We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice, slightly expensive, solo guest for one night only.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pestana Chelsea Bridge Hotel & Spa London

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Pestana Chelsea Bridge Hotel & Spa London to your Saves list
Pestana Chelsea Bridge Hotel & Spa London
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   354 Queenstown Road, London SW8 4AE, England (Clapham / Battersea )   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #128 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very nice, slightly expensive, solo guest for one night only.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I stayed for one night only as I was taking part in the London to Brighton bike ride the following day. The hotel was clean, staff extremely helpful. The room was spacious, nice bathroom and bed was extremely comfortable and big. The only minus was that the pool, sauna and steam room closed at 9pm and as I arrived later in the day it would have been good if it had stayed open until 11pm or 12am. Great breakfast buffet in the morning. Slightly expensive though. If money is not an issue, highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,601 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    942
    512
    93
    32
    22
See reviews for
236
644
93
320
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (370)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hereford, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

My wife and I stayed here in mid June. Primarily, it was a surprise treat for her as she had recently had so much extra on her plate after I became partially incapacitated due to a broken collar bone. Pestana Chelsea Bridge did not disappoint. The room was very comfortable (although the exercise bike a little unnecessary) and the swimming pool / sauna / steam room an added, if underused by us, bonus, making up for not having breakfast included. The location suited us perfectly as our daughters both lived about 20 minutes away, admittedly in opposite directions. The area is wonderful too. Battersea (South Chelsea?) is an up and coming area and the park itself is lovely - whether to just stroll around in, or to join the numerous runners or skateboarders. If only it had a nearby tube station! The weekend was a great success and earnt many brownie points!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire, England
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

I stayed here 2 nights on business so expenses paid, which is relevant to what I'm going to say.
The good things first. The hotel is tastefully decorated and the finishing is first class. There were some nice touches in my room (I was upgraded to a suite, presumably because I was on business and they hoped I'd want to come back) such as an espresso machine and TV in the en-suite bathroom.
That said I wasn't impressed by my reception where there was an issue about who was going to pay, the company or me. Fair enough if they don't have an authorisation to debit a company card then there has to be some guarantee of payment but there was no willingness to make any enquiry. The room was pleasant enough but with a view of (pretty derelict) Battersea power station I begrudge £182 per night, even with someone else paying, just for somewhere to sleep. Breakfast was an eye-watering £18.50, which I refused on the basis that if I ate enough to justify the cost I wouldn't move for a week. The final insult on the costs front was the charge for wi-fi, ranging from £5 per hour to £15 per day. In this day and age how can this be justified? The two terminals in reception that were the free alternative were too public and unreliable to be usable for business. The hotel claims to have a gym, which was nothing more than a few fitness machines and minor weights in a bedroom; the pool is ok for a splash but nothing more.
I did nothing at this place other than sleep. My exercise was in Battersea Park across the road and my Starbucks breakfast was £2.50. I will not allow the company to waste its money there again and my view of this hotel is that it is for people who need to spend more money than is necessary because it makes them feel good.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

I loved staying in this hotel this Valentine's Day. The place is a real treat for anyone. Beautiful bedroom and although small, the spa is quite special. If you want a touch of class and a special treat, I think this place is ideal. I would definitely like to go back there and seriously hope that my partner treats me again soon.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Popped to London to celebrate my daughter's promotion and hubby's birthday - the hotel was right next door to her flat and opposite Battersey Park -which is lovely to walk through. The hotel was lovely, fresh, friendly, lovely breakfasts (I asked for something different and there was no problem at all). Even the bar prices (for London) were very reasonable. Bed very comfortable and everything you could ask for in the room with friendly maid and porter service I could not fault. I would stay there anytime I was in London, bus to Sloan Square (10 minutes) and you're just about in the center of everything. Get an Oyster card as soon as you get to London - very handy and makes travel much cheaper

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed on business for 3 nights. The hotel was ideally located for our access to Battersea Park and surrounding area, the staff made our stay very pleasurable. We ate off of the bar menu the first night and the food ( pizza and salad ) was very acceptable, Miguel our bar server was a really nice guy who couldn't have done any more for us.
The basement spa was also very pleasant with pool, steam room, and sauna.
The gym was a disappointment, very small for the size of hotel....best of luck if you can find it...floor 2 it is in effect one of the rooms converted in to a gym !!!!???
The taxi system at this hotel is also a bit of a mess !!!!!! We had problems getting cabs in the morning with staff trying to hail down cabs for us !!!!
WARNING only take the London Black Cabs from this hotel,they have meters, the private cabs dont and are ripping off un- suspecting tourists and guests with double and larger fares....we got burnt on day one....you have been warned.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We booked through Secret Escapes and stayed for two nights - Saturday and Sunday. The hotel was much better than we had expected. Staff courteous and pleasant, room spacious, quiet with a kind size bed which was very comfortable.
Breakfast was excellent - refreshed constantly and with something for everyone. Extremely enjoyable.
We didn't use the pool or spa but if we stayed again, I would definately bring my cossie. There were loungers in a chill out area by the pool, and with the dimmed lighting, it looked a very inviting area to chill out.
The location may deter some people but it was perfect for us as my son lives close by and we met for a picnic in battersea park which is across the road from the hotel.
I am not a connoisseur of London hotels but we felt the pestana hit the spot.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pestana_Chelsea, General Manager at Pestana Chelsea Bridge Hotel & Spa London, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you for your recent review and I’m pleased your stay here ‘ticked all the boxes for you’. Our location is actually one of our best kept secrets as it can be a little misleading when we appear on the ‘south’ side of Chelsea Bridge, however, we have extremely convenient connections to central London and many of the most popular tourist destinations, either by bus (literally outside the hotel), or from Victoria and Sloane Square tube stations. We hope on your next stay you will have the opportunity to explore the neighbourhood a little more and thank you for your valuable support.

Arturo Esposito, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Pestana Chelsea Bridge Hotel & Spa London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Chelsea Bridge Hotel & Spa London

Address: 354 Queenstown Road, London SW8 4AE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Clapham / Battersea 
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#76 Romantic Hotel in London
#92 Business Hotel in London
#104 Luxury Hotel in London
#149 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Chelsea Bridge Hotel & Spa London 4*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pestana Chelsea Bridge Hotel and Spa is a 4 star hotel in Chelsea, London, servicing both the business and leisure traveler. The hotel is ideally located in the prestigious development of Chelsea Bridge Wharf, one of the most affluent and fashionable new developments in Chelsea. Alongside the banks of the Thames River and close to one of London’s original public parks, the Battersea Park, with spectacular gardens and lakes ideal for outdoor relaxation and entertainment. Its location makes it one of the best hotels in London offering guests the convenience of the City Center atmosphere, combined with a tranquil and scenic setting. The hotel in Chelsea Bridge offers 216 spacious and modern air-conditioned rooms above average in size for luxury hotel rooms in London. Guest comforts include an LCD TV and iPod docking station, private bathrooms with separate bath and shower facilities and tea/coffee making service. An expertly designer Spa offers the very best in spa and beauty therapy including an indoor heated pool, sauna and steam room with a relaxation area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, LondonMarketing.com, Priceline, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Pestana Chelsea Bridge Hotel & Spa London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Chelsea Bridge Hotel And Spa London
Pestana Chelsea Bridge Hotel & Spa London England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pestana Chelsea Bridge Hotel & Spa London, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.