We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pestana Chelsea Bridge Hotel & Spa London

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Pestana Chelsea Bridge Hotel & Spa London to your Saves list
Pestana Chelsea Bridge Hotel & Spa London
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   354 Queenstown Road, London SW8 4AE, England (Clapham / Battersea )   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #128 of 1,066 Hotels in London
Suffolk
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

This hotel is situated just on the south side of the Chelsea Bridge with frequent buses to take you over to the north side where you can pick up another bus or tube train to take you into the tourist areas. It wouldn't be an ideal location if you wanted to visit the City or the east end of London. We travelled all around London by bus, which is great for sightseeing but a bit slow during busy times. Next time, we might look for somewhere a bit more central as it was a bit too far to bother to go back to the hotel between our daytime activities and a meal and show in the evening. It would be different if you were prepared to pay for taxis (approx £20-25 to Liverpool St station for example).

The Pestana hotel is well appointed with a simple modern style and clean. We had a lovely room on the 9th floor. I think we may have been upgraded as this floor had a sign saying 'Executive Rooms' whereas I didn't see any similar signs on the floors below. Our room was large with a 6 foot bed, plenty of storage space and a long comfy white leather sofa under the window. The bathroom had both a shower and a bath.

The only downside for me was that the mattress was too firm for my ageing hips. After the first night, on request, the hotel put a mattress topper (possibly a quilt) under the bottom sheet which helped. My husband had no problem, so don't let this put you off unless you suffer with the same problems as me.

There are two computers near the reception desk for customers' use and free wifi in the lobby area, but not in the room.

Breakfast (£15/head) is buffet style with a reasonable but not extensive selection of hot and cold dishes. For example, you can have scrambled eggs, but I didn't see any option for alternatives such as boiled or poached eggs. You pay extra if you want an omelette or pancakes. The fresh orange juice is lovely, but avoid asking for grapefruit juice as it's made from concentrate - they said it wasn't popular enough to stock it fresh. Having said this, we had a more than adequate breakfast each day with sufficient choice.

The staff were consistently friendly and helpful. For example, the doorman offered us umbrellas when it was raining.

I would recommend this hotel if the location is suitable for your needs.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,460 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    849
    475
    86
    31
    19
See reviews for
216
575
87
300
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (336)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

Having stayed in several Pestana Hotels in the Algarve, we booked this hotel with some confidence. This hotel is in a good location away from the hustle and bustle, but only a short trip to most of the major attractions and restaurants. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel, the staff are welcoming and well trained, the prices are reasonable and the facilities are excellent.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

Went to London overnight on a mix of business and pleasure. We usually stay at Marriott hotels but found the prices quite high - probably due to the Bank Holiday weekend. Wanting a good quality hotel we had a look on the internet and thankfully found Pestana. The room was great - exactly what is looked like on the website which isn't always the case! Lovely big bed, chaise and stylish bathroom. Service was great from start to finish. There's no doubt that we will use this hotel again - sorry Marriott!

Tip - if wanting a great place to eat try Santa Maria del Sur which is only a 20 minute walk aong the same road. Runner up of Ramsay's best restaurant a couple of years ago. If you love fabulously cooked steaks in a casual setting this is the place to go!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011 via mobile

we had an issue on arrival and the booking had been cancelled but the front desk did all they could to help and we got rebooked.

Good location and just a short walk to key areas also good just being far enongh away to not feel like you are in central london.

Would stay again very good rooms.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potchefstroom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

My sister and i stayed here for a week in June 2011.

We loved this hotel!

Firstly, the location is excellent, right across the Battersea Park and only a bus ride away from Sloane Square or Victoria Station. Chelsea is a very charming part of London and we enjoyed strolling down Kings Road very much!

The hotel is newly build and the public spaces and rooms are modern and beautiful. Our room was a haven after sightseeing in London every day and we loved the calming effect of the white decor. Everything was of the highest standard.

The breakfast was very good with a great variety and excellent bread and pastries.

The only negative we found was that the lady working in the Lounge area was quite unfriendly to us, but very friendly to the gentleman at the table next to us, puzzling... ;)

Will definitely return depending on the price.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a view over Battersea Park
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

Working in London for a minimum of 3 days a week, finding reasonably priced hotel accommodation has been a real challenge. With Premier Inn charging almost £500 for 3 nights, I look into alternatives and found the Pestana offer of £99 per night, which I snapped up immediately.

On arrival, I was greeted by nothing less than the helpful and courteous staff as one would expect, and everything was fine with my room.

I chose to dine in the hotel bar following a long day at the office. I was a little surprised to find the hotel had run out of Becks Vier, it's standard Lager, but bottled alternatives were available.

I opted for the Pestana burger (always a good measure of a good hotel is how much effort and money they invest in their burgers). Although at £14.00, a little expensive, the product overall was good. Maybe much less relish needed in the top of the bun, it easily went soggy and broke up when picked up.

Overall though, a comfortable and thoroughly enjoyable stay. I will definitely be returning when the prices are right in the future.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

Split 2 twin bed hotel room with best friend on girls weekend/ birthday. Will book here on return trip. Big, modern room and bath ( loved the deep tub, chaise long and bed). Thirty mins- one hour complimentary wifi access ( have to ask for it). Close to bus route 137 and 44 into shopping area/ sloane Sq tube stop.. Short walk across bridge to Rose and Crown (Thai) and convenience store. Safe to walk through Battersea Park at sunset to Prince Albert ( upscale neighborhood bar with Guinness- reservations recommended). Didn't use the spa, gym or jacuzzi/sauna...way too many things to do on list- and Battersea Park is a great place to walk, jog, stroll, etc...

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Pestana Chelsea Bridge Hotel & Spa London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Chelsea Bridge Hotel & Spa London

Address: 354 Queenstown Road, London SW8 4AE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Clapham / Battersea 
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#70 Romantic Hotel in London
#83 Business Hotel in London
#100 Luxury Hotel in London
#162 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Chelsea Bridge Hotel & Spa London 4*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pestana Chelsea Bridge Hotel and Spa is a 4 star hotel in Chelsea, London, servicing both the business and leisure traveler. The hotel is ideally located in the prestigious development of Chelsea Bridge Wharf, one of the most affluent and fashionable new developments in Chelsea. Alongside the banks of the Thames River and close to one of London’s original public parks, the Battersea Park, with spectacular gardens and lakes ideal for outdoor relaxation and entertainment. Its location makes it one of the best hotels in London offering guests the convenience of the City Center atmosphere, combined with a tranquil and scenic setting. The hotel in Chelsea Bridge offers 216 spacious and modern air-conditioned rooms above average in size for luxury hotel rooms in London. Guest comforts include an LCD TV and iPod docking station, private bathrooms with separate bath and shower facilities and tea/coffee making service. An expertly designer Spa offers the very best in spa and beauty therapy including an indoor heated pool, sauna and steam room with a relaxation area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Pestana Chelsea Bridge Hotel & Spa London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Chelsea Bridge Hotel And Spa London
Pestana Chelsea Bridge Hotel & Spa London England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pestana Chelsea Bridge Hotel & Spa London, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.