We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Impressed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London to your Saves list
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   200 Westminster Bridge Road, London SE1 7UT, England (Southbank)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now & save up to 20%
Ranked #131 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Very Impressed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

My partner and I stayed 2 nights at Park Plaza Westminster Bridge for the first time following a recommendation. Very impressed, excellent location for sightseeing and entertainment - we went to a concert at the Festival Hall which was a lovely walk along the South Bank no more than 5 mins away, with great views across the Thames and the Houses of Parliament. West End theatres only about 10-15 mins scenic walk over the Hungerford Foot Bridges. Very well placed for tourist sightseeing - most major sights walkable
All staff (mostly foreign workers) were very friendly with a good command of english. The room was sizeable, bed comfortable and clean and well equiped bathroom.
Impressed with breakfast (given some of the more moany comments posted by others - there's no pleasing some people!) Plenty of room, no queues on Saturday or Sunday morning about 8.30 - 9 a.m Loads of choice, full english & continental buffet - with egg orders brought to table by friendly and attentive staff.
Overall hard to fault - will definitely stay again - a good find

One small criticism : would be better if you could instigate a single queing system for check-in/front desk services to ensure a fairer wait. There were no clear lines and given there were a lot of people trying to check-in it was a bit of a free-for-all with many people rudely pushing in in front of people who had been waiting for quite some time. Simple to do - all the Las Vegas hotels do it where they check in thousands of customers!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkPlazaWestminster, Manager at Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear grh55556,

Thank you very much for your positive review about our hotel. We are very pleased you enjoyed our location which is indeed very conveniently placed near all the important London attractions and facing the Thames river. Furthermore I am really glad you enjoyed our breakfast selection and variety. We have done a lot recently to improve the quality and guest satisfaction for breakfast and it seems it is paying off. I am happy you have shared your opinion about our check – in queues, while we mostly rely on good faith from others to not cut the line we do realize that some people may take advantage of this. I have shared your comments with the appropriate people responsible for that department. Thank you again and looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards,
Hasham Soliman
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,831 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,664
    2,224
    584
    226
    133
See reviews for
2,361
2,428
227
1,415
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,536)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dorset
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Check in was easy, & we found the hotel easily from waterloo 5 minute walk. Had a couple of drinks in the bar whilst we waiting for our rooms to be ready (took until after 3pm). Whilst in the bar there was an incident which needed cleaning up quickly (sick) but the staff just looked at it, parked a lady in a wheelchair right next to it & put barriers up, after 20 minutes by which time the smell was in full flow they then cleaned it up! Apart from this the hotel is suited to families also with big rooms & 2 double beds one being a pull out, but both comfy. I would visit again but suggest the staff have some training.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkPlazaWestminster, Manager at Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear ktnanci,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We really appreciate that you enjoyed our rooms and the comfort of our hotel. I really appreciate your feedback on the incident which took place at the bar. We always strive to have the best training for our staff and provide them with the proper tools to carry out their duties. I have made a note of your comment and made sure that relays back to the proper departments. Furthermore I do want to welcome you back soon to our hotel and provide you with a 5 star stay.

Regards,
Hasham Soliman
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

After a long red eye from the US, we were checked in early, which was much appreciated for a couple of weary travelers. The lobby is absolutely gorgeous. We could have stayed there! We were given a fantastic deal on an upgrade only available on clubcarlson.com that was worth every cent.

Our room, a very modern and posh king suite, gave a direct view to Big Ben and The Parliament. Fantastic! The decor of our room was stunning. The room was clean, well maintained, and boasted those extra amenities that most other hotels don't. We ordered rom service and were pleasantly surprised at both the speed of service and quality of food. Delicious, fresh, and well presented.

We were so busy that we didn't have time to enjoy the coffee shop, spa, sushi restaurant, bistro, and bar which were all located in the hotel. Next time we shall make time for the spa!

I would personally like to thank the entire staff for their hospitality, and for adding all the special touches to our stay that made it an amazing experience. Cheers!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkPlazaWestminster, Manager at Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Jonnyo218,

Let me begin by thanking you very much for your kind review of our hotel. We are delighted you had a fantastic honeymoon in London and with the Park Plaza. We are very glad the quality of our food has been to your liking. We always strive to provide our guests with fresh and well presented dishes and with great value for money. I will make sure I pass on the comments regarding our service and quality of our food to the appropriate departments for recognition. Thank you for spending your honeymoon here with us and look forward to welcoming you back for your 1 year anniversary.

Regards,
Hasham Soliman
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llangollen
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

My partner and I stayed at Park plaza Westminster bridge and found it delightfully good. We booked a suite which was huge consisting of 4 rooms and one of the biggest balconies I have ever seen at any hotel with views of the London eye to the left and the city of London to the right . Breakfast was excellent with a very large selection and very efficient staff. All in all a fantastic stay and would defiantly recommend and use again and again

Room Tip: Upgrade to a suite ,it's worth every penny .
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkPlazaWestminster, Manager at Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Richard h,

Thank you very much for your positive review of our hotel. In our aim to provide fantastic value to our guests we strive to have a perfect ratio of room size to price. We are also very glad you enjoyed our breakfast selection and level of service provided to you and I will personally make sure the compliments get passed on to our team members.
Thank you and looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards,
Hasham Soliman
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

Amazing lobby area, we got upgraded from a superior room 2 a suite which was well decorated, done in a modern way might not be every1s cup of tea. Breakfast we got sent 2 the room free of charge because the dining room was meant 2 be mental, informed by other quests. Staff very polite except for 1 receptionist unfortunately i did not get her name. Overall a very enjoyable stay. Would recomend to friends

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkPlazaWestminster, Manager at Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear moon2812,

Thank you very much for your kind words about our hotel. We are delighted you chose to enjoy breakfast in your room, which has always been a complimentary option for all our guests. I do apologize that you had an unpleasant experience at the front desk and will pass that information on to the correct department. We hope to welcome you back soon and strive for a five star rating on your next stay.

Kind Regards,
Hasham Soliman
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed here for one night just before Christmas. We were both really excited as we'd not been away together before and wanted to have a really special experience. We arrived at the hotel 15 mins before the check in time of 2pm and joined a queue for the reception desk. The queue was progressing at an incredibly slow rate and by the time it was 2pm only one person from our queue had been served. We patiently waited however, and hoped that it had been a unavoidable hold up that was now resolved. After waiting in the queue for a further 20 minutes one more couple had been checked in. At this point, the lady serving our queue left the desk, leaving us with no explanation. We assumed she would return and resume checking our queue (which was now approx' 5 parties long) within a few moments. She did not return however! We had already been queuing for 35 minutes and now our receptionist had disappeared with no explanation! We waited for a further 10 minutes, feeling frustrated that we had no idea what was going on, and that we'd been waiting for such a long time already. During the whole of this time, there was a member of staff patrolling the queues (presumably to deal with any issues that may arise) she did not approach our queue. Instead, my boyfriend found her and explained the situation, how long we'd already been waiting etc. Her response was to wait where we were and the member of staff would return. This did not happen. She was approached a second time and only then did she try and find someone to take over the check in desk. We'd waited almost an hour before we were checked in, and by the time we were, the type of room I'd booked for us was no longer available! Feeling unbelievably frustrated, I asked the new member of staff (who had been given the difficult task of dealing with the angry queue that had been waiting for over an hour!) if we could be upgraded, she apologised and said this wasn't possible. However, she refreshed the screen a few more times and managed the get us the type of room originally booked. By this point we were just glad to be able to resume our weekend away...and go for lunch! It did put a real damper on our excitement, and took us a good hour to relax back into our holiday!

Other than the problems with check in, I have to say we found the hotel to be excellent. The room was clean and stylish! We were close to the front of the hotel, so you could sit on the windowsill and see Big Ben! We ate in the bar in the lobby, where we found the food to be delicious ad the atmosphere relaxing. The real treat for us was coming back to the hotel after exploring London on Saturday evening. We returned to an amazing live band at bar primo, and drank the best mojitos I've had since The Bellagio in Vegas. It is expensive; but totally worth it for a few of the best cocktails around!

Great breakfast, if slightly depressing that you go into what seems like a giant unground bunker of a room! No natural light; but we ate up and headed out to enjoy more of London.

It's a shame that our check in was so awful as for the most part, we loved our stay. Great entertainment, great food, and modern rooms.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkPlazaWestminster, Manager at Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Neverreview,

Thank you for your review, however I am sorry to note your check in experience, please accept my apologies.

As you have stated we regularly monitor the queue and the team member on patrol is there to approach guests in the queue, I have seen this on numerous occasions. I have shared your comments with our Front of House Manager and we will be keeping a diligent eye on this, thank you for your feedback.

I am please to note you enjoyed the remainder of your stay and do hope we can welcome you back soon to enjoy our improved service.

Regards,
Hasham Soliman
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
204 reviews 204 reviews
104 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
251 helpful votes 251 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Difficult to find fault with this hotel!

I was in a studio room with separate lounge area - very spacious and comfortable

The facilities are first class from the gym to the pool to the bars and the restaurants. Hotel bars can sometimes be soulless but the one here is lively, welcoming and well designed

The location is super - 2 mins to London Eye and very close to the vibrant South Bank. Waterloo and Westminster tube stations are within easy walking distance.

The view when you walk out of the lobby, across Westminster bridge to Big Ben is simply stunning by day and by night.

There is another Park Plaza (County Hall) across the road and one a few minutes walk away in Lambeth. They are both good, but not as good as this place!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkPlazaWestminster, Manager at Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear PJT99,

Thank you very much for reviewing our hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed all the facilities we have to offer here at Westminster Bridge. We are a fairly new hotel, being completed just in 2008 and are constantly updating and refurbishing our facilities to emanate a modern look and feel. Furthermore our bar concept revolves around having nightly entertainment every night of the week for guests and non-guests to enjoy, which does make for a very lively atmosphere. We do invite you to come and stay with us again soon and thank you once more for your kind words.

Kind Regards,
Hasham Soliman
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London

Address: 200 Westminster Bridge Road, London SE1 7UT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Southbank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in London
#33 Spa Hotel in London
#76 Family Hotel in London
#86 Business Hotel in London
#86 Romantic Hotel in London
#107 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London 4*
Number of rooms: 1019
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, EasyToBook, LondonMarketing.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Otel and Agoda so you can book your Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London Hotel London
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.