plenty large enough, as were the beds (I'm quite tall and can't stand small beds). I was on business, but I think I'll be coming back here with a lady.

Room Tip: Go upstairs - it only costs a tiny bit more, and if you ask they may cut you a discount.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

we booked our wedding reception here it was a mistake.
we arrived to find the roof was leaking onto our dinner tables we had to ask for it to be cleared.
The food took hours to be served. some people did not get any food for ages.
They told us that we could use their sound system for the evening reception only to find out that the speakers were not working. so we had no music till 10pm. and if you complain to the area manager he is not interested at all. when we said we will write to head office. he was not bothered saying that they wont care.
All in all they ruined our day!!!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The William IV? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The William IV

Address: 786 Harrow Road, London NW10 5JX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #347 of 535 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The William IV 4.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Tingo so you can book your The William IV reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The William Iv Hotel London
The William IV London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The William IV, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.