We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London to your Saves list
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   200 Westminster Bridge Road, London SE1 7UT, England (Southbank)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now & save up to 20%
Ranked #131 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
Shepperton, Middx
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

I normally stay at the Park Plaza County Hall which is excellent, but they did not have any available rooms. This Park Plaza is just as good, if not better than County Hall.

We arrived quite late and had our room upgraded. The reception staff were lovely and helpful.

The suite we were given was superb and could not be faulted.

The hotel is close to Waterloo station and bars and restaurants nearby.

After our night out we drank in the bar, it is a nice place to have a drink and the bar staff were friendly.

Overall an excellent hotel, not particularly cheap but nothing is in London, and you do get what you pay for.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkPlazaWestminster, Manager at Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear Shepperton510,

Thank you for your review, glad you were able to stay with us on this occasion.

My team and I are pleased we were able to provide a lovely experience with a great upgrade as well. We’re always pleased to do so when we can.

I hope we'll be able to serve you again soon.

Regards,
Hasham Soliman
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,870 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,692
    2,232
    585
    228
    133
See reviews for
2,372
2,439
229
1,420
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,539)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

This is a very good hotel in an excellent location. It has Underground stations within a short walk and is well served by buses. It is a large, shiny, modern hotel and is generally well run by friendly staff.
We were upgraded to a studio room, which was a nice surprise, and the room was quite spacious, well furnished and clean. It was rather strange that the wardrobe space in a large room was barely adequate, but we got by. The bed was comfortable and the room was mainly quiet, with only the occasional siren intruding from the street. The rooms (we have stayed here before so know it is a regular problem) suffer from a strange light switching system, which seems to never do what you want it to. After four nights we were still trying to work out the logic of it. That apart this was a good room.
We were also a bit confused by the housekeeping staff. On one afternoon, about 18:00, a maid walked into our room without knocking, muttered something, and then left without doing anything. I have no idea what she wanted. Then the following day a different maid knocked at the door and called "ouse keeping". When I opened the door she simply walked away and I heard the same routine being repeated at a couple more rooms. What was that all about?
The restaurant, Brasserie Joel, is very good and is reviewed separately. We didn't use the breakfast service as there are lots of places outside which are much cheaper and don't encourage you to eat far too much. There is a cafe on the ground floor which sells drinks and snacks. It is OK but not quite pricey and there is plenty better within a short walk.
The Primo bar seems to be too small for such a large hotel and it was not easy to find a seating the evenings. It also has loud music in the evening, which makes conversation a bit difficult. It would be fine if there was a quiet bar as well, but on its own this is not ideal.
Overall, this is a good hotel and I would recommend it.

Room Tip: There may be less road noise in the higher rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkPlazaWestminster, Manager at Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London, responded to this review, December 25, 2013
Dear Sakertec,

Thank you for your review and recommendation.

We’re pleased you enjoyed your stay with us in one of our comfy rooms and with our friendly team.

I’m sorry to note your experience with the Housekeeping team and I have shared your comments with our Executive Housekeeper and we will be investigating accordingly.

Thank you once again for your recommendation and we look forward to your return soon.

Regards,
Hasham Soliman
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

This was our first trip to London and we LOVED this hotel. It was centrally located to all the attractions we wanted to see and the tube station was close by. We were able to walk to Big Ben and Westminster Abby. We also purchased their executive room package (I think that's what they called it) where we could go to the executive room for breakfast, tea, snacks and drinks before dinner. That package was worth it just for breakfast, the food was amazing. Highly recommend this hotel. Of note, there are no dressers to put your clothes in, but there is a very large closet so it wasn't a problem

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkPlazaWestminster, Manager at Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Wow, your first trip to London and you choose to stay with us, thank you Kristen K!

We're thrilled you enjoyed our iconic location and great central location.

I couldn’t agree more with your comments on the Executive Lounge, great value for breakfast, afternoon tea and cocktails and canapés in the evening.

I hope we’ll be able to welcome you back on a future visit.

Regards,
Hasham Soliman
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penzance
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

We have a number of rental properties in Waterloo and when we come to visit we have to stay in the vicinity. Indeed we did consider purchasing one of the rooms at Park Plaza Westminster Bridge when it was being built so we looked forward to 'pushing the boat out' and staying here even though we thought it was rather expensive. We once stayed at and very much liked the Park Plaza County Hall next door where we had a lovely room with great view over the roof tops. We have stayed in the Premier Inn County Hall, where we had a great view of the London Eye and a huge suite with 2 double beds. The common areas of PPWB are very nice; we have enjoyed a drink or two in the past in the bar/lounge area and found it very acceptable. However, the room we were given was small and dark with no view, and completely character-less furniture and decor. It all felt a bit cheap. The bathroom basin was blocked so on our first night we had to clean our teeth in the bath. A bulb in the bedside light had blown. Slippers and bathrobes were not provided, which means you'd have to carry them in your luggage, and we consider they should be available at this price, or at least on request for elderly guests. We stayed in a 'superior double'; it really wasn't, and should have been called a 'basic double'. At breakfast time we had to queue for some time, and we were expected to pay extra for 'the full English' which we thought was outrageous at this price and embarrassing when you're in the queue and asked to stump up more. What's the point in having 2 tier breakfasts?!

Room Tip: You'll have to pay extra for one on the outside of the building with any hope of daylight or a v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkPlazaWestminster, Manager at Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear farwestwoman,

Thank you for your feedback, however, I am of course disappointed to read you did not enjoy your stay with us.

I’m pleased to note you enjoyed our great location and general decor and the relaxing time in Primo Bar.

My apologies for any shortfall with regards to your room. I do hope we were swift to make any necessary repairs upon receiving your report.

We encourage all our guests to review our room types via our Park Plaza Westminster website prior to booking to ensure they select their preferred room type. Our Superior rooms are our entry level rooms and do not have an external view. For your next booking for an external view you will need to select a Studio room and for an iconic view its Studio Iconic or One Bedroom Iconic View.

My apologies for any embarrassment you felt during breakfast. When breakfast in included in the booking rate the confirmation usually states which breakfast package is included, I am sorry you were unaware of the breakfast option available to you.

I do hope we’ll have the opportunity to redeem ourselves in the near future and thank you once again for your feedback.

Regards,
Hasham Soliman
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedgefield, County Durham
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

Stayed for a night with my wife and some friends at this hotel. The room was spacious and clean with a good bathroom and a very comfortable bed. Located just across Westminster bridge with a view of Big Ben. Would recommend highly. It has a nice bar and lounge area in which to have a nightcap.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkPlazaWestminster, Manager at Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear WaltonReviews,

Thank you for posting and adding another 5 star review for our hotel.

I have shared your comments with the entire team and we are delighted to have provided a great experience for you all.

Thank you for your recommendation and I hope we can welcome you back soon.

Regards,
Hasham Soliman
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
94 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

This is a very modern, large hotel and is still sufficiently new to appear slick and well maintained.

We had a superior room which simply faced out onto an internal wall with another room just above and opposite us. Not sure what was supposed to be superior but at just short of £200 and not even a bottle of mineral water included, it was a tad disappointing.

The room itself was fine with a nice bathroom with a separate shower. Breakfast in the morning was included in the rate and was ok if a bit frenetic.

Perhaps the best thing about the hotel is its Southbank location, especially with the Christmas market just along the river past the London Eye.

Overall it's modern and functional but you can get more for less if you shop around and avoid the interior view rooms which are dark and slightly depressing!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkPlazaWestminster, Manager at Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Hotel Harry,

Thank you for your review and I’m pleased you enjoyed our great iconic location.

Sorry to note you were unaware of our room types prior to booking. We encourage all our guests to review our room types via the Park Plaza Westminster Bridge website prior to making a booking.

For your next booking and preferred room type, you will need to select a Studio room and for an iconic view its Studio Iconic or One Bedroom Iconic View.

Don’t forget we also offer the Best Online Rate Guaranteed, subject to terms and conditions. Just visit our website to register to receive our newsletter so you’ll be kept up to date with our latest offers and promotions.

Regards,
Hasham Soliman
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

I have actually wanted to stay at this hotel for 4 years but as I live in London, there was no need. Finally got an opportunity to stay there and we booked without hesitation. The experience was simply an anti climax.

The worst part of it was the view. We opened our curtains to find ourselves face to face with another room. The occupants of the other room had not drawn their curtains and it was very uncomfortable to watch so we had no choice but to draw our curtains in the middle of what was a lovely afternoon outside and were left with the faint light which the room provided.

Funny enough when we left our room we heard a number of people in the lift say how they had been upgraded from a room that faced another room to an outside view room. I have never asked a concierge for an upgrade but maybe in future this is something that we should do?? I don’t work in the industry and would have thought it rude to ask for such a thing.

As beautiful as the hotel looks from the outside once we entered our room, the beauty is taken away. The lighting in the room is really bad. There is a mood lighting switch on either side of the bed sides however one side had not even been plugged in?? I don’t think guests should have to move furniture around in order to plug in lights, do you?

The room was provided with an iron however it barely worked. What would normally take a few minutes to iron a shirt and a dress took a lot longer.

We paid for breakfast and in the morning were escorted to what looked like a reception hall in the basement because the restaurant was full up. The hotel had set up two live stations of which one when we went to fill our plates we were told was not in use so we were requested to go to the other side of the hall to get our breakfast. Bit of an inconvenience going back and forth for a buffet when you are carrying a drink, plate and a bowl.

It just seemed like our experience could have been really nice had we received the service many guests seemed to be getting however for some reason every step of our stay was being downgraded from the room view, to the room features, to the breakfast…..

I'm sorry to say but I can not give this hotel a good review simply from the experience we had when we stayed there.

Room Tip: Dont get an inside facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkPlazaWestminster, Manager at Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear neera s,

Thank you for your detailed review, however, I am sorry to note you did not enjoy your stay with us.

We encourage all our guests to review the Park Plaza Westminster Bridge website prior to making a booking to ensure they select their preferred room type. I am sorry that you were unaware of our room types prior to your arrival. For your next booking you will need to select a Studio room and for an iconic view its Studio Iconic View or One bedroom Iconic view.

Regarding upgrades, we are always happy to offer guests an upgrade when we can and this is managed on a daily basis as our Reception team manage our daily arrivals and departures.

I am sorry to note the concerns with the lighting and the iron. I trust we were swift to replace the iron upon reporting the fault.

We’d welcome the opportunity to redeem ourselves and look forward to doing so in the near future.

Regards,
Hasham Soliman
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London

Address: 200 Westminster Bridge Road, London SE1 7UT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Southbank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in London
#33 Spa Hotel in London
#76 Family Hotel in London
#86 Business Hotel in London
#87 Romantic Hotel in London
#106 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London 4*
Number of rooms: 1019
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, EasyToBook, LondonMarketing.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London Hotel London
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.